Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Las Vegas Restaurants

Emeril's New Orleans Fish House

  • 3799 Las Vegas Blvd. S Map It

Updated 05/28/2014

Fodor's Review

Chef Emeril Lagasse's first restaurant in Las Vegas has been joined by three others, but it's still a popular choice and still puts the spotlight on the chef's creole-inspired cuisine, such as barbecued shrimp, Louisiana-style étouffée, or oysters on the half shell with cucumber champagne mignonette. Sides like jalapeno cornbread, bacon mac 'n' cheese, and jambalaya are hearty accompaniment for Black Angus rib eye with warm remoulade sauce or crispy-skinned brick chicken.

The central bar is great for a glass of white with hoisin-glazed duck wings or a beer with shrimp po'boy at lunch. Be sure to summon one of Emeril's bottled hot sauces for extra kick. Finish with a slice of banana cream pie.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

MGM Grand Hotel & Casino, 3799 Las Vegas Blvd. S, Las Vegas, Nevada, 87109, United States

Map It

Phone:

702-891–7374

Website: www.mgmgrand.com

Updated 05/28/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all restaurants in Las Vegas

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 12, 2013

happy hour @emeril's

We went on a weekday afternoon during the early part of happy hour. We were immediately seated at the bar and ordered drinks and deserts. It took a long time to get our drinks, and the bartender looked a little overwhelmed trying to help everyone and answer the phones. They brought my wife the wrong dessert twice. I had the banana cream pie, which was pretty amazing. Wife was really happy with the bread pudding. The bartender gave me my drink

for free because of the mixups. I would go back, but maybe not during an understaffed happy hour

Read More

By Holzman

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 23, 2012

Overrated

Service was incredibly indifferent and slow. Slopped water into the glasses, 15-20 minutes between check ups on us, entire meal was over 2 hours for salad, entree and dessert. I had the trout, there was so much goup on it I could not tast the trout. Others had similar experience. Not going back.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 14, 2009

Yuck!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Salty, real salty food. Did I say salty? YUCK. Order a crab cake. YUCK and 40% filling! Waiter floated around, but could get him to focus on our meal. My wife's fish wasn't cooked fully and was cold to the pallet. YUCK! Don't go. Did I say DON'T GO! Oh yes, DON'T GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 17, 2007

Truly Delicious!

I've been to Wolfgang Puck's various restaurants, and not been too impressed, so didn't expect much from Emeril. Boy, was I wrong!!! Everything here was just so darn tasty! My Texas Redfish encrusted in pecan topping was the best fish I've ever tasted, DH's filet mignon topped with a crab sauce was unbelievable, and the signature banana cream pie was just delicious. Even the after dinner coffee was extra tasty ... a dinner to remember ... next

time I go to Vegas, this'll be one of the first places I return to.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 19, 2007

A Spectacular Dinner for a Special Occasion

We had the pleasure of dining at Emeril's for my father's 60th birthday party. We were delighted by the waitstaff, as they were attentive and very knowledgeable about the appetizers and entrees. We were dazzled by the skill and thoughtfulness each dish was prepared with. The seafood gumbo was highly seasoned, incredibly fresh, and absolutely delicious. My seared scallops with shrimp in chimichurri sauce bursted with flavor and the proteins were cooked

perfectly. We look forward to many return visits.

Read More

By Brad

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 12, 2006

Wouldn't eat here again with someone elses money

Oysters had gone bad and they wanted to replace them with more of the same? Waiters sttod around and yacked while the food got cold and then they were huffy because we sent it back. Sald greens were antiques. Plus was HORRID!

By Emily

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 17, 2005

Wow...wow...wow

What an experience! Emeril's was absolutely fabulous. From the moment we sat down the meal was amazing- from the hostess and bartender to the team of servers, we received a great welcome. The menu impressed immediately, and we chose the tasting menu, on the advice of our server Mark. Great decision! We had six lovely courses, that lasted for nearly two hours. The portions are very large for a tasting. My husband barely finished each plate (and

felt very full) and I ate about half of each of my dishes (thought not for lack of trying). We did not do the wine tasting, becausem we prefer red wine and the list leaned towards white, but we had a lovely Pinot Noir that complimented perfectly. Each serving timed out perfectly, we never waited too long, nor did we feel rushed. Mark explained each meal beforehand, which we both appreciated. They also let my husband substitute the banana pie for the pecan pie, which was a lovely difference. Even thought the tables are close together it's very easy to hear each other and have a private evening. Emeril's was easily the best meal experience we've ever had. Go there. If you can't get reservations ahead of time, go to the hostess desk- we did, and they fit us in.

Read More

By Angela

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2005

Best Seafood and Wine Selection!

My husband and I ate here in NOvember 2004. Our meal was one of the best we have ever had. I had the monkfish which I highly recommend if you like lobster (that is what it tastes like). Also their wines are great. We got a half bottle of white and it went well with the meal. I highly recommend. Oh and the service was great and attentive. Friendly as well.

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 29, 2004

Emeril's in Vegas: 5 stars all the way

I was in Las Vegas last week for a conference, and am pleased to report back about a superb dining experience at Emeril's New Orleans Fish House. First, let me say that I dine out frequently, in cities across the country, and I am known for caring a great deal about exceptional food and service. Emeril's in Las Vegas did not disappoint in either regard. In 40 years, I have never returned for two consecutive nights in a row, but I enjoyed Emeril's

so much, I did just that. The first night I started with the crab cake appetizer - these were the best crab cakes I have ever had (even better than Tom Douglass' "Etta's" in Seattle where I live, which I didn't think was possible to surpass). I continued with the Creole Spicy Boiled Maine Lobster, which was fabulous (not better than sex, as someone else here wrote, but I guess that's all relative!) The second night I went for the tasting meal, which changes each day. I was very happy with everything about that exceptional meal. The service was perfect all the way. Mostly, I would like to praise the General Manager, Edward Tuohy. Mr. Tuohy was quite gracious, and his New Orleans hospitality made a difference between a dinner -- and a truly memorable superb dining experience. Emeril: I am sure you already know it, but you have a gem with Mr. Tuohy. I give my highest recommendation to Emeril's New Orleans Fish House in Las Vegas. In Seattle, David E

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 6, 2004

Lobster almost better than sex

I was in Vegas with a friend and we went to Emeril's New Orleans Fish House for lunch right after getting into town. I love to make things from Emeril's cookbooks, so this was something I was looking forward to. I was not disappointed. The creole boiled lobster is so good you'll need to smoke a cigarette afterwards! I have never had better seafood anywhere, and I have been to many restaurants in Vegas, New York, and San Fran. The lobster was huge,

and the meat was tender and sweet. I will probably never order lobster anywhere else, for fear of being disappointed. The bananna cream pie is amazing! Prices much less than most fancy restaurants.I noticed some reviewers complain about "slow" service...people go to nice restaurants to relax and enjoy good company, it's common for dinner to take 3 hours. If you're in a hurry or inpatient, go to the buffet or McDonalds, which is where people who complain about "Slow" service at a place like Emeril's belong anyway.

Read More

By Meg

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 29, 2003

Very nice restaurant

There were three of us in our party and we were treated very nicely. My sister and I ordered the fish of the day (amber jack) and my husband ordered the half chicken. We didn't wait long for our meals to be prepared, the timing was quite perfect actually. The food was excellent. The sauce on the fish was delicious! The half chicken was tender and tasty as well. The atmosphere was nice, but if you're looking for a quiet restaurant go somewhere

else. This never bothers us but some people may not like it. Sad to say we were too full to get dessert, maybe next time... :)

Read More

By Doug

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 19, 2003

Excellent but $$$$$

Went all out and had the wine pairing at $115 per person. Food was well prepare and present very nice. The wine stuard explained each wine and was informative. If you looking to spend $350 for a couple its well worth it! Don't be surprized by the menu on display outside the menu is alot large inside.

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 26, 2003

I hate it when that happens.

We were only in Vegas for three days. We didn't make reservations ahead of time. It was a busy weekend, so the first night and we couldn't get in. The second day we went at 4:30PM and I sweet talked host into seating us. My wife and I ordered the Filet of Beef Special and a bottle of Merlot. We had a waiter for out beverages a waiter for our meal and a wait supervisor attend to us. All were obviously committed to excellent service. The meals were

cooked to order and in the top three of my life’s meal experiences. For desert we shared Emeril’s Banana cream pie. Unbelievable! I’ve tried to duplicate it at home from a Food TV recipe but it just doesn’t compare. I plan to eat here again on our next visit.

Read More

By Laura

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 9, 2003

Oh Yeah Babe

We absolutely loved this dinner! Went on a Friday evening between Christmas and New Years. Everything was outstanding, from the food to the service. I didn't want to stop eating because each thing was better than the last -- crab cakes, cedar plank steak, panfried sole over crab and tomato risotto and, yes, the luscious banana cream pie. I can't stop talking about it. Service was also outstanding -- multiple servers per table and everyone extremely

pleasant. I would highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely go back.

Read More

By Kay

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 2, 2003

Christmas Travelers Anonymous

We found this location of Emeril's to be just excellent on Christmas night. We'd go back anytime we find ourselves in Vegas. Our only criticism is that most wines on the extensive list are over-priced, but you can find some good ones on the list for a reasonable fee. Service was outstanding.

By Frank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 25, 2002

A good eatin time

We went Emerils on a Friday at 6 pm. We had a reservation and were promptly seated. The room was a fun terra cotta but decorations were minimal (but hey I’m here for the food) Crab cake appetizer was good and had a bit of essence (oh yeah babe). I had a fillet of Sole over risotto. It was very hot obviously fresh from the pan. Flavor was OK though blander than I had hoped. Wife had a Lobster/Mango roll with greens and french fries. She liked

it loving the lobster rolls. Wife did not like the mixed drink (Hurricane) they promptly took it and removed it from the tab. Dessert was a shared brownie topped with ice cream, very good. Total was $96 including tip. Recommended.

Read More

By Lenore

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 8, 2002

What a Disappointment!

Emeril's definitely did NOT live up to his reputation or our expectations. We ordered two appetizers and the lobster bisque to start. The sushi appetizer was tasteless and the bisque had a "skin" on it from sitting too long before being served. It was also bland. The other appetizer (bbq shrimp) was quite good. My dining partners both seemed content with their selections, however neither raved about their dinners. I ordered the seared Tuna which

was under seasoned and just not a good piece of fish. I had a hard time cutting it! I complained so they took it off the check. The wait staff was unattentive and snobbish. The whole experience was so disappointing. Even after they took off my meal, the check was still $102 for the three of us. Only one person had a single glass of wine and nobody had dessert. When entrees cost $25 to $40 apiece, I assume it's going to be delicious and service will be just as impressive. This was not the case at all here.

Read More

By Charlie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 11, 2002

Great Food with a show!

Went for diner 2/5/2. Prompt exceptional service begining to end. Ben and Richard took great care. Food was exceptional, stuff cabbage, seared yellow fin, and coconut cake. Yes, the place was busy, but watching the staff at work was a Vegas show in its self.

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 23, 2002

Good but expensive

Thought we'd save some money and visit here for lunch instead of dinner. Three people in my party with a total cost (including a tip of 18%) was a little over $300.00. Each of us had a glass of wine, a super entree, a cofee and cordial, and a desert. Three years later, I still don't know if it was worth $300. I wonder what the bill would have been for dinner. I don't remember superior service (like I'd witnessed at Delmonico's two months ago), but

I do remember the red zinfidel, the free range chicken dish, and the creme brulee! I really love LV restaurants, but $100 for lunch, per person, is just too much!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 2, 2001

Best dinner we ate in Vegas!!!!!

I heard so many mixed reviews of this restaurant I was nervous about eating there. I am glad I did. The food was absolutely delicious!! I had the lobster and my husband had the 6 course chef's sampler, and all of our food was incredible. The atmosphere was really homey and elegant at the same time. I had heard the service was rushed and rude, but they couldn't have been nicer or more helpful to us. They made sure we always had something to drink,

and never rushed us (we were there for almost 2 hours)!!!! Although it was expensive (our bill came to $150.00 for 2 people) we felt it was quite worth it. Who knows when we will ever eat like that again!!!!

Read More

By chuck

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 15, 2001

Hey Emeril, pop getting too expensive??

The food was excellent, when we finally got it. Went during lunch time and still got slow AND unfriedly service. The only place in Vegas that charged us for a refill in pop!!!!

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 29, 2001

The only thing kicked up a notch was the service and the prices.

If the food only tasted as good as it looked or as the waitstaff made it sound, it would have been great.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 9, 2001

Not so impressed either

I've been here three times now and each time I keep hoping that I will be impressed but I have yet to be. I think the food is too expensive for what you get.

By Larry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 3, 2001

Better like Cajun, or you won't like this!!

I was in Las Vegas in March '01, and had made reservations to eat here per a friends recomendation. While the service and quality of the food are tops, if you don't like the taste of Cajun spices, this isn't the place for you. I had a tough time finding something to order, and so did my wife. We didn't hate our meals, but they were not our cup of tea. Don't waste your money, unless you like cajun!!!!

By Sara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 31, 2001

Fantastic Food and Service!

There were seven people in our party and the entire staff made us feel as if we were a private party. The service was impeccable and entertaining. The food was fantastic and we suggest trying the following; the shrimp, salmon, gumbo, mashed potatoes, any of the salads and of course the bananna cream pie. We liked it so much we went again the next night.

By Jean

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 12, 2001

Crab cakes the size of quarters

A few years ago my husband & I ate at Emerils,we raved about it. In january we went back with friends of ours,we were so embarassed. Quality of food was just terrible,crab cakes you could barely see,i would never go back.

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 11, 2001

Over-Rated!

Not impressed. Maybe I ordered the wrong thing (I do like to experiment, and love gourmet), but the combination of flavors/ingredients was 'forced' and not appealing. My husband does not like spicy, so he ordered a steak (pretty simple, right?), and it was mediocre only. The banana cream pie saved the day...otherwise would have left hungry! (Nice decor, good service)

By Carlos

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 28, 2000

BAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I travel all over the country and have never found any place that can compare. The food, drinks and service were outstanding. The sampler is more than enough food for one.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 21, 2000

Bam! No thanks

Went last September and was unimpressed. Expensive, ordinary food.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement