Long Island Hotels

Advertisement

Bassett House–a Country Inn

The Bassett House

At a Glance

    Pros

  • rates include home-cooked breakfast and beach equipment

    Cons

  • no phones or safes in rooms

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Bassett House–a Country Inn Review

Within walking distance of shops and restaurants is this Victorian inn built in 1830 as a farmhouse. Trees and gardens surround the house, and eclectic antiques fill the rooms. Beds range from twin to queen-size. Two rooms have fireplaces.

    Hotel Details

  • 12 rooms
  • Rate includes breakfast.
  • Credit cards accepted.

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    things must have changed.......

    What can I say about the previous post? I stayed there last weekend and the only thing I can tell you, is that things must have changed dramatically since 2005. I was met be a very nice owner and my room was clean and neat. Michael, the owner, was always there and offered to take any valuables I had and lock them up. It has a great locatation and a young atmosphere. The service was great. I would definitely return. Thanks for a great time Bassett House Inn!!

    by nyc103, 8/7/07
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    a great weekend getaway

    cute, little house with a very nice acccomodating owner who cooks delicious homeade muffins in the mornings for breakfast. rooms are cozy but all come with air-conditioning, a big plus! also has a very nice, well-maintained backyard and best of all it is pet-friendly, (nice dogs only)

    by aramat, 8/14/07
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Classic Style

    I stayed at the Bassett House in mid-July 2007. The room style and decor reflects that of a classic B&B--quaint and rustic. Not only is the setting idyllic, but the location is ideal--in the heart of East Hampton. The owner, Michael, is kind-hearted and goes beyond the norm of service.

    by kriscorbett, 8/17/07
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Exactly What it Should Be

    I'm not a fan of telling someone I will do something ... like write a review for example - if I don't feel compelled to do it. Just don't have the time. So here it is... The Bassett House is what a B&B should be... it's quiet, understated, escape. It is about solid, down-home, feel-good, getting away. If I wanted 5 star luxury - haughty overstated elegance - I'd go to The Mandarin Oriental... but this isn't why you go to a place like this. This is about antiquing, no-schedule scheduling, meals at a round table, discussions about old and new, and celebrating your own sense of peace. Quiet and homey, this B+B serves up rooms of old oak, comfy blankets, aged fireplaces, and an eclectic display of antiques the likes of grandma's home. It's innkeeper Michael is just the perfect adornment to such a solace, as he is neither overtly present, nor quietly aloof... he is there to give you a serving of home - kindness, care, and a gentle manner that I remember from back in the days of growing up in a small town ... Knowledgeable about all local activity, with a finger on the pulse of the juicy stuff, Michael is what he is ... simple, appropriate, tasteful - and he knows of the comforts of home and how to create - every day - this ambience. He gave me space when I needed it and always showed up to offer his assistance and his freshly baked muffins just when I thought it was all too good to be true ... I highly recommend this establishment and I thank Michael from turning a hectic producer's head back to a time when men were gentlemen. The home might not look like it is palatial from he outside - but like most things of this nature - you gotta go in to get to the good stuff... Thanks Michael. Ian and I will not soon forget your hospitality - and will be back soon!

  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    The place to stay to see the Hamptons

    I recently had the opportunity to spend two nights at the Bassett House Inn on the Montauk Highway in East Hampton, New York. This was definitely a delightful visit for my friend from Washing State and myself. We were greeted by the owner, Michael, who made us feel immediately comfortable and right at home. The inn has numerous collectibles that the owner, himself, found over the course of almost thirty years. Such Charm!! Michael was always ready to offer information about places to see and go and how to get there. I would highly recommend the Bassett House Inn in Est Hampton to anyone who wants a comfortable, delightful, down to earth place to stay. I will return again this summer. I also wrote to the Chamber of Commerce about this Inn--/So Very Nice. Pat P. June '08

    by PattyP, 7/8/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Disgusting Hotel

    Worst hotel stay ever!!!!!!!!! Found pubic hair in our bed when we arrived. Rooms were dirty. Toilet didnt work. Ridiculously overpriced. Would rather stay at a youth hostel and sleep on a floor. Dirtiest room ever stayed in. Owner insisted on being prepaid by check. Said didnt take credit cards (that was a lie). We paid for 3 days and checked out after 1 day. Couldnt get money back since he had been paid by check. STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL.

    by glowken, 2/17/09
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Friendly and Eccentric Charmer

    It's all relative. We booked the weekend at Basset House after discovering that most other accommodations in EH charge 600+ per night, unless they are a roadside motel. So - though an admittedly high priced B&B at almost 300 per night, it was preferable (to us) to a motel. We appreciated the particular laid-back atmosphere and quirky charm, but perhaps this place is not for everyone. It is a classic colonial that is a bit rough around the edges for wear. Old growth trees surround the house located on a beautifully verdant lawn with abundant flowers and lounge chairs. The house is crammed with flea market treasures and antiques curios, so it is a bit like stumbling into a magical attic. The rooms are likewise so furnished and slightly funky - but clean. We did need to move a few light bulbs around in our room, but it was a happy stay and that detail did not particularly disturb us. It was an experience akin to being in a comfortable old country house of an eccentric friend in the days before Martha Stewart raised the bar. Michael was very friendly, had many stories and helped us with directions and all inquiries. We bought an antique fireplace broom (from our room) from him that we fell in love with, and took home a cutting of a plant from his garden that he dug up for us b/c we had admired it. Summary: If you are looking for top drawer in EH - then you will really have to pay for it. This is no gilded-lily, over-decorated, fake perfumed, 4 course gourmet breakfast inn. But it was a lovely experience and we enjoyed Michael very much. Final notes: If you do not like to share a bath, then do not reserve a room here on those conditions in the first place. It seems a simple choice. Security was like a house in the country: our room door had a hook on it. We were okay as we carried no particular valuables, and he offered to secure them for us if we had. The driveway entrance is a bit tricky b/c of heavy summer traffic on the highway. Michael provides beach passes to guests, and the nearby beaches are very lovely.

    by cprojex, 7/5/09
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Bassett House-a Country Inn Review

    Excellent accommodations! Plan to return again to The Bassett House! I stayed at the Bassett House in East Hampton July 2010. It was my first stay there. I soon returned two weekends later for another stay I liked it so much. The rooms were clean (not at all "dank"). The location is excellent as was the service and comfort. The owner Michael Bassett is a wonderful friendly guy, so accommodating, so eager to help with any questions about the area - present and past. I highly recommend this place for your Hamptons stay. Belongings were safe and secure, I slept extremely well. I plan to return again in the future. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

    by trilbymd, 7/30/10
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Bassett House-a Country Inn Review

    Our family stayed at the Bassett House for a week in the Summer of 2010. The room was large and clean. The owner, Michael, was very accomodating and helpful. He takes the time to tell you a lot about the area. You get the sense that you are staying in someone's home, and not a hotel. The grounds are lush. A deer visited each night to eat apples from the yard. The beach passes were welcome; the local beaches are fantastic. This is a lovely town, and the Bassett House was a welcome choice.

    by pablo_b, 9/6/10

Add your own review

Advertisement

· Map of Bassett House–a Country Inn

Map of



Travel Deals
Forums