Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Santa Fe Hotels

Hotel St. Francis

  • 210 Don Gaspar Ave. Map It
  • $$
  • Casual Chic

Pros

  • Highly distinct ambience
  • Two blocks from the Plaza and near many shops

Cons

  • Service can be spotty
  • Some rooms (and especially bathrooms) are quite small

Updated 12/04/2013

Fodor's Review

Just one block south of the Plaza, this stately three-story hotel retains a historic vibe but has been given a modern flair—with expansive stone floors, plaster walls, and spare furnishings lit by massive pillar candles at night, the lobby feels a bit like a Tuscan monastery. The simple, elegant rooms with high ceilings and casement windows have rustic Mexician furnishings and beautiful, custom linens. Tabla de Los Santos ($$$), is an inviting option for consistently

good modern New Mexican cuisine, and the cocktail bar, Secreto, serves arguably the best cocktails in town.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, New Mexico, 87501, USA

Map It

Phone:

505-983–5700; 800-529–5700

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 79 rooms, 2 suites
  • No meals

Updated 12/04/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Santa Fe

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 11, 2009

Hotel St. Francis Review

This was my third year of staying at the Saint Francis, which has recently undergone a complete renovation. As a designer and decorator, I totally get it, and I give it an enthusiastic thumbs up. Because it has been designed around the theme of a Franciscan monastery--serene, relaxing, transcendant-- it's not going to appeal to everyone. But if you're up for something different and come at it with an adventurous heart I think you will enjoy your

stay. The best thing is it's not the same old Santa Fe cliche. In summer the decor is cool and relaxing, the locally-made artisan furnishings well-chosen and interesting to look at. Loved the milagros and the "historical" display on the second floor. Beds are extraordinarily comfortable with high quality linens--as good as Westin. My room had lots of sun, a beautiful view, and casement windows that open to the night breeze. And the front porch is unquestionably one of the best hang-outs in Santa Fe! Order a margarita and read the Times--or chat with other visitors about your day. On the minus side: The bedrooms are smallish--but seriously---who goes to Santa Fe to stay in their room??? The room lighting needs improvement--it is not user-friendly, especially for reading. I also really missed the full length mirrors that used to be mounted inside the armoire. Service: overall, I can see that they're really making an effort in this department. Service was prompt and attentive. I was especially impressed by a young man named Carlos who actually remembered which room I wanted--from a conversation weeks back. Overall, I would recommend the St. Francis for its history and splended location next to two excellent restaurants and access to the Plaza. I am told the restaurant there is now a serious contender. The SF is now a "concept" hotel--fans of the old Saint Francis might have some trouble getting used to it. But things change. And I think, once the hotel has worked out a few bugs, this will have been a positive change indeed.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 1, 2007

Lovely old hotel with tiny rooms and no hot water

A lovely century old hotel just off the Santa Fe plaza. A grand lobby though not well appointed. You notice upon check in a press release that informs you that in 2000 this hotel was chosen by Hemispheres magazine as one of the 50 best hotels in the WORLD!. Well, our room the first night (for two) was approximatly 100 square feet but so crowded with dusty plastic flowers and useless little tables that we had to store all of our baggage in the tiny

bathroom so we could move around. Oh yes, giant faux granite sinks in the bedroom. Hot water the first morning - none. Was told at the front desk that if you want to shower between 6 - 7 a.m. you have to wait between 20 - 30 minutes for hot water. No room amenities (you get better amenities at a Motel 6)!!!. We changed rooms and did have a much nicer room, with a bit more room to relax. Still, there are no chairs, old 19 inch tvs and no closet space (so small I couldn't put one suitcase in the closet - no iron, etc.) This for $200 plus tax a night? I don't think so. You do get a free NY Times in the morning, but if you don't pick it up by 7:30 they collect them and put them down at the front desk. The hotel does serve a charming afternoon tea.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 11, 2007

Bed Bugs-Scabies infestation- w/ poor customer service

My husband and spend our first night there and we woke up itching. We had bed bug bites. We where itching so bad we came home early and went to the dotor. We had scabies. This meant that our luggage had to all be thrown away and everthing in our suitcases had to be cleaned in a special way. We told the managment of the hotel and they where abusive and hard to deal with when we where the unsuspecting victims. Most hotels would of apoligized profusely

and done something to make it write. Not this hotel. I do not reccomend staying there because the have a scabies infestation problem that the manager is not willing to deal with. Horrible and scary experience to wake up itching with bites all over your body when you are staying at a hotel with a high price tag, you just don't except it nor do you expect the staff's treatment. The customer is always right and we where suffering with about a hundred bites on each of us.

Read More

By Jason

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 30, 2003

Serenity now!

My wife and I attended a wending in Santa Fe. We enjoyed our stay in one of the smaller rooms at St. Francis. The hotel has a great ambiance to it and the people were very friendly.

By Rob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 26, 2002

ALLERGY SUFFERERS BEWARE

An historic building, bar & restaurant good values, friendly staff. However, if you have allergies avoid the guestrooms - I was coughing all night. The old walls may be charming to look at, but the harbor a few generations of allergents.

By Carole

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 28, 2001

Even St. Francis would find solitude here

I thought I'd be sacrificing quiet for location when I booked this hotel one block off the Plaza but was amazed how quiet the streets and hallways were which was important since my single room was small with the bed right up against the hallway wall. Room decor was pretty and bedding very comfortable. Front desk staff was young and lacked polish, but rest of staff seemed more experienced. Good place for breakfast in enclosed garden (and avoid wait

at Cafe Pasquals)and drinks on the front patio.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement