Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Albuquerque Restaurants

Artichoke Café

Updated 12/04/2013

Fodor's Review

Locals praise the Artichoke for its service and French, American, and Italian dishes often prepared with organic ingredients. Specialties include house-made ravioli stuffed with ricotta and butternut squash with a white wine, sage, and butter sauce; and pan-seared sea scallops wrapped in prosciutto with red potatoes, haricots verts, and wax beans. The building is about a century old, in the historic Huning Highland district in the emerging EDo section of Downtown, but

the decor is modern.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

424 Central Ave. SE, Albuquerque, 87102, USA

Map It

Phone:

505-243–0200

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch weekends
  • Reservations essential

Updated 12/04/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 17, 2008

Uncooked chicken made for a horrible meal

Artichoke Cafe was a disappointment from start to finish. The appetizer of steamed artichoke was just okay. I thought it would be more inventive with better dipping sauces. The dipping sauces did not compliment the over salted artichoke. The entree was a disaster. I ordered the free range chicken breast which arrived obviously undercooked with distinct pink in the middle. It was taken back reheated in apparently a microwave because when returned

it was chewy, dry and plain gross. I could barely eat it and left most on my plate. The polenta accompanying the chicken was a tasteless and a disappointment as well. Too top off the night, our waitress did not even offer to comp the meal in any way. Complete waste of my time and money. Would not recommend it to anyone.

Read More

By when

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 31, 2007

Excellent in every way

Everything about this place deserves a "5". Great food and service with a nice atmosphere.

By Ben

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2006

TOP OF THE LINE . . .

Our dining experience at "Artichoke Cafe" was excellent from start to finish. Great selection of uncommon beers and ales; food was delicioius (French Onion soup just a tad salty) and our wait-person "Nina" was top-notch. Would do it all over again and more than once!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 5, 2006

A place to return to again and again.

Great food, excellent service and a cozy atmosphere with a nice wine selection too. No question I'd return again and recommend it to others.

By Allison

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 24, 2005

Rotten Tomatoes! How did it get a good rating?

This was so disappointing. My salad had rotten tomatoes on it and when I brought it to the waitresses attention she went back into the kitchen. She emerged to tell me that all of the tomatoes were like that. She seemed surprised when I suggested they throw them out. The pasta dish was just blah and all around me people were complaining. The men at the table next to us had rubbery steak and they also were not accommodated in any way. The waitress

although polite seemed to have no idea how to deal with these problems. This is a sub par restaurant that is full of itself. The only way it could have a good rating is through bribery or nepotism. This was the last night of our trip and was really awful compaired to the great food we had up till then.

Read More

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 26, 2003

There's a lot of heart in this choke!

A totally satisfying experience. A jewel of a place. Service is friendly and attentive, food is excellent, the atmosphere is crisp, and you get more for your money than you would a little further north in Santa Fe (i was a 15 yr resident there).

By Brad

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 30, 2003

Superb

Great selection of beers, wines, appetizers, main courses, desserts, just great selection. Was a surprisingly nice meal. Terrific service, and trendy without being trendy.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement