Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New Jersey Shore Restaurants

Chef Vola's

Updated 06/14/2012

Fodor's Review

Small, intimate, and exclusive, this Italian restaurant draws a seemingly endless stream of regulars. The steak, veal, and homemade pasta dishes earn high marks, as does the service. Nearly everyone raves about the homemade cream pies. The only problem is landing a reservation. They give preference to those who have dined with them before, or to those who at least know someone who has dined with them before. BYOB.

Restaurant Information

Address:

111 S. Albion Pl., Atlantic City, New Jersey, 08401, USA

Map It

Phone:

609-345–2022

Restaurant Details:

  • No credit cards
  • Closed Mon. No lunch
  • Reservations essential

Updated 06/14/2012

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in New Jersey Shore

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 14, 2013

A Unique Dining Experience

After having heard about Chef Vola's for years, I decided to take my wife there to celebrate our 33rd wedding anniversary. It's not easy making reservations, or even getting through on the phone, but the hassle was more than worth it. We got a table on the upstairs porch. All the tables in the basement were already taken. The service was excellent. Our waiter knew everything on the menu, and described the specials well. We never felt rushed,

nor did we wait too long for any course to come. We started with the arugula salad, with fig balsamic dressing and blue cheese, and beefsteak tomatoes. It was fantastic. We followed that up with angel hair pasta with white clam sauce. The pasta was cooked perfectly, and the clams were both tender and sweet. My wife chose the macadamia nut encrusted sea bass with tequila lime sauce and I went tradition with Veal Parm. Both entrees were great, and the portions were more than generous. I order the banana cream pie with Oreo crust and my wife ordered the butterscotch ricotta cheesecake. Although mine was great, hers was simply the best desert I've every eaten. Ever. Lou, the owner came around to make sure we were happy with our service, which was a nice touch. Dinner, with tip, was $120. Great food, great service, cozy atmosphere...I would go back in a minute.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 9, 2008

Best Italian Around!

Our experience at Chef Vola's was great all around. From the moment we walked in we knew we'd enjoy. The service is top-notch, the food speaks for itself. Absolutely fantastic! Definitely try the Prosciutto & Mozzarella. He had a Veal that was amazing. I had Shrimp Franese, which was the best Francese I had ever had. Next time we will save a little room for dessert, as we hear the desserts are amazing. If you can get the reservation, you must try.

This is what dining out is about! Keith & Kristine

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 25, 2008

Excellent!

My husband and I had a wonderful dinner at this lovely restaurant. While reservations are difficult, it is definitely worth the wait. Everything (the bread, salad, entree, and desert) were magnificant. The linguini with white clam sauce was the BEST I have ever had. Delicious!!! By far the best restaurant in Atlantic City...it is a BYO so bring a good bottle of wine. Reservations are easier to come by during the week! You will not be disappointed

with this small gem!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 4, 2008

Never disappointed ever.

I have never had a disappointing meal ever. I have been going to Chef Vola's for 25 years. The food, service, atmosphere,and you get what you pay for, quality and excellent food. It's a pleasure to dine with friends. Mario and Stacy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 19, 2008

OVERPRICED

There are too many good restaurants in town to deal with the wait, attitude and average food.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 12, 2008

Great Experience

After the initial attitude of the waitress and owners son, we were very satisfied with our meal and the price. One of the best pieces of veal I have had in a long time. This will be my second choice in AC for now on. Cafe 2825 will always be number 1. To much hype about reservations only and only one chance to order dinner. I guess if you were still hungry you will need to go somewhere else. (Cafe 2825) We ate on a Tuesday night and it was not busy

enough to warrant reservations only.

Read More

By Dane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 8, 2006

Chicken Parm is Where its at!

I went here after an Eagles Vs. Giants game and it was amazing. The food is awesome and the service is outstanding. They really take pride in what they do. It was the perfect way to end the night after the Giants beat the Eagles!

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 15, 2006

Superb Italian Food!

This is simply THE BEST!! Whenever we go to Atlantic City this restaurant is a must stop..Don't mind the downstairs locale.. Sinatra didn't mind it.. Portions are huge.. and delicious!! Every night the specials are superb and Veal chop parmagiana is outstanding, as is everything else.. all homemade to order.. Don't forget to save room for the homemade desserts and pies!!

By Alan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 6, 2006

Nothing Comes Close

Simply the Best- My favorite dining experience anywhere! Sorry I didn't discover this place sooner.

By cathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 15, 2006

like homemade ir your mama is Italian

The food is delicious! Chilean sea bass with tequila lime marinade is a slice of heaven, the filet with blue cheese butter is superb and the pasta is great. You have to leave room for the dessert. You won't be sorry.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 26, 2006

Too close for comfort!!

This was one of the worst places I have ever been. It is in basement of a house. It is a fire hazzard. We paid $35 dollars for a salad!!! The bathroom is in the kitchen. Cash only!Bring your own wine!! I can get that food at any pizza place.

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 31, 2006

This Restaurent in the Basement is the Penthouse!!

I wish I could eat here every night!

By Dewayne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 16, 2005

The Best Food That I Have Ever Had!

This is real Italian food. The best cheesecake in the world. MMMMMM!

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 24, 2005

TO DIE FOR!!!!!

What an awesome dinner. It is true don't look at the menu. there are about 20 specials per night. had the king cut sirloin steak. this was deffinatly not a steak this was the whole damn cow!!!! It was so tender and juicy! WOW!!! It weight in at about 3 lbs. what a night!!!

By A

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 8, 2005

Secret Restaurant - Superior Dining

Absolutely phenominal food, superb service, a must try if you can get in...

By mei

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 25, 2005

yummy

been to Chef Vola at least 5 times. Awesome fish, salads and desserts.....don't look at the menu, it's all about the specials

By Lola

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 11, 2002

Lou's Mom Makes the Desserts!

Make sure you have cash, call at least a week ahead for reservations, and act like you know someone's brother's second cousin's hairdresser to get in...but DO get in! The homemade, family-style servings of rich Italian dishes are to die for. As are the fresh desserts, right from mom's kitchen. The place is tiny, like someone's home, and you really get personal attention with mimimal fuss but great personality. Use the phone to call out for wine from

the liquor store down the street!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement