Taos Restaurants

Advertisement

Doc Martin's

Guitar player

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Doc Martin's Review

The stylish restaurant of the Historic Taos Inn takes its name from the building's original owner, a local physician who saw patients in the rooms that are now the dining areas. The creative menu hews toward innovative takes on comforting classics, with an emphasis on sustainable ingredients—try the curious but quite tasty rattlesnake-rabbit sausage with ancho chile–cherry sauce among the starters. Entrées of note include local lamb shank with horseradish-mashed potatoes, and a juicy elk burger with crisp fries. There's an extensive wine list, and the adjoining Adobe Bar serves up some of the best margaritas in town. In winter ask for a table near the cozy kiva fireplace.

    Contact Information

  • Address: Historic Taos Inn, 125 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Plaza and Vicinity, Taos, NM, 87571 | Map It
  • Phone: 575/758–1977
  • Website:
  • Location: Plaza and Vicinity

    Restaurant Details

  • Credit cards accepted.
Updated: 12-04-2013

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Great food, great location

    Wife and I ate here 3/11/07. Waiter was excellent with recommendations for meal and wine. Chile rellenos are great, and I have to mention the Italian Chocolate Nut cake.

    by wot, 3/15/07
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Does Not Live Up to the Hype

    Maybe we visited on an off night, but our meals were overpriced for being average at best and overcooked. Too many tables were jammed into a small room so it was impossible to escape the conversations from the nearby tables. The service was also lacking. A waiter accidentally spilled ice-water down my back, which wasn't surprising since she had no room to manuever. She apologized, but I had to request a towel, clean up the mess myself and eat dinner with the back of my shirt wet. I wouldn't bother giving this place a second chance.

    by wtm003, 6/25/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Terrible service, worn decor

    We were in Taos last week, and decided to go out for a meal without the kids. We had seen good reviews on Doc Martin's, so we decided to try it. FIrst impression: needs updating. The place isn't "trendy old," it's just worn and dated. We figured the ffod would make up for it. Second impression: no service. We were seated promptly (we had reservations), but after 10 minutes our waiter had still not come by. I asked the manager (actually, assistant manager) what the problem was, and was told they were "busy"--which I found amusing given that one part of the restaurant was completely closed (dark), and there were half a dozen empty tables in the part that was open. After debating with her a while (all she wanted to do was make excuses, instead of getting a waiter), we simply left, and went to Lambert's (a good experience there). We are fortunate to dine out frequently at high-end restaurants. Take my advice -- go elsewhere.

    by MTaylor815, 8/3/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Doc Martin's Review

    As a vegetarian it can be hard to find meatless foods at restaurants. At Doc Martins, i was able to find a unique selection of vegetarian food. i had a really good tofu dish for breakfast which i had never seen before(tofu maple scramble). the staff was attentive and service was prompt. also for breakfast at doc martins theres a wide selection of sides, instead of just toast, theres muffins, scones, breads, and all sorts of different choices. doc martins is in a really cool part of town, and its located in the oldest hotel in taos. its really good and i would recommend it to anyone.

    by jjjjjjjjj, 2/8/10
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Doc Martin's Review

    I went to Doc Martins on a vacation this past year. It was one of the original fine dining restaurants in the area. The service was standard, but the food was amazing. I could tell that it had high quality ingredients and fine prep techniques. I had a good time and I felt that I was in the history of the city.

    by Andoni, 6/15/10
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Deliciousssss!

    Came here on several occasions and I loved my food on each visit!Their green chile smothered burrito and bread pudding was heavenly!If you're in Taos, definitely make a stop here!Plus, they have free live music every night which makes for a fun and relaxing environment

    by lindaluv09, 6/30/13

Add your own review

Advertisement

· Map of Doc Martin's

Map of



Travel Deals
Forums