Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Taos Restaurants

Orlando's

Updated 12/04/2013

Fodor's Review

This family-run local favorite is likely to be packed during peak hours, while guests wait patiently to devour perfectly seasoned favorites such as carne adovada (red chile–marinated pork), blue-corn enchiladas, and scrumptious shrimp burritos. You can eat in the cozy dining room, outside on the umbrella-shaded front patio, or call ahead for takeout if you'd rather avoid the crowds. Margaritas here are potent.

Restaurant Information

Address:

114 Don Juan Valdez La., off Paseo del Pueblo Norte, El Prado, New Mexico, 87571, USA

Map It

Phone:

575-751–1450

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 12/04/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all restaurants in Taos

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 2, 2006

Authentic, cheap and delicious

Fish tacos -- delicious. Vegetarian posole -- delicious. and the (odd-sounding) avocado pie is not too be missed. really.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 14, 2006

True New Mexican Food

The food is fantastic with lots of chile. The atmosphere is casual but festive. One unique thing about the dinners that I really liked is that you get hominy instead of rice with your beans. It is not far from the casino. Once we ate there, we could not stay away!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 2, 2005

FABULOUS Chicken Tacos!!!

My family has a house in Taos which we visit frequently during ski season. This restaurant is on the way back from Taos Ski Valley to Taos. It is the PERFECT dinner stop for weary skiers. The atmosphere is friendly and cheerful, there is a fire on the front patio to warm cold hands and feet, and the food is simply incredible. In particular, my favorite is their chicken tacos with blue corn tortillas. YUM! (Definitely big enough to share, though.)

I'm visiting Taos this weekend with my husband, and I can't wait to take him to Orlando's!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 19, 2005

For the Best New Mexican food in the state, Orlando's is the place

My husband and I first discovered Orlando's on our honeymoon to Taos. On return trips to Taos, we still end up eating there sometimes twice a day for both lunch and dinner. Order the carne adovada and frozen avocado pie. You will not be disappointed! If we had the time, we would just drive to Taos from Houston, TX just to eat at Orlando's for dinner. It is just that good.

By KMP

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 14, 2005

Laid-back outdoor dining

Very nice outdoor patio at this nortside Taos restaurant. Fish tacos were fresh and very tasty. My girlfriend "built" her own bowl and was quite impressed with the pork, black beans, pasole, and red & green chile. Add the warm sunshine and a few Coronas and you have a wonderful lunchtime spot!

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 15, 2005

We Were Impressed

We come from San Antonio, and therefore eat a lot of Mexican Food. We were pleased. Service was very good for as busy as they were and the food was simply excellent!

By cass

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 5, 2004

chimichanga to chimi for....

Food...services...atmosphere...muy bueno Most fave is the fabulous chimichanga!

By Douglas

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 5, 2004

Open some Sundays

Open for the Labor Day weekend on Sunday. Caribe was excellent on the pork medallions. Also have several dessert items that are delightful.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement