Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Long Island Hotels

Gurney's Inn Resort and Spa

Pros

  • Cozy, nostalgic, nautical theme
  • Right on the ocean
  • Small playground on the beach will delight kids

Cons

  • Parking is packed and up a steep hill

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

Long popular for its fabulous location on a bluff overlooking 1,000 feet of private ocean beach, Gurney's has become even more famous in recent years for its European-style spa and its indoor heated seawater pool. The large, luxurious rooms and suites all have ocean views.

Hotel Information

Address:

290 Old Montauk Hwy., Montauk, New York, 11954, USA

Map It

Phone:

631-668–2345

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 100 rooms, 4 suites, 5 cottages
  • Some meals

Updated 12/31/1969

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Moon77

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 12, 2010

Gurney's Inn Resort and Spa Review

where do I begin! European spa?! In my opinion, this place is a dive. what a disappointment and an embarassment. Grey and depressing looking. old. old as in 'carpets/flooring are old and almost dirty and smelly. Small and cramped feeling in the entrance and hallways. Valet service, unfriendly, little eye contact, poor communicators and they avoid being helpful. No smiles. The service at dinner---not great. We waited forever to get our meal. Strange

remarks from the waiter like "if you decide that you dont like the meal, dont think of returning it to the kitchen." ????!! None of the surrounding customers looked happy. I didnt like the food. I left with a horrible stomach cramp. Very average. Even the bartender was grim. Room was just okay. View was sopposed to be "ocean view/oceanfront" but with a parking lot and a view of the ugly roof tops of the lower hotel rooms and spa roofs. Parking a nightmare too. and cramped. Spa was not great compared to other places I've been to. MY LA Fitness locker room blows away the spa locker room here. Here it was very cramped, small, and the selection of treatments were not outrageous and not THAT Europeanly great. I've been to a real European Spa in Monaco. No comparison. The spa in the MonteCarlo was absolutely gorgeous compared to this Gurneys. I would guess the place needs major renovations on the cosmetics, design, and employees. I guess, if its a large family business and its making $ despite this, they simply lost their pride and dont care about the people who spend their money and priceless time going there. Maybe they have long time clients (that dont get around) that actually think its great. It amazes me that this place stays in business.

Read More

By JMercer

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 14, 2009

Deteriorated

We used to love Gurneys, but it is no longer a place to come to find peace and calm. The ambiance is YMCA. Eyesores ruin the beachfront - tacky plastic chairs for weddings are stored stacked up right on the beach. In the fall and winter, fishermen are allowed to drive their SUVs up and down the beach. It looks like a construction sight. I've almost been hit twice. Loud amplified music blasts outdoors from exercise classes. In the mornings,

the townspeople have their water exercises in the pool. They exercise to ghetto blasters. They are rude to hotel guests trying to swim around them. In the afternoon, families bring their small children to swim. There is rarely a quiet, uncrowded time to swim or use the spa. Montauk really does need an adult resort for calming down from job stress. Gurneys loyalty is to the town folk of Montauk, Guests hoping for a true spa experience, go elsewhere.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 2, 2005

Spectacular Location, Not so Spectacular Rooms

We visit Gurney's every year, as our in-laws own timeshares on the property. We have stayed at both nearby resorts and at Gurney's which tends to be substantially pricier than neighboring resorts. This year we stayed in a studio sized room that was advertised as being oceanview, although you had to squint and stand on your tippy toes to catch a glimpse of the water. It was separated from the main buildings and situated between the highway and parking

lots. We paid $550 per night for our four night stay and felt that the room was that of a two star hotel. The location at Gurney's is the best in the Hamptons and the beach is gorgeous. The resort restaurants are good and feature a daily breakfast buffet that is a good value. The beachside cafe has good fast food and a full bar. Overall, the location is top notch the rooms are not.

Read More

By ingrid

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 3, 2004

excellent value for hamptons style

get a facial with Abba, an underwater massage in one of their ocean water tubs and dont miss the lobsterbake, great weather

By Will

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 1, 2004

Brutal

The price/value ratio at Gurney's is probably the worst of any hotel/resort I've ever seen. The rooms, even after "renovation," are small, seedy, and tasteless. The service is atrocious, with many staff that don't speak or understand english. The food is at best, mediocre, and some of it (breakfasts, in particular) border on the awful. If the nightly rate for Gurney's was in the $200 to $250 range, I could stomach all of the above, as the beach

and the spa are both quite nice. (Even then, however, I would feel ripped off, as I went back to my lousy room every evening.) But for twice this amount, the whole experience is just ridiculous. If profit-mongering weren't viewed as such a virtue in our country, Gurney's would have ample reason to feel ashamed of itself.

Read More

By Matt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 8, 2004

In good shape now

Just there this weekend (First weekend in March) taking advantage of an off-season special. The guest rooms and common areas were renovated over the last two years, and were in very good shape. The rooms arent as large as a new hotel with these prices would be, but they did a very good job with what they had to work with...1960's layouts. The ocean views are amazing! The place has a rustic, beachy feel, perfect for Montuak, and much less stuffy

than the Hamptons. Room prices included a food credit based on the Modified American Plan (credits towards Breakfast and Dinner). Just be carefull of the gratutites they automatically include for somethings.

Read More

By Patrice

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 20, 2001

Gorgeous beach - So-so Room

We stayed here for our honeymoon in September 2001. We planned on going to Hawaii, but postponed due to 9/11/01. The hotel itself is very nice -- a nautical theme. Service was nice. Food was great. Spa was fabulous! The room however was motel-esque. It was right on the ocean though, so we loved going to sleep with the deck door open. I honestly would go back in a second.

By Judy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 23, 2001

Overrated

How could Fodor's possibly call the rooms "luxurious"? We would have getten better accommodations at a Holiday Inn. The furniture was run down and utterly characterless, the bathroom was cramped and dingy, and the A/C and heater unit reeked of stagnant water. I know it's difficult to maintain beach front rooms due to the constant moisture, but this place could have done a lot better. Surely, the hotel owners could afford to update the rooms given

the outrageous room rates? I suppose we paid for the location which, of course, was wonderful. Also, the spa was nice.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement