Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New York City Hotels

The Lucerne

Pros

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Clean
  • Great gym
  • Close to Central Park

Cons

  • Inconsistent room size
  • Some guests report uncomfortable pillows

Updated 02/20/2014

Fodor's Review

Service is the strong suit at this landmark-facaded hotel, whose exterior has more pizzazz than the predictable guest rooms decorated with dark-wood reproduction furniture and chintzy bedspreads. Health-conscious adults will appreciate the gym on the top floor, with its city views; downstairs, the Mediterranean restaurant Nice Matin is a popular draw (ask about a guest discount). The affluent residential neighborhood has an impressive array of boutiques and gourmet food

shops, and the American Museum of Natural History is a short walk away.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

201 W. 79th St., at Amsterdam Ave., New York, New York, 10024, USA

Map It

Phone:

212-875–1000; 800-492–8122

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 163 rooms, 37 suites
  • No meals

Updated 02/20/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in New York City

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Amere

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 24, 2012

I loved staying at The Lucerne!

From the moment the doorman opened the door, I knew staying at The Lucerne would not just be a place to rest my head, but an experience! Our room was beautiful with two double beds and helpful amenities like a microwave and refrigerator. The UWS is my favorite neighborhood in NYC and this hotel had the perfect location. The subway was one block away. A few blocks the other way and we were enjoying beautiful Central Park. I look forward to nestling

in at The Lucerne again!

Read More

By og719

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 3, 2008

Size does matter!

The Lucerne's rooms are big for NYC. We've stayed in the matchboxes (Mansfield) and the chains (Marriott TS) and the Lucerne beats them both in price and atmosphere. Right next to the subway and right off Amsterdam with all those great restaurants.

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 8, 2003

Location GREAT, Room SO SO

The reviews and ratings of this hotel seem a little over the top based on my stay there recently. The location is of course very good, but my "suite" was very bare, small, with quite basic furnishings and a view of the windows and walls of the rooms 6 feet across the alley. No mini bar but they do have 24 hr room service, which was ok food. If you expect a reasonably good room in a great location for your money, you will be happy.

By Paula

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 16, 2002

Delighted with Lucerne Hotel

Stayed Aug. 6-14 at the Lucerne and would definitely stay here again. Entire staff provided exceptional service. Rooms were generous size for NY standards, impecably clean, tastefully decorated, great location on upper West side and only a walk or short cab ride to most attractions. Definitely deserves the 4 star rating.

By KF

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 15, 2002

I will stay here again

This place is in one of the best neighborhoods in Manhattan. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and a good size for NYC (I had a deluxe king room).

By stephen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 3, 2002

Very clean -- nice location

Everyone is very nice and willing to help you at this hotel. They upgraded us on our annivesary. Upper west side is favorite portion of new york. Full of clubs, lounges, and restaraunts. Not too many xtras but who cares?

By steve

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 26, 2001

a lucky find

Nice location, service was excellent. Clean and nicely updated we would stay here again. Great restaurants and bars in the neighborhood! Within walking distance to several sights, and only a short subway ride or cab ride to all the sights.

By Judith

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 25, 2001

This is a major find!

Very clean but small guest rooms - wonderful location with taxis waiting at all times - fun neighborhood feeling without the craziness of lower hotels. Price was very good and breakfast was included - staff very friendly and efficient - would definitely stay again.

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 29, 2001

Room with a View

We loved the location of the hotel,finding it easily accessible to everything. The price was right, room absolutely clean and well appointed. Would stay there again and we are picky!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement