Las Vegas Hotels

Advertisement

Guidebooks

Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino

Exterior

At a Glance

    Pros

  • classic Hollywood vibe
  • incredible views
  • posh suites

    Cons

  • relatively small casino
  • in-room bath products are nothing special

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino Review

Everything at Planet Hollywood is designed to make ordinary people feel like stars, and the lodging accommodations are no exception. The modern standard rooms are a spacious 450 square feet, and feature a king or queen bed, a 27-inch flat-screen television, iPod docking stations, plush chairs, and warm, fuzzy robes. On higher floors, some of the hotel's pricier suites come with butler service—the "PHabulous" suites feature six plasma televisions, as well as foosball and pool tables, and stripper poles in the showers (of course). Each of these suites also comes with its own private butler. The adjacent Planet Hollywood Towers Westgate offers 1,201 apartment-like rooms and a separate pool.

HIGHLIGHTS

The tease: Planet Hollywood's main attraction has become PEEPSHOW, a theatrical striptease starring Coco, also known as Mrs. Ice-T.

The premieres: Because Planet Hollywood is obsessed with celebrities, the property often hosts world-premiere events that attract stars from all over the world.

The restaurants: At the upscale Koi and Strip House, paparazzi are a common sight. Yolo's is good too, not as much for celeb-sightings, but more for its fresh Mexican food.

The dancers: On the casino floor, inside "The Pleasure Pit," scantily clad dancers hug the poles while men play blackjack and stare.

Amenities

The Spa by Mandara still has traces of its original Arabian theme (from when the property was the Aladdin), but female guests rave about the in-house nail salon.

The pool deck offers limited bar and food service, and the better-late-than-never Pleasure Pool VIP section is swanky.

For a shopping fix, hit the onsite mall, the Miracle Mile Shops, which include a new H&M department store and Urban Outfitters, to name a few.

    Hotel Details

  • 2,333 rooms, 163 suites.
Updated: 04-01-2013

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Love Planet Holleywood

    Planet Hollywood is so calming and relaxing after the craziness of the typical casino in vegas. They have tons to do and great shows as well.We enjoyed walking through all of the shops and restaurants, saw a burlesque show, and had some excellent meals and cocktails. Friendly staff throughout!

    by appetoni, 9/26/12
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino Review

    DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL IF YOU ARE OVER 25.

    I stayed at the Planet Hollywood Hotel on April 18-21. It was the most miserable hotel experience that I have ever had.

    Firstly, when I took the bus from the airport, the busses are instructed to drop guests off at a certain location. It was a long walk from that point to the hotel reception (on an underground street), and there was no one to assist with bags. I was traveling alone with a suitcase, a carry on, a computer bag and a infant car seat (meeting my family later), and I had to manage all this by myself. The hotel itself has double doors at the entrance, and they are neither revolving nor automated. And there is no doorman to open the door for you.

    I had to stand in line for 45 minutes before I could check in to my room. I got a room with a view of the swimming pool (the alternative view is of back walls of the hotel). The view was very nice as I could see parts of the Vegas strip. The noise coming from the pool was so loud (loud music) that an afternoon nap was out of the question (and I was on the 18th floor!). You can not escape the blaring music. It's in the lobby while you're waiting to check in. It's even in the elevators. And while I think of it, if you don't want your kids to see the scantily clad women on the elevator doors, either blindfold them, or don't bring them to this hotel.

    As a parent of young children, I try to get to bed at a reasonably early time. On my first night, at 2am, I was woken by loud noises coming from the adjoining room. Eventually I banged on their door, and told them to keep it down. The next morning, I called the front desk and told them about the incident. I told them that I wanted to move to another room, but all they could offer me was a room with no view, so I told them that I would stay where I was. I asked them to talk to the guests next door, and ask them to keep it down, but they were not willing to do that.

    On my 3rd night, I was again woken by loud noises coming from next door at 1:35am. I called my neighbors on the hotel phone, and told them that they were creating a disturbance and needed to keep it down. They told me that "this is Vegas, and we can do what we want". I called hotel security, and asked them to deal with it. Half an hour later, I was again woken by loud noises, and so again I called security who told me that they were busy moving the guests to another room. At 3am, I was woken by the phone in my room. There was no-one on phone. 15 minutes later same thing. I called the hotel manager, and told him about it. He said that he would put a block on my phone. At 4am, I was woken by loud banging on my door. No one there. Again, I called the manager, and asked him to review the security tapes (he told me that there were cameras on the floors). 15 minutes later, some hotel employee knocked on my door to say that there were in fact no cameras on the floors, and asked if there was a problem. At 5am, I was again woken by banging on my door, and there was no one there. I never did get back to sleep, and got about 90 minutes sleep total that night.

    I had very strong words with the manager in the morning, and told him that I felt that the hotel had not done enough to halt this nightmare (these guests should have been removed from the premises or the hotel should have placed someone outside my door). I told him that the hotel needed to comp me a room for a future stay (not that I would actually want to stay at this hotel again). He told me that my inconvenience didn't warrant further compensation, and offered me a free breakfast..

    The pools at this hotel are average.

    My recommendation if you're visiting Vegas and are not in your teens, pay the extra money and stay at the Bellagio.

    by markgoldberg, 5/5/10
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Planet Hollywood a money sucking nickle and diming disapointment from the start.

    ...........................AVOID PH LIKE THE PLAUGUE !!!

    I just got back from a business trip to Las Vegas and had a great time other than my disappointing, costly, nickled and dimed stay at the "newly renovated" (They must have missed my room) Planet Hollywood in Las Vegas. I pre booked a deluxe room then called several days ahead and upgraded to a "resort" room for and extra $80 a night. I won't go into the check in fiasco but I arrived at about 10:30 (which I told them when booking) and finally got into my room about 3:30 despite 11 being checkout time and 3:00 check IN time. In FIVE HOURS they couldn't get anybody to do that room. Despite what they charge they WILL NOT go out of their way for you.

    Ok. Planet whoreywood. Whoreywood because everything is overpriced and extra. They leave 2 bottles of water in your room. They don't tell you that for over $200.00 a night the it's just there for looks. If you drink it $5 per bottle shows up on your bill. The room was supposed to be remodeled but was VERY unimpressive, stark, ill appointed and not quite like what I had envisioned after seeing pictures of the Resort rooms online.

    We stayed for 4 nights. They didn't change our sheets, they made the bed. There is no refrigerator, coffee maker or even a CLOSET that you get at any decent bargain hotel where you get all of the above plus a free breakfast at most for $50-$75 a night. There was ONE folding suitcase rack. If you had 2 suitcases you had to use the end table or the vanity in the bathroom. The wall paper reminded me of a circus tent with butterscotch and tan vertical strips about a foot wide. Like all casinos the $$$$ goes into the glitz everyone sees when they are down in the casino losing money. I didn't gamble much but I've been in Vegas before and witnessed or been a part of exciting gaming. Even if you lost you had fun. Planet Whoreywood was dead. Plenty of gamblers just no winning. The dealers were incompetent and didn't keep things alive, on pace or even upbeat. While you are gambling, if you gamble at a rate they deem profitable, drinks are free. Try to get one if you aren't at a bar playing video poker. The waitresses might as well not have existed. I guess with the overpriced rooms, nickle and diming their customers and not having very good payouts, they couldn't afford to have more waitresses that live mostly off of tips.

    I asked for an adjustment to my room and they said they "couldn't". I mentioned the litany of problems and they said they could take the $12.95 a day internet access fee off. I used the internet twice but left my laptop hooked up so they naturally charged me for the time it was hooked up and not actual use.

    I HATED PLANET HOLLYWOOD. The clientele that Planet Hollywood draws was another disappointment. I can't explain exactly why but the PH crown was more obnoxious yet was having less fun that the crowds at several other casinos and hotels we visited while going to a show or out to eat.

    Stay anywhere but PH and while you are there DO NOT MISS CIRQUE DU SOLEIL "O" at the Bellagio!!! It was fabulously surreal and absolutely mesmerizing!! I would actually consider flying cross county back to Vegas JUST to take my family to "O"!! It was INCREDIBLE!!! Planet Hollywood. It was incredible in an entirely different way. :^(

    No wonder celebrities don't actually stay there.

    by horizonod, 2/9/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Very happy with almost everything

    We saw some negative reviews, however, our stay was great. We requested an upgrade and received a beautiful view of the Fountains of Bellagio and the Paris Eiffel Tower. The very kind staff did everything we requested and more. Perhaps the transition from Aladdin to Planet Hollywood was difficult, but we had a perfect time. Pool was beautiful. Room was immaculate. Staff was kind and generous. We have stayed many places all over the world, and considering Vegas is so crowded and faux, we enjoyed the Planet Hollywood. We didn't try the food, so I can't grade the restaurants. We loved the location. Hopefully, if we return, we'll have the same experience.

    by mwhite, 5/26/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Planet Hollywood New Hotel Design

    I stayed at Planet Hollywood last week and I really like what they did with the new design. Much better than the old tired genie design. Destination360 got an exclusive first look and opportunity to photograph the new room look, casino, and restaurants if you want to head over and take a look. If your staying at PH ask for a strip room with a view of teh bellagio fountains its fantastic.

    by gbltravlr, 4/17/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Disappointing vacation

    We stayed at the Aladdin April 9-11, 2007. I would NOT recommend this to anyone. The customer service was horrible. The staff was rude and they all had different answers to everything, including why the pool was closed. We booked this trip months ago and were never told of the pool being closed (and none of the other angry hotel guests knew about it either. I can't even imagine how many complaints were taken in while we were there. The line to speak to a manager was endless, and once you did reach the front, conveniently, there was no manager available. We were offered many free meals and room upgrades, but all we wanted was a pool. We are from Wisconsin, where there was a snowstorm going on. This was our only chance to see sun and feel warmth. There was no room at the Wynn's pool because so many of the Aladdin guests were there, so that wasn't even an option. The pool finally did open at 2:30 the first day (over 4 hours late). The second day, the very same thing happened. Finally it opened at 2:00. This entire vacation was one disappointment after another. We spent money on plane tickets, a room, meals and a babysitter for our 3 kids. That alone cost us more than $200. I am still reeling from this experience. I only hope it gets better once it becomes Planet Hollywood, although it couldn't get any worse I'm sure.

    by courtneysue, 4/13/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Would stay again.......

    My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Aladdin. I was there before Planet Hollywood took over and loved it then.......and still do. There are definitely changes in the process and I'm sure it will be more glamorous when completed but we didn't have any trouble and enjoyed our stay. I've read some posts on this site that complained about the rooms. This was my second stay in the last couple of years. Both times, I've asked if there was any chance of an upgrade to a fountain view room; acted friendly and nice with the "check in person" and got a free upgrade. Both times, I gave them a $10 or $20 tip because they didn't have to accomodate me but chose to. The first time, we were upgraded to a suite on the 51st floor with no extra charge. This time, our room was on the 23rd floor overlooking the Bellagio fountains and the Eiffel Tower at Paris. What a view! Sometimes, all you have to do is be friendly and patient and pray you get in line with the right person, and they'll do their best to help you.
    I agree that the casino is difficult to navigate. It took us the first couple of days to figure out which direction to go in to get outside. All roads lead to the casino in Vegas. There is so much to see........take your walking shoes.....don't expect to make a million.....and have a safe trip!

    by jil, 1/3/07

Add your own review

Advertisement

Travel Deals in Las Vegas

View all travel deals
* Some taxes, fees additional

View more trip reports

View more travel discussions

· News & Features

View more blog stories