Santa Fe Restaurants

Advertisement

The Shed

Hail in June!!!

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

The Shed Review

The lines at lunch attest to the status of this Downtown New Mexican eatery. The rambling, low-doored, and atmospheric adobe dating from 1692 is decorated with folk art, and service is downright neighborly. Even if you're a devoted green-chile sauce fan, consider trying the locally grown red chile the place is famous for; it is rich and perfectly spicy. Specialties include red-chile enchiladas, green-chile stew with potatoes and pork, comforting posole, and their charbroiled Shedburgers. The mushroom bisque is a milder and delicious starter. Homemade desserts, like the mocha cake, are a yummy way to smooth out the spice. There's a full bar, too.

    Contact Information

  • Address: 113½ E. Palace Ave., The Plaza, Santa Fe, NM, 87501 | Map It
  • Phone: 505/982–9030
  • Website:
  • Location: The Plaza

    Restaurant Details

  • Credit cards accepted.
  • Closed Sun.
Updated: 12-04-2013

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Great food, good price, right off the Plaza

    This restaurant was recommended by every local we asked, and have to agree. There was a long wait (1 hour on a Saturday night), but the green chile stew made it well worth it. We also had the Enchilada and Taco plate, which was very good, and the margaritas are excellent - but very strong. It's in a very historic building, and really a fun place to eat. Definitely recommend it!

    by marniewhite, 3/25/07
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Too touristy

    This place was recommended to us by hotel staff. It is convenient if you are staying on the square, but the food is only fair and the service was not great. If you have a car, search out La Choza instead. It is run by the same people, but the food and service are much better.

    by JD_from_Texas, 10/1/07
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    The best "New Mexican" food in New Mexico

    The Shed is in an delightful 300 year old building just a block off of the plaza. I was raised in West Texas and New Mexico and have been eating Mexican, Tex-Mex, and (northern) New Mexican food for 50 years. It is a pleasure for me to enter this old building and eat food with the very best red chile that I have ever tasted. The Shed raises their own chiles and makes the "red" fresh every day. The fusion of heat and taste is a delight. My favorites are the blue corn tortilla enchilada plate, the taco (smothered) and enchilada plate and the carne adovado. I order red in each instance, and often a side of red, as well, as it goes wonderfully on the garlic bread (strange) which, along with pinto beans (okay) and posole (excellent) accompany the meal. At the front end of each meal I begin with a very good margarita (no mix here), but unfortunately, chips and salsa are not complementary. At the back end, the mocha cake and fudge sundae are excellent. They must make their own fudge, as it is unique in flavor. Also, my wife loves their green chile, and a friend who eats there once a week says their American food is good, also. Finally, during the tourist season it is essential to arrive for lunch around 11:30; during the shoulder seasons, better arrive by 11:45 to ensure prompt seating as the locals will fill the place by noon.

    by lobo59, 4/13/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    times they are a changing

    When I was growing up in Santa Fe the Shed was my favorite. About a third the size it is now and far funkier, it was the real deal for New Mexican food. Flat blue corn enchiladas with a egg on top, great pozole, sops, and the mocha cake (OMG). Sadly it's devolved into a tourist trap. Food can still be ok and some of the original rooms are still there but the service is perfunctory and the prices are through the roof.

    by uncledave8, 7/14/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    All dishes seem to look about the same

    Good New Mexican fare but all the dishes seemed to look about the same--smothered in either red or green chile sauce. In any case, very tasty and service was great.

    by agmeek, 9/7/09
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    The Shed Review

    Very nice place. Service was attentive and quick. Very friendly. Red chile was great, especially the pollo adobe. My chicken enchiladas had little chicken in them but good flavor. The posole was very good. The lemon souffle was so-so but the french apple pie was great. Excellant bar. A little expensive for what it is but not by Santa Fe standards.

    by mechele11, 9/7/10
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    The Shed Review

    No visit to Santa Fe is complete without lunch or dinner (we opted for both) at The Shed, one of the best known and loved restaurants in the city. Housed within the thick walls of a hacienda dating back to 1692 entering The Shed is a bit like taking a step back in time....save for the fact that today’s Shed is filled with happy people and the best tasting food to be found. If my count is correct there are five different dining spaces as well as a lovely patio shaded by trumpet vines and flowers. We settled into the bar and began the evening with Elite Gold Margaritas and Guacamole dip in - a wonderful way to unwind after a busy day. The dinner menu offered an enticing cuisine, dishes blending the best of Pueblo, Mexican and Spanish influences. The Mr. smiled with pleasure while enjoying the Southwest Grilled Shrimp (shrimp grilled with Southwest marinade, served with Spanish rice, calabacitas and dipping sauce. I loved an Enchilada and Taco Plate (so rich and delicious with a blue corn enchilada plumped with cheddar cheese and onion then covered with red chile and a soft blue corn taco filled with cheese, onion, tomato lettuce. These delights were served with pinto beans & posole.) We didn’t think we could be more satisfied or pleased, but then came dessert: Mocha Cake and Apple Pie with ice cream. Bliss! The wait staff is more than congenial and helpful. Dinner at The Shed was pleasure in every way - it tops our list when we next visit Santa Fe! - Gail Cooke

    by GailCooke, 9/9/11

Add your own review

Advertisement

· Map of The Shed

Map of



Travel Deals
Forums