Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New Jersey Shore Hotels

Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa

Pros

  • Stylish
  • Pulsing nightlife and big ticket events
  • Swank casino

Cons

  • Marina location means no direct beach access

Updated 06/14/2012

Fodor's Review

The Borgata has raised the bar in Atlantic City. Floor-to-ceiling windows and oh-so-tasteful furnishings grace the spacious standard rooms, where even the shower has room for two. Suites all have entertainment centers, wet bars, and bathrooms with deep tubs and his-and-her vanity sets. The spa here is the biggest in Atlantic City at 54,000 square feet, and the restaurants include Bobby Flay Steak, Wolfgang Puck American Grille, and an outpost of New York City's Old Homestead

steak house. As the fresh face in town for nearly a decade, this has been the place for the whales to max out the betting limits, and aspiring scenesters to max out their credit cards.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

One Borgata Way, Atlantic City, New Jersey, 08401, USA

Map It

Phone:

609-317–1000; 866-692–6742

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 2,000 rooms, 400 suites
  • No meals

Updated 06/14/2012

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in New Jersey Shore

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 31, 2008

Shame on Borgata

In March 2008 I won $55,000 via a royal flush at a let it ride table. I was offered nothing. Not even a stick of gum or a drink. It has been almost 3 months and I have yet to see anything other than $17 comp dollars. I find it totally disgusting that Atlantic City has become so commercial and not personal. Any casino in vegas would have at least offered something. AT LEAST OFFERED. Borgata? NOTHING. Take your money elsewhere where you would

be appreciated just a litlle.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 10, 2008

Borgata is FANTASTIC!

I have no idea why The Borgata is getting bashed on here. It is by far the NICEST hotel in Atlantic City. It is beautiful, peaceful, clean. I find it therapeutic just to walk around the place. The atmoshphere is wonderful. I also think the service is excellent. I have stayed there on several occasions and am more impressed each time. They also give amazing comps :) Definitely stay there! you won't be disappointed..

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 19, 2007

Worst Service Ever at The Borgata Casino

Booked our trip through the casino Was told by host we would be in a suite and all food and beverage would be taken care of. Casino sent car. We get to the casino Saturday morning The driver removes our bags but no bellman or host. My girlfriend runs inside to the ladies room so I wait for bellman. The driver called 15 minutes before we arrived figure someone would greet us as they do at other casinos. My girlfriend is back outside but still no

bellman. We grab our stuff. We look to the left see check in, wait behind about 8 guests. A woman at the front desk is arguing with a guest and its loud. The guest yells something to a man with bags behind us and they walk out. It was disturbing an employee was yelling at a guest. Were given a small room. Its not the suite we were promised by the host. There is nothing in the room. The TV is small, there is a tiny clock radio. After seeing the Borgatas website we expected more. The furniture was dirty. There was dust all over, the bathroom had mold on the calking and the toilet was not cleaned. We still cant get our host, what a mistake we made coming to the Borgata. The service and employees were all rude. My concern is Im a rated player with set action and I dont think these accommodations warrant my play. Im not going to play for a min. of 4 hours at min $500 per hand to sleep in filth. I called another casino. We were greeted by host, told him the story and he says he hears it all the time, the Borgata is known for this. Were taken to a beautiful suite, the room has plasma screens, fruit and wine and chocolates are waiting along with big fluffy robes and a great view of the ocean. We never got a call from the Borgata. If you are a player, someone who really enjoys gaming and everything that is supposed to accompany your legitimate action, that the Borgata is off limits. I will never go back to the Borgata under any circumstances.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 7, 2005

Until Steve Wynn arrives, no place better

What that means is, Borgata is THE place right now, but it could be better. The rooms are nice, better than adequate, but Mohegan Sun's rooms in CT are better. The service is horrible -- I think the management thinks people like to be abused. We checked in and found our room had not been cleaned, in fact, the previous guests neglected to flush the toilet. My complaint to the front desk was greeted with less than the outrage and apologetic response

I expected. Booked a shave and foot treatment in the "Barbershop". Nice but not as nice as Vegas. Service at the restaurants was decent -- should be much better. Overall there is a kind of "stuck up", 30something with attitude nature about the staff. Would I go back? Yes, no question, there is nothing better in Atlantic City right now. But, I pray for the day that AC really gets its head together, then the Borgata may be worth its price -- for that money, people should be pampered.

Read More

By Ali

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 17, 2005

Borgata-terribly overrated

For $500 a night, which is what we paid for a Saturday night stay, we expected much better service and amenities, both of which were severely lacking. Service int he restaurants was non-existent--waited an hour and a half for our entrees with no explanation from management. No robes in the rooms,which I assumed was on an oversight on the part of housekeeping. when I called for one, I was told they were only for suite guests and was told I could buy

one in the gift shop! Not what you would expect for $500 a night. Don't expect anything that appoaches a heavenly bed. The comforter looked like a mattress pad put betweent two sheets. Terrible nickeling and diming, not what you would expect from a hotel which claims to be on par with five start hotels. Want water in the gym, you pay for it. Want to listen to the TV with earphones while on the treadmill in the gym, that will be $5.00 (that's a new one for me). Need a bandaid while in the gym. Be prepared to be told to buy one in the gift shop? Want a quiet and romantic dinner in a terribly overpriced restaurant--forget it? There were five rowdy bachelorette parties going on and management did nothing to assuage the other patrons who were incredibly put out. If you are a high roller and getting comped, that you may not be as disappointed as we were. If you are paying, try a different hotel.

Read More

By Amanda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 23, 2005

We got smoked out!

Our experience at the Borgata was a mixed one. The room was very spacious and offered a great view of the shoreline--if you could overlook some of the less-desirable sections of the city right below you. Our main problem was the fact that none of the public areas in the hotel are smoke-free. As an asthmatic with an asthmatic child, the smoky atmosphere in the public areas (even those areas beyond the casino floor) made getting around quite miserable.

Nevertheless, the Borgata is a GREAT place to see a concert. The concert hall is arranged so everyone (even those in the way back "nosebleed seats") feels like they can touch the performers on stage. Great sound system, too.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement