Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New York City Hotels

W Times Square

Pros

  • Bustling nightlife and happy-hour scene
  • Sleek rooms

Cons

  • If you want quiet, head elsewhere
  • No bathtubs in the smaller rooms

Updated 02/20/2014

Fodor's Review

Although it opened back in 2001, the W Times Square still stands out in the the craziness of Times Square, thanks to its iconic, 57-story exterior—and if you want to be in the thick of the action, this is a fun place to stay. Rooms are small but sophisticated, with pink and purple accents, hideaway cabinets, fantastic platform featherbeds, and sleek bathrooms. The more expensive rooms on the higher floors have impressive views to the west over the Hudson River. Blue

Fin, the sushi restaurant, and the Living Room bar remain popular, if pricey offshoots of the eighth-floor lobby, which is always flooded with activity.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

1567 Broadway, at W. 47th St., New York, New York, 10036, USA

Map It

Phone:

212-930–7400; 877-946–8357

Website: www.whotels.com

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 466 rooms, 43 suites
  • No meals

Updated 02/20/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By barjoja

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 12, 2012

W is Good

Stay here if you want to be close to the midtown excitement. Great restaurant-breakfast included- but it tends to get very crowded in the mornings and this isn't roll out of bed throw your sweatpants on and head downstairs dining. The rooms are very modern but small. The wi-fi is not free. Views are good!

By TSQMcL

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 10, 2012

Heart of town

I will say the clouded-out walls of the bathroom were a bit off-putting, but once you get past that the room is exactly what you'd expect. What's NICE is that the hotel's bar is actually a known "hot spot" for locals to go to. I met several Manhattanites just from being there. Location is KEY! That's pretty much "why" one would stay there. Price is good, what you'd expect. Love the brand of toiletries they've opted to go with. All in all, I'd

definitely stay there again (but ask for a room with a REAL set of bathroom walls)!

Read More

By annejb

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 11, 2006

bring water, flashlight and earplugs

Ho real lobby, check in area on second floor very slow service, blasting loud music, dark depressing common space hallways, elevator etc, very creepy. Water next to bed had no price on it - got charged $8 for one 6 oz. bottle. Felt very ripped off, undervalued and unappreciated as a "guest" at Times Square W. Never again.

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 20, 2004

W-W-Wicked!

Stayed for 3 days last March. Decent room with a great view, stylish living room, unbeatable location. A bit expensive, but Times Square is right outside the front door. It is worth the money if you want a short break in NYC.

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 27, 2004

Small rooms, thin walls

Sounded like our neighboring guests must have had some good nights judging by all the late night "activity". Service was good but the rooms were small and impractical.

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 24, 2004

A step too stylish

I stayed here on a business trip recently. I had never stayed at a W Hotel before and was eager to try. Well over half the lights in the room did not work and no amount of asking staff managed to fix them. Apart from this the staff were generally pretty attentive. I liked the style and edge of the room but agree with the other people that the open shower is a failure - water everywhere! The lobby bar and Blue Fin restaurant looked nice but I was

never able to get in - too crowded with non-hotel guests. I was on a business account but even so thought the rate was bad value for money, especially since the hotel managed to charge me 7 times for the 1 stay - I am still arguing with Amex and the hotel about that one!

Read More

By Mason

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 21, 2003

Great Rooms, but the Price....

This is a great hotel, in the midst of Times Square. The staff were mostly attentive, but for a luxury hotel, I was disappointed in the service, and the per room price? Forget it. There are better values throughout Manhattan. The rooms were small, although very well decorated. I got a special deal on the room, or I would be very bitter.

By Sarah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 3, 2003

W-onderful

We stayed here for one night in November 2002 and thought it was fantastic. The corner rooms are small but have a fantastic view - they changed our room because the bellboy said it smelt although my husband and I did not have a problem with the original room. The Blue Fin restaurant is great, the location great, and the decor fantastic. No complaints!

By Beth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 14, 2003

Great family Hotel

My family (two young daughters & hysband) stayed here for 3 days close to New Years Eve 2002. In the past we have stayed at the Parker Meridien, which we enjoyed quite a bit. My kids lobbied for a location closer to what they like (lights and people) so we took a chance staying here. Very fun! The room was smallish, but we had a corner room overlooking Time Square, (43rd floor) which was asource of fascination for them each night. The size of the

room didn't bother us at all. Hello! we weren't there to stay in the room all day-we had too much to do. There were chocolates for the kids on their bed each night and cute little bear ornnaments, too. The beds were beyond confortable and the staff was almost disney-like in their courtesy and helpfulness...down to the janitors. There was a slight whiff of playful pretension which actually was amuseming rather tan annoying. My kids loved the ultra-cool interior design of the lobby and waterfall entry. Then the great room service just topped everything off. We are back next year, absolutely.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement