Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New York City Hotels

Affinia 50

  • 155 E. 50th St. Map It
  • $$
  • Design
  • Enter photo credit

  • Enter photo credit

  • Enter photo credit

  • Enter photo credit

  • Enter photo credit

  • Enter photo credit

  • Enter photo credit

  • Enter photo credit

  • Enter photo credit

  • Enter photo credit

  • Enter photo credit

Pros

  • Apartment-style living
  • Large rooms
  • Good value
  • Kid- and pet-friendly

Cons

  • Pricey Wi-Fi

Updated 02/20/2014

Fodor's Review

This popular hotel attracts business travelers but it's also comfortable for families or leisure travelers—especially the studios and suites, which have plenty of space to stretch out in, with full kitchens and a clean, playful design that incorporates oversize chairs and couches. The second-floor club lounge provides business services and board games for guest use. Those aren't the only quirky amenities, either: there's an "evening libation" reception with complimentary

wine daily (sometimes paired with a game night), fruit and iced tea at reception, and a six-choice pillow menu. All rooms have a mini-refrigerator and microwave, and suites have countertop stoves.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

155 E. 50th St., at 3rd Ave., New York, New York, 10022, USA

Map It

Phone:

212-751–5710; 800-637–8483

Website: www.affinia.com

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 151 rooms, 100 suites
  • No meals

Updated 02/20/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in New York City

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By flagler

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 24, 2012

dated but fantastic

Great visit, enjoyed location across from Penn Station. Giant room with kitchenette made life wonderful in expensive NYC. Would come again. Bellman sent us into Penn Station for the best pizza I ever had. New York pizzas really are better.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 27, 2008

Perfect location, great hotel and the friendliest staff

Just returned from a long stay. The location of this hotel is great, a short walk to the subway and on the 6 line so everything is in easy reach. The rooms are large and clean, the kitchen area is a little small but has everything you need. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, nothing appears too much trouble and they really make you feel at home. Wine and cheese from 6-7pm Mon-Thurs is a nice touch too. Will stay here when we return to NY City!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 26, 2007

We loved this faciltity

We stayed at the Affinia a couple of weeks ago. It is a wonderful facility. Staff were excellent. The rooms are really well appointed and have a full kitchen which makes it nice to keep a few breakfast/snack items on hand. Fruit and iced tea available at the front desk for free. It is a health conscious facility so no smoking at all within the facility which makes nice, clean smelling rooms. We will certainly stay here whenever we visit New York.

Subway was a block or two away but close enough to make it convenient.

Read More

By Joanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 11, 2006

Super friendly staff makes a difference

Stayed here with my two boys. Everyday when we would arrive back they remembered us and asked what we did. Warm front desk staff easy quick check out. The rooms are huge especially by NYC standards. The beds are awesome. This is our new place to stay when in New York. Used to stay at Hilton Towers. No comparison!

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 22, 2005

Best Value in NYC

Big, nicely appointed rooms, helpful staff and conveninet midtown location. Couldn't imagine a better value for the dollar.

By Kevin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 11, 2004

Secret value

We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 day stay at this property. The rooms were nicely appointed, fairly new and always clean. This is not the Ritz, but the rates reflect that fact. The staff was most helpful. We were pleased with the experience

By Tami

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 7, 2003

Friendly Service

This hotel is a great value, especially when booked through discount websites. The employees are friendly and helpful; the location is great for shopping and other site seeing. This hotel is an affordable alternative to nearby hotels. I highly recommend it for budget travelers.

By Frank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 29, 2002

Large Room in Manhatten

This is a great hotel if you are going with the family. The suites are large by NYC standards. You get a kitchen which is very helpful. A little out of the way from the tourist attractions, but hey, NYC is about walking. No amenities like a large lobby, or restaurants, but it is close to the Waldorf. There are some good restaurants in the neighborhood.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 29, 2001

In a busy neighborhood

Very nice for longer than a 1 night stay, kitchenette great for keeping and heating leftovers

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement