Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New York City Hotels

60 Thompson

Pros

  • Supercentral for SoHo nightlife
  • Good gym
  • Some rooms have balconies

Cons

  • Not family-oriented
  • No pets allowed

Updated 02/20/2014

Fodor's Review

This hotel may no longer be the center of the universe scene-wise, but that's a blessing for guests, since the service (and the staffs' attitudes) have improved. This was the first of the Thompson hotels in New York and it might still be the gold standard. The rooftop lounge, A60, remains a guests- and members-only warm-weather haven for hipsters. Thom bar, the second-floor lobby, is a dark space filled with contemporary art, great for whiling away an evening. Rooms have

a dramatic, spare design; the generous use of dark woods and full-wall leather headboards give the rooms welcoming warmth.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

60 Thompson St., between Broome and Spring Sts., New York, New York, 10012, USA

Map It

Phone:

212-431–0400; 877-431–0400

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 97 rooms, 10 suites
  • No meals

Updated 02/20/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in New York City

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 16, 2008

Terrible service for large group stay

I had a group of 10 stay at the hotel for several weeks, so spent tens of thousands of dollars and was treated horribly - upgrades were promised, but not delivered. it was fall but quite warm, but heat was set and couldn't be controlled so was sweltering. the rooms were so small i had to stack 2 suitcases on top of one another....that was an 'upgraded room', next to the elevator. terrible.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 4, 2008

Terrible

I have stayed in at least 50 hotels in New York, and this was easily the worst. Great location, but small room in need of an update. Worst, no ability to control the temperature, which hovered well above 80 degrees. Useless staff ("my apartment in New York is hot too"). You would be a fool to stay in this dump.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 9, 2007

A total rip-off

The facts just the facts: One (1) chair; no table of any kind; no bath tub; $650 per night. Need I say more?

By giles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 28, 2007

vile

A miserable squalid experience. Unbelievably nasty. It gets my vote as being the nastiest hotel in america. Not one redeeming or original feature. If it were a $50 motel it would still receive the thumbs down. But for those eye watering prices it's a royal rip off. Noisy. Dirty. Boxy rooms. Terrible service. Designer death. A complete cliche. The whole experience made me want to vomit.

By Cathie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 31, 2004

Loved it!

Just back from a week at 60 Thompson and loved everything about it.Travelling with 2 children age 10 and 12 means that we often have to compromise...but not at this hotel!Everything was great, from the connecting rooms with the most comfortable beds in the world to the staff who all looked as though they had just stepped out of Vogue,but were unfailingly charming and helpful.(the Concierge was fantastic). My children had a wonderful time...they had

free internet access in the Lobby,staff who treated them like human beings and the chance to watch DVDs that they had not seen in the UK( there is a charge for this however,...60 would score huge points if this was free for children in the evenings).We felt like grown- ups again, having a martini watching the nightly parade of the young and beautiful of NY. We were on the 11th floor and heard nothing, but I am sure that the lower floors must hear them leaving, which could be a problem unless you are part of it! I would highly recommend this hotel and although it is not cheap( esp on food and drink)...what good hotel in NY is? We cant wait to return!

Read More

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 3, 2004

It Stunk!

My husband and I were really looking forward to a weekend getaway in a new part of the city we've never stayed before...unfortunately we were very disappointed with our hotel choice. Not necessarily with the hotel itself though because it was all the reviews said - hip, fun, well-located, etc. It was our room (a king suite w/ balcony)that ruined the trip for us - it smelled like stale cigarette smoke. We complained about the odor as soon as we

walked in, but the hotel was booked for that night. They insisted we were on a non-smoking floor and we probably were, but perhaps not everyone follows the rules. The odor was so strong that it would hit you when you came out of the shower which was so disappointing especially after enjoying the great smelling bath products provided. Speaking of the bathroom, I was very underwhelmed - not enough space for your stuff. The next morning, we even noticed the smell in the hallway. We were out all day and when we came back, complained again. The front desk said no other rooms of our type were available, but they could provide an ionizer to rid the room of smells. We went out to dinner and came back to what at first seemed to be a much better smelling room. By the next morning, however, it smelled again. When we came back home, I immediately washed all our clothes even the ones we didn't wear because they all smelled like stale cigarette smoke. We are not new to traveling and expect hotel rooms to not always smell fresh, but for what we were paying and the quality of the hotel otherwise, our problem was hard to overlook. Not everything was bad, however, the lobby bar was alot of fun and the doormen were always very friendly. I just wish the front desk had been a little more sympathetic to our issue. When you can't enjoy the beauty/style of your room because of the smell of stale cigarettes, it puts a damper on an otherwise great weekend.

