Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New York City Hotels

Hôtel Plaza Athénée

  • 37 E. 64th St. Map It
  • $$$$
  • Design

Pros

  • Discerning service
  • Fabulous hotel bar

Cons

  • Lobby can feel dark
  • Wi-Fi costs extra
  • Expensive

Updated 02/20/2014

Fodor's Review

Positioned unobtrusively by Central Park on the Upper East Side, the Plaza Athénée (now related in name only to its Parisian cousin) makes stellar service a priority, with a personal sit-down check-in off to the side of the lobby, and extravagant in-room dining service with an old-world feel: white tablecloths, candles, and flowers are part of the deal. Rooms have big bathrooms and refined, if nondescript, furnishings and linens. The hotel may seem stuffy to younger

visitors but to others it's a welcome dose of old-school luxury. Bar Seine is a fabulously dark and secretive hideaway, and surely the only bar in New York with a floor made of leather. Arabelle is a much-touted, if not particularly well-loved restaurant in need of a menu face-lift or celeb-chef infusion.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

37 E. 64th St., at Madison Ave., New York, New York, 10065, USA

Map It

Phone:

212-734–9100; 212-606–4600

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 117 rooms, 25 suites
  • No meals

Updated 02/20/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in New York City

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Aerin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 21, 2006

Useless doorman

We arrived exhausted following a 20 hour journey from Asia at 1:30am with 4 large pieces of luggage. When we exited our car in front of the hotel, not only did not doorman NOT offer to help with luggage but he stood and watched as we struggled with the door. The remainder of our stay was not as horrifying; yet, the facilities and service at the hotel failed to exceed mediocre status. Our room was moderate-sized and clean, but worn. We were assured

we were on a non-smoking floor; but upon arrival to our floor, we choked upon exiting the elevator due to the overwhelming reek of cigarette smoke. By the next morning, the smoke had cleared, and we assumed it had been a fluke. However, on the second to last morning of our stay, the same hallway reek returned, but this time to our room through the heating/ventilation system! The room amenities were lacking. We at least expected a coffee maker, but no such luck. We were advised we could order room service or hike to Starbucks several blocks away. For the price of a night at this highly rated hotel, we expected much more. For substantially less, I would recommend other hotels such as the Michealangelo which has nicer rooms, better service, and for tourists is more conveniently located.

Read More

By Art

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 2, 2005

A Winner!

This hotel is well located on the East Side away from the bustle of the city. It has a very nice small hotel feel and the service is excellent. The rooms are tasteful and the bar and breakfast room are comfortable. We'll definitely stay here next time that we are in New York.

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 5, 2004

The best service in town

Having spent 3 hectic days in New York, I have to say that I could not have done it without the wonderful staff at the Plaza Athenee-they truly shine and went above and beyond!!! I will definitely return-great location as well...

By Austin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 3, 2004

WOW

This hotel was a dream. Wonderful service, luxurious rooms, great lobby/bar. Would return in a heartbeat~!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 24, 2004

Hotel Plaza Athenee is a Jewel

I just spent Valentines Day here and loved it. This hotel was recommended by a friend and I was just as impressed with the service and decor. The staff were all friendly and attentive and the rooms were comfortable and quiet. I also loved the restaurant's brunch on Sunday and the bar was great for a drink in the evening.

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 9, 2002

Run Away

I agree with James from San Francisco. I just spent 4 days there. This place needs a major overhall. I rather stay at a Best Western than this joint. What a disappointment. When I asked for a room with a balcony they wanted more money than the ridiculous amount of money I paid for the room ($500). It was a one bedroom suite but it was awful.

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 19, 2001

Past its Prime in Every Way

A massive disappointment. Despite guaranteed reservations, they gave away my colleague's room -- she had to stay with friends. The place is stuffy and inefficient. The rooms are over the hill and require a massive upgrade. No desks, non-working modem ports, tiny bathrooms. Overall, a place to avoid at all costs.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement