Santa Fe Restaurants

Advertisement

Guidebooks

Inn of the Anasazi

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Inn of the Anasazi Review

Argentine chef Juan Bochenski balances a Latin and European sensibility in his approach to the kitchen at this romantic, 90-seat restaurant with hardwood floors, soft lighting, smooth-plastered walls, and beam ceilings that create a slightly less formal feel than other big-ticket dining rooms in town. A plate of plump sea scallops with celery-root puree, corn-chorizo succotash, and 12-hour-cooked pork belly is available as a starter or main dish; other worthy entrées include roasted free-range local lamb with smoked eggplant and jalapeño croquettes, and chile-almond-crusted salmon with a blood orange butter sauce. A fun lighter menu (cheese plates, buffalo burger sliders, ahi tacos) is available on the inviting patio, a fun spot for street-side people-watching, and in the cozy, convivial bar. Sunday brunch is superb.

    Restaurant Details

  • Credit cards accepted.
Updated: 12-04-2013

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Wonderful dinner

    Food was excellent, portion was just enough, without leaving feeling that you ate too much. Great wine list. Try the lamb. Service was timely, and effienct. Worth the higher end price that they charge.

    by md9orth, 11/3/12
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Disappointed

    I ate here 12 years ago, and the restaurant was fantastic. This visit was not as impressive.

    We sat outside at a table for two. The table was tiny – not enough space for the food and wine, and the outside seating is right on a noisy street sidewalk. In hindsight, I would definitely eat inside.

    The food sounded intriguing, but it just didn’t work for my husband and me. I had the lamb, my husband had the elk. The individual components of the dishes were good, but they didn’t really come together into a coherent dish. So, we were disappointed, especially considering how expensive this restaurant is.

    Link to their website: http://www.rosewoodhotels.com/en/innoftheanasazi/dining/the_anasazi_restaurant/

    by StLouisGal, 9/24/12
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Great meal, good service, lovely setting

    Excellent food and a very good wine list.

    by Russm, 7/2/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Disappointing Dining

    Granted, our reservations were for Christmas Eve, but that still doesn't excuse some of the worse service that we've ever encountered in a highly rated restaurant. If you don't have the enought staff available to adequately service your customers then cut back on your reservations!

    by DallasBill, 1/14/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    A Christmas Disappointment

    My husband and I ate here close to Christmas 2007 and were horribly disappointed. Our dinner was bad from top to bottom. We ordered dry martinis to start and very sweet martinis arrived. Our green salads were so overtly salty that we had to send them back. They were returned, undressed, with insipid balsamic dressing on the side.
    My husband's duck was tough and dry and served with very little, tasteless reduction sauce. My tenderloin, although tender, was cool with no redeeming sauce. The menu said it came with a cabrales souffle and smoked potato gnocchi. The souffle was literally the size of a quarter and there were 2 gnocchis under the meat. This is a very expensive place and its clintele deserve much better. The service was very erratic. We talked with locals in Santa Fe who also had bad experiences and wondered at its continued popularity. It's been the worst dining experience that we've had in a decade.

    by nikoserge, 1/2/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    A well-deserved Fodor's Choice

    Five stars across the board: great food, service, and ambiance. Expensive, but worth it.

    by when, 7/31/07

Add your own review

Advertisement

Travel Deals in Santa Fe

View all travel deals
* Some taxes, fees additional

View more trip reports

View more travel discussions

· News & Features

View more blog stories