Read More

By Ken

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 29, 2003

Finally - Well-managed hipness

After so many disastrous stays at various W and Ian Schrager properties, I became skeptical in the "hip hotel experience" - until I stayed at 60 Thompson this past weekend. Interiors (lighting in particular) were chic and took advantage of all the site had to offer. The location was much better than Soho Grand and Tribeca Grand. Service was perhaps the best I've seen in new york boutique hotels thus far - of course, it's nothing like the Peninsula

but the staff was cheerful and professional. We stayed at a Deluxe Room and it was as spacious as the generous marble bathroom. I look forward to returning to this well-managed hip hotel.

Read More

By Melissa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 11, 2003

Trendy Hotel With Normal Rooms

We stayed here the first week of Sept 2003, and found their rooms to be a little small, but the service was attentive, not snobby, the bar and restaurant was happening all the time. The location alone made it worth the extra money however, because they are in the center of Soho with everything at a stone's throw. In Manhatten, good hotels cost, and we paid, but happy to do so in the end. I'd stay again, if I had a good rate.

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 3, 2003

Pleasantly suprised

After reading several of the previous guests comments, I almost changed our reservation to another hotel. Fortunately inertia held my hand. The staff was very nice and helpful, the room was pleasant and functional, the area was vibrant and central to everything I wanted to do and best of all the VIPs weren't overly obnoxious and too much underfoot. Bottom line is that we would stay there again.

By JR

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 13, 2003

Great location, a bit too "cool" though

Stayed here Jul. 03 with my wife. During the day, the place is empty and it's a quaint boutique hotel on a great street in SoHo perfectly walkable to the Villaga and Tribeca. The rooftop bar is very nice, but beware that you may be sitting at a "reserved" seat (kind of hard to swallow at these rates). Crowd at night was about 90% wannabes and people looking to be seen. We certainly never got any welcome feelings here. Also, the hotel seems to

go out of their way to be minimalist. There wasn't even an iron in the room, which, besides the bathroom was tiny and average. If you can get the same rate at the SoHo Grand, I would highly recommend it.

Read More

By tim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 11, 2003

great little hotel

Stayed here in May '03; hotel has great style; rooms were very nice; bar was happening at night; outdoor dining and drinking outside of main entrance; wonderfully furnished; would recommend it to anyone

By AD

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 26, 2003

Style but no substance

The front desk was agreeable but not helpful. They couldn't direct me to the closest subway! The room was tiny and I kept bumping my knee into the bedframe. The room was also very noisy and I fell asleep to the sounds of a loud party going on next door. The nice thing about the room was the bathroom and the philosphy brand shampoo etc. At this price this hotel is not worth it. I will not go back.

By Jane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 6, 2003

Gorgeous

Great service, lovely room (we had a wonderful view of the SoHo rooftops) and a jaw-dropping bathroom. Feels far more intimate than any other big city hotel I've stayed in.

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 8, 2003

Don't Let the Weekend Scene Scare You

Very hip indeed is the Lounge scene most nights, but middle aged mods are welcome. Lively at night, quiet by day. No problems with the service; Front Desk was helpful. Room was very nice. No complaints. We liked the hotel, neighborhood, and would return.

By Jeanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 4, 2002

So Hip in SoHo

We stayed here last year (Oct. '01) and it was blissful. This is my favorite NY hotel. From the first moment the two handsome, young doormen swung open the glass doors as we sashayed past the mini-grove of white birch trees to the moment we fell into the puffy bed, everything was perfect. There's room enough in the deluxe king for a small table, the "signature chair," and a tiny sofa plus a fridge. The location is great--very quiet compared to

midtown, and right in the middle of a lovely shopping/dining area where you feel quite happy spending your time strolling around. The staff was very young and hip, but they were friendly to us middle-aged tourists. We went down to the cocktail lounge one night and felt a little out of our element, but, hey, we put on all our black clothes and tried to look skinny. If you do some investigation, you can find "shopper's" rates here from time to time.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement