Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New York City Restaurants

Artisanal

Updated 02/25/2014

Fodor's Review

This spacious brasserie is a shrine to cheese, the passion of chef-owner Terrance Brennan. Though service can be spotty, gastronomes and business lunchers still flock here for the more than 150 cheeses—available for on-site sampling or retail sale—then stay to enjoy their selections with one of 160 wines by the glass. Hot fromage-imbued fare also is satisfying, with preparations like addictive gougère cheese puffs, onion soup gratiné, and several types of

fondue. For curd-adverse customers, steak frites or selections from the raw bar should satisfy.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

2 Park Ave., at E. 32nd St., New York, New York, 10016-5675, USA

Map It

Phone:

212-725–8585

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Reservations essential

Updated 02/25/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 3, 2009

Artisanal Review

Maybe the food is okay, but the noise level, crowding and brisk service is really jarring.Unless you're suffering a cheese attack, skip it.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 10, 2008

WHAT?! I CAN'T HEAR YOU!!

Not terribly impressed with the impersonal service and the decibel level at this jam packed cheese shrine. Had a splitting headache when I left. Food's okay, but left feeling rushed and hoarse from shouting.

By Steven

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 29, 2005

Not cheesey french food, just brilliant!

We had the 100 cheese fondue with apple, bread and beef tips. The fondue was fantastic. The wine selection excellent, and the cheese plates/ chocolate fondue were mouthwatering. One caveat, it's not cheap. But we definitely felt it was worth it for a special occasion.

By Marc

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 8, 2005

Tres bien in Murray Hill

This restaurant is a great find. Nice ambiance. Staff was attentive and helpful. Very good selection of wines, and the cheeses were phenomenal. Excellent value for NYC, given the quality of the food and reasonable prices. We will defiantly return.

By BB

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 5, 2005

Great for a Sunday Brunch

Went for a Sunday brunch and started with the excellent gougeres. Good wines by the glass. My cheese and potato tart was creamy and rich. The mussels were the best I ever had either in the US or in France - in a rich garlic-wine broth with a touch of tangy creme fraiche. And an excellent crusty bread for dipping. Desserts were good too. Service was very good.

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 13, 2002

Where cheese rules

We did just fine sticking with an all-cheese menu (except for some utterly delicious frites). Yummy cheese puffs for an appetizer. An unusual cheese fondue (sorry; I forget what kind of cheese). An assortment of fines cheeses for dessert. Good wine, good service, nice atmosphere.

By elle

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 27, 2002

Quel Fromage!

I could exist on nothing but the gougeres and wine at Artisanal. The main dishes were also quite nice (contrary to the Fodor's blurb)--my chicken under a brick was perfectly executed and my companion's rabbit au riesling with spaetzle transported him to the Alsatian countryside. Tarte Tatin had a divine cheddar crust. Service was a bit lackluster and did not seem to have a clue about the wines. Prices were quite reasonable.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement