Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New Jersey Shore Restaurants

410 Bank Street

Updated 06/12/2012

Fodor's Review

The Cape May newspaper Exit Zero described Bank Street's cuisine as part Key West, part French Caribbean, part New Orleans. Mesquite-grilled local fish steaks, dry-aged New York strip steak, and bayou oyster stew are flavorful stand-outs. Dine on the porches or in the garden courtyard of the 1840s cottage. The place pulses with life—from the jovial diners singing the praises of Chef Henry Sing Cheng to the greenery that clings and climbs the walls. BYOB.

Restaurant Information

Address:

410 Bank St., Cape May, New Jersey, 08204, USA

Map It

Phone:

609-884–2127

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Nov.–Apr., no lunch
  • Reservations essential

Updated 06/12/2012

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in New Jersey Shore

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 1, 2007

Not worth the hype

Greed! Food just average & white rice with everything! Unimaginative. Place was packed/like sardines, we had to shout to hear each other. Service condescending. We are locals but first time to 410. We know there are MANY better places in town. Don't waste your money, it's overpriced/not worth it. We like to spend money but the place has to be first rate.

By Sandy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 28, 2006

Not worth the hype.

This restaurant was highly recommended however, we found that it was not worth the hefty price tag. Our waiter was rude. The appetizers were too small, the entrees to big, and both seriously overpriced. I had better chicken at the Crab Shack. Our bill for four people was over $200 and this did not include alcohol.

By Eric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 7, 2006

Pricey but worth it

We ate here June 5, 2006 for our first anniversary. They do sell wine from a local vineyard but you can choose to bring your own. They had about as many specials on the menu as their regular dishes. I had grilled mako shark as well as seared tuna. Both dishes were outstanding. My wife had their gumbo which wasn't as good. We brought wine and shared dessert. Since it was a special occassion, it was worth the $140 price tag. Our second dinner

in Cape May was at a local pub, which was also good...

Read More

By Sally

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 23, 2005

Fabulous food and service

I was a little concerned when I read the reviews about being rushed. We certainly were not on May 21, 2005, a busy Saturday in Cape May. The place was hopping, but the service was A+: no rush at all, very professional but friendly. As for the food, the quality as great and the portions very generous. I had the largest portion of fresh tuna I have ever had. The bread pudding was good, too; and the coffee outstanding. A perfect evening.

By Frank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 10, 2003

"Fast Food" for the Gourmet Palate

We recently ate at this very "hot spot" in Cape May Labor Day Weekend 2003. The food was excellent and creative. However, the speed at which we were served left our heads and taste buds spinning. The tight, cramped tables took away from the overall dining experience and the excellence of the kitchen (get rid of that table in front of the restrooms - I would have asked for my money back if I were seated at that location). Slow down and give your

patrons a chance to swallow and enjoy.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement