Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Las Vegas Hotels

New York New York Resort & Casino

  • 3790 Las Vegas Blvd. S Map It
  • Design

Pros

  • Authentic New York experience
  • Art deco lobby
  • Casino floor center bar

Cons

  • Layout is somewhat confusing
  • Cramped sports book
  • Mediocre pool

Updated 05/28/2014

Fodor's Review

Vegas takes on Manhattan in this fantasy version of Gotham City. The mini-Manhattan skyline is one of our favorite parts of the Strip—there are third-size to half-size re-creations of all the biggies: the Empire State Building, the Statue of Liberty, and the Chrysler and CBS buildings, as well as the New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, and the Brooklyn Bridge. Rooms in this sprawling compound are quite a bit larger than the typically tiny hotel rooms in

the real Gotham. Beyond all the legroom, they're not particularly fancy, but the hotel has made some improvements in recent years. Also, the trek from the front desk to some of the towers can feel longer than the New York City Marathon, and the Manhattan Express roller coaster that loops around the hotel can be intrusively loud if your room is near the tracks. Several grades of room are available, and as you pay more, you get plush amenities such as separate sitting areas with sofas, marble bathroom counters, and separate glass showers.

HIGHLIGHTS

The Roller Coaster: Also known as the "Manhattan Express," this attraction darts between the "buildings" of the hotel's skyline and is hands down the best ride on the Strip.

Big Apple flavor: Walk through an art deco lobby, play virtual-reality games at an arcade reminiscent of Coney Island, chow down at a surprisingly good food court patterned after Greenwich Village. While you explore, keep your eye out for details such as names on mailboxes and brownstone apartment façades with air-conditioners in the windows.

Chocolate heaven : Hershey's Chocolate World, a two-story wonderland of all things chocolate, has the goods to satisfy the strongest sweet tooths. The store opened in the spring of 2014.

Big Games : Though the property's sports book is tiny, the Sporting House Bar & Grill next door offers a spacious, pubby atmosphere with plenty of TVs.

Amenities

At the Spa at New York New York, therapists perform a variety of treatments, including Swedish and deep-tissue massages, hydrotherapy, and facials.

The Salon is a great place for haircuts and mani-pedis.

Though the pool always draws a crowd, it pales in comparison to some of the other pools on the Strip—unless you splurge $40 or more extra for a VIP package that might include guaranteed seating, two raft rentals, an assortment of non-alcoholic beverages, and a snack basket.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

3790 Las Vegas Blvd. S, Las Vegas, Nevada, 89109, United States

Map It

Phone:

702-740–6969; 800-689–1797

Hotel Details:

  • 1,920 rooms, 104 suites
  • No meals

Updated 05/28/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 21, 2009

worst hotel ever will regret staying here

Hi I just thought everyone should know never to stay at this hotel. It was the worst service I have ever experienced. We booked 3 rooms total. The first thing that happened was the quote that we booked this hotel at was wrong and it took forever to figure out so the first hour of our trip was spent at the front desk. When we finally got the keys the room that one of us went to was in the basement! All the windows were blacked out and it felt like

a prison. So we went back up to trade rooms they gave us another room but when we got there it was dirty! So we went back down and they said that they would clean it but that it would take 2 hours. So we waited 2 hours and when we went back up it was still dirty! They did upgrade the room but we basically wasted a good amount of time dealing with this. The second thing that happened was in our room. We had gone to bed late but were awakened at 8am by drilling and hammering above our room. We tried to sleep through it but it was ridiculous so I called the front desk to ask them to stop because we were sleeping she told us she would take care of it. It stops and then starts again after 5 minutes. They didn't even give us a call to let us know what was happening! Long story short we got compensated one day and moved rooms. This would've been good but when we went down to pay for the rooms they charged us more for the rooms then they quoted like $30 more per day per room. Also one of the rooms would not lock and we passed many people whose key did not work for their rooms and had to go down to front desk to ask to be let in. Horrible staff not friendly and not into helping.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 5, 2008

Good hotel

My wife didn't like this place. Not sure why. Guess it was just ordinary. I thought it was very good. We did book the best room that isn't a suite. I was a little disappointed because it was so ordinary.... not even a seperate shower in the bathroom. Was more like an entry level room. If you are looking to get wowed... maybe this isn't your place. Else, nice place to stay. Pub downstairs is great as is the food court for fast trecks. I would

stay here again.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 3, 2007

Just Your Average Vegas Hotel Room

If you're looking for something in between, not too Ritzy (like the Ritz), but not too economical (like the Super 8), then this hotel does it. It's right on the strip and is walking distance from almost anything worth seeing in Vegas. I was placed on the 31st floor and all night got to (or had to if you're not into it) watch the helicopters fly by. In the most basic room, we had a King bed with an in room safe, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and

ironing board, etc. Make sure to leave bread crumbs on the floor on the way in to find your way out again!

Read More

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 31, 2004

NYNY is a fun place.

We just returned from our second visit to this hotel and really enjoyed it. We have stayed at virtually every major property on the strip, including this past summer at the Mirage and the NYNY room was almost identical to the Mirage in every way. This is a very good property and an excellent value. The Nine Fine Irishman is an outstanding pub with great food and entertainment. Only extraordinary service to report, not one bad encounter. This

was a happening place on Friday now, wow...

Read More

By Shelley

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 14, 2004

Great hotel for 30somethings

Got a great package deal for 3 30something gals through Southwest. Room was very clean, newer looking, not huge or packed with ameneties but good basics for a great price. Lots of restaurant options at a wide variety of prices, good location. Staff was just average: initially gave us the wrong instructions about how to get to our room, not terrifically friendly. Avoid if you're looking for "posh" (go to Bellagio/Venetian/Mandalay Bay and be prepared

to pay), but good option for most.

Read More

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 4, 2004

Best Hotel in Vegas that I have stayed in!

The New York Hotel has a very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are very nice and clean, and the food there is great, but not cheap, but most restaurants in Vegas are not very cheap! The Broadway deluxe rooms are very large, clean and beautiful! The casino's players club is great! I would definitely stay there every time I visit Las Vegas!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 1, 2004

An OK place to stay, but like all Vegas theme-hotels, overpriced.

I am glad we got a deal on NY, NY because, like everything in Vegas, it is so overpriced! It is a great theme hotel and I was happy we stayed there, given that it has some good restaurants and it is so huge - coffee shops everywhere and such, but the amenities are zero. The room wasn't as small as I had feared - it was actually very reasonable in terms of size, but it was nothing special. Our view was horrible - we looked out on to the roof. Never

had any problems with the roller coaster and the room was clean and maid service was prompt, which was surprising, given what a big hotel it was. Avoid the spa/gym area. The gym is tiny with crappy equipment and the spa leaves a lot to be desired - I had the worst massage of my life (not horrible, it's just that the massages I've had in the past have been so great and this one was on the low-mediocre end). Plus, you have to pay money to use the fitness area. Not worth it! The location is great. Avoid Coyote Ugly - boring and nothing like the movie. Nine Fine Irishmen serves up a good lunch, but, surprisingly, we had an even better one at ESPN Zone (you would never believe how good their salads are). Avoid the Krispy Kreme doughnut stand - everyone in the group I was with had one and everyone thought they were mediocre. The clientele is families and older people. The ventilation is awesome and so is the theme itself. We wandered around this hotel for hours and still didn't see everything!

Read More

By Chad

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 27, 2003

Warning-Front desk will lie to you!!!!!

Will tell you no rms available in non-smoking in order to fill the smoking rms.Even though had reservation still said sorry no rms left in non-smoking. Will tell you you are getting a "preferential" rm in smoking when in fact it is EXACTLY like all the other regular rms. When asked to change rms 5mins after arriving in the smoking rm the next clerk said they did in fact have non-smoking rms available. WATCH OUT!Called hotel comment line..no response

from anyone...obviously they could care less that the front desk is lying to the public.

Read More

By Susanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 9, 2003

Good time at NY NY

I had booked a room before reading the comments made by others. So upon arrival I was really expecting far less than what I got. I did book a skyline room because it was the cheapest, and after reading the comments quickly thought that the roller coater might be an issue, but surprisingly it wasn't. We could hear it, but the noise from our room at least was not objectionable, and it did close down by 11:30 so sleeping for us was not an issue. We

were able to check in early and our room was clean and nice. We didn't find the common areas overly crowded, maybe because it was midweek and maybe the time of year. Over all our experience was very positive.

Read More

By Roland

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 10, 2003

Sidewalks of New York City Not as Crowded!

At check-in our guaranteed request for a room with two beds was not available. After refusing to accept a roll-away bed we were upgraded to a "Players Room"..Room was very comfortable and quiet due to the fact that we were not too near the roller coaster.(Insist on a room away from the coaster as it is noisey.) Maid service was spotty. Empty beer bottles & three drinking glasses filled with cigarette butts greeted us upon arrival at our room. Requested

maid service one day @ 4PM ,finally arrived at 7PM after a second phone call. In-Room Dining was always timely and the food was tasty. Biggest complaint was the atmosphere in the public areas. Very crowded with hordes of children and teens. Overall, not an unpleasant experience but will stay elsewhere next time in Vegas and leave this Hotel to the Families and younger set.

Read More

By Sarah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 4, 2003

It should be called "Slums of New York"

I loved the atmosphere as you come throught the doors, but that is about it. There were no rooms at the rate we paid availible when we checked in(reg view, king bed, non-smoking), so we paid about 40$ extra for a strip view, smoking, dbl queen room just to get in- but hey, we are flexible people. When we saw I room, I wanted to cry- the view was of the strip was overtaken by the rollercoaster, The lighting was terrible, it seemed like nothing was

working, and the room itself was DEFINATELY one of the tackiest rooms I've staid in. I paid 60$ less for Treasure Island, which had a beatiful strip view at no extra cost, and was 10 times more impressed.

Read More

By Gary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 6, 2002

Service with an (upside down) smile!

Got in the night before and wouldn't let us check in at the next days rate of $130, but were willing to knock off a whopping $20 off the $199 stardard rate. Then told us that the system was down for an hour and we couldn't check in until it was up, but if we wanted we could check into the MGM across the street for $179. WHAT VALUE! This fine service was all handed out at 1:30 in the morning mind you. Ended up staying at Excalibur that night and

would've stayed there the next two days if we hadn't prepaid for the New York, New York "experience". No one could seem to find our line of credit on file. We saw several managers on the premises, but couldn't seem to aproach one of them when we needed them. Seems to me they were afraid to talk to paying patrons and preferred to communicate through their army of peons then personally field their customers inquiries. How many people are you going to have to piss off before you realize you can't do business like this?

Read More

By C

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 1, 2002

Great atmosphere

Our room was nice and had windows that pratically encirlcled the room. The only problem we had was the horrible wind noise. We finally put towels along the windows which helped. We could hear the coaster but it wasn't a problem. The cafe restaurants looked very appealing. Stay away from the terrible breakfast buffet in Nathan's....the pits. It appeared to be a not too well thought out..maybe afterthought buffet...housed in a very small area.

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 1, 2002

All Theme, All the Time

If your idea of staying in Las Vegas is strickly for the theme, this is probably one of the best. Every little detail was thought of. The room was just above average and very poorly lit, it's good for sleeping which about all you need it for. The hotel itself is a bit confusing and hard to get around. We got good service and our non-smoking room immediately.

By Lesley

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 7, 2002

nice but

We stayed at the nyny with 2 friends of ours they had to wait til 10pm to get into there room as they wonted non smoking we said we didnt care and we got into our room right away, 14th floor and a great view of the 3 corners overlooking the statue of liberty our friends got a room in a differant building and eye leval with the coaster, the noise kept them awake all night and we stayed there for 7 nights,the casino was very nice but try to get a drink

you had to go to the bar and get it your self would I stay there again no not for that kind of money

Read More

By Howie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 18, 2001

NYNY - 2 great towns in one location

NY-NY was a great experience. Restaurants were good, atmosphere in casino was the best of the many we visited. Great location for visiting other hotels. Would highly recommend.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 16, 2001

A good hotel but let's not kid ourselves, it's not New York

This is a very nice hotel is a very tacky town. The rooms are very nice, the sound of the roller coaster doesn't enter the rooms so don't worry like I did when I saw it circling the building. There are good restaurants (much better than I expected.) The staff is very competent. I enjoyed the place but let's be real, as a native New Yorker I can assure you the real thing is a whole lot more interesting and fun!!

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 12, 2001

Fun! Fun! Fun!

We loved NY, NY!! Our room was spacious and quiet. The casino and eating areas are just phenomenol. You have to see it to believe it!

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 5, 2001

More neon lights than Times Square

Thoroughly enjoyed our first night in the USA at the NY NY. The rooms were fine, and after all, how long do you spend in your room in Las Vegas. The atmosphere of Las Vegas combined with the architecture of NY was a great mix. Compared to prices of other casinos, more than satisfied.

By Doug

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 7, 2000

Authentic Hustle & Bustle

Operators have done a great job of recreating essence of New York. The lobby, casino and common areas are busy, noisy and full of excitement. The pool is small but who goes to New York for a tan ? The restaurants were good and the bars were fun. Loved the experience

By Beverly

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 21, 2000

If You can Make it Here, You'll Make it Anywhere

Check in went smoothly, got a room right away. Room was sort of art deco style but nice. Really enjoyed the piano bar but best of all the slots were loose. I hit the "big one". Well at least enough to pay for our trip and a couple more. The common areas are very nice. Ladies please take a look in the restrooms, very nice. Ate at a few of the restaurants and found the food to be very tasty.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement