Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Santa Fe Restaurants

The Compound

  • 653 Canyon Rd. Map It
  • $$$$
  • Eclectic
  • Fodor's Choice

Updated 12/04/2013

Fodor's Review

Chef Mark Kiffin has transformed this gracious, folk-art-filled old restaurant into one of the state's culinary darlings. It's a fancy place, thanks to decor by famed designer Alexander Girard and a highly attentive staff, but it maintains an easygoing, distinctly Santa Fe feel. From chef Kiffin's oft-changing menu devoted to seasonal and local ingredients, consider a starter of ravioli filled with "forever-braised" short ribs and tossed in Parmesan cream with black truffles.

Memorable entrées include Muscovy duck with steamed baby bok choy, wild mushrooms, and a rhubard-ginger compote, and Scottish salmon with crispy pancetta–fingerling potato salad and a Riesling-apple glaze. The extensive and carefully chosen wine list will please the most discerning oenophile. Lunch is as delightful as dinner, featuring one of the best burgers in town, especially if you dine amid the gardens on the patio.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

653 Canyon Rd., Santa Fe, New Mexico, 87501, USA

Map It

Phone:

505-982–4353

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch Sun.

Updated 12/04/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Santa Fe

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 30, 2011

The Compound Review

I dined at The Compound for the first time in eight years last week and was delighted to see that the only thing that has changed is the seasonal menu. The minimalistic decor is and folk art touches are a tribute to Santa Fe and a prelude to what matters most. The focus here is on the dining experience. If you are a fan of Foie Gras or haven't tried it before, you must experience it! Beautifully executed and memorable. There's a reason why this

restaurant remains on the Santa Fe map.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 26, 2011

The Compound Review

For those who love to go out to eat, The Compound Restaurant provides all the things you look for in a dining experience. A friend of mine suggested this restaurant and I am so glad he did! When you arrive at The Compound you are surprised by its bright interior. The dining room is pristine but welcoming. The menu was well balanced with a variety of fare to choose from. My friends and I chose to order something different so we could all sample the

menu. My favorite dish was the Swordfish with a homemade pasta. Service was very attentive. I hope to return in the summer when the Garden is open. The outdoor spaces are equally as beautiful as the interior. Makes me wish I lived in Santa Fe.

Read More

By TDV

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 19, 2011

The Compound Review

My husband and I chose the Compound as the location for our wedding reception, and we could not have been more pleased. Perfect service, perfect food, and a perfect setting worked together to create an event that was elegant but relaxed, appropriate for guests of all ages and diverse backgrounds, and enjoyable for everyone. I have had many guests tell me that they don’t usually like wedding receptions but that they truly enjoyed ours.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 7, 2010

The Compound Review

After reading about this restaurant in Fodor's, Frommer's and our hotel's concierge's recommendation, we had high hopes. The food varied in quality. The heirloom tomato salad was wonderful. The veal's sauce was very good but the veal itself had a poor texture. My companion's steak was overcooked and somewhat dry. Service was attentive although our poor waiter spilled the water bottle and dropped a large portion of bread on the floor.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 28, 2009

The Compound Review

Nothing is perfect, especially in Santa Fe where things tend to be over romanticized by the travel industry. However, as a local, this is the PLACE to go for a really nice mean and experience. I ate there with my wife and ordered sea bass. One of my favorites. It came out nicely prepared but overly salty. I told my waiter that it was very good but a little too salty. He offered to replace it with another dish, which I accepted and got the salmon.

To our surprise, they did not charge us for the entree. Very impressed to see this happen in my hometown where snootiness seems to be part of the dining culture, especially at the more expensive establishments.

Read More

By agmeek

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 7, 2009

Noisy kitchen fan ruins atmosphere

Great food but noisy kitchen fan exhausts by outside tables, so not only is the noise a distraction but you smell every meal being made

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 14, 2008

Excellent Way to End Our NM Trip

Waiter was a little pushy (we dropped in for an early lunch on our way out of Santa Fe) but overall a terrific experience.

By JR

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 29, 2006

Great off the beaten path restaurant

Great food and service. Chef is creative and knows matching flavors. Very nice wine list.

By Larry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 9, 2006

If only

If only the food were as good as the service and decor

By Jack

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 13, 2005

Lunch at the Compound

My wife and I had lunch (NOT dinner) at the Compound on our last trip to Santa Fe in December 2005. The food was good, not great. The service was good, not great. We both felt that the place was a little too "cool" for our tastes. Plus, the prices were a little high, considering it was LUNCH. We don't feel that we need to go back to the Compound on future trips.

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 30, 2004

Compound v. Geronimo? No Contest

Just returned from 4 days in Santa Fe. We ate at Geronimo our second to last night and The Compound the last night -- thinking we were saving the best for last. Boy were we wrong. In a word, we were unimpressed. Although the atmosphere is lovely, we found that The Compound's food ranged from muddled (at best) to downright bad. The foods often were oversauced and often had too many competing flavors. Whoever was cooking should learn that less

is more. We thought they were trying too hard. Service was equally lacking. While well-intentioned, our server simply didn't have the attention to detail one would expect from a restaurant at this level (and prices). By contrast, Geronimo was as fine a restaurant experience we ever have had. Food was delicious, the staff attentive without being intrusive, and the atmosphere upscale without being stuffy. There simply was no contest for us. Do yourself a favor, and next time, like us, when you're in Santa Fe, yell "Geronimo!"

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement