Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Las Vegas Hotels

MGM Grand Hotel & Casino

Pros

  • Something for everyone
  • Great concerts and fights
  • Fantastic restaurants

Cons

  • Easy to get lost
  • Schlep to parking

Updated 05/28/2014

Fodor's Review

A regal, bronze rendering of the roaring MGM lion mascot fronts the four emerald-green, fortress-like towers of the MGM Grand, one of the largest hotels in the world. The self-proclaimed "City of Entertainment" is loosely based on Oz, though it comes off as having a bit of an identity crisis because it tries just a little too hard to be something for everyone. Rooms in the five 30-story towers that comprise this property come in nine different varieties. Standard accommodations

are masculine and modern; all were updated in 2012. Further up the line, the various types of suites are more stylish and striking, and offer many fun perks. The best of the bunch include the 650-square-foot Bungalow suites, which are fitted with black-and-white Italian-marble bathrooms; the corner Premiere suites, which come with four-person dining areas and two TVs; and the two-story Terrace suites, which have 14-foot vaulted ceilings. At the very high end, the super-posh Skylofts at MGM Grand occupy the hotel's top two floors, and include airport transfers via Mercedes limos, separate check-in, butler service, Bang & Olufsen stereos, Sony HDTVs, and preferred seating at top restaurants and (the Cirque du Soleil show). There also are 29 villas located within the Mansion at MGM Grand, the resort's high-roller palace. Overall, few resorts in the world have a bigger pool and sunbathing area—a maze of pedestrian bridges, fountains, river courses, and waterfalls lends a tropical air to these popular grounds.

HIGHLIGHTS

Hakkasan: The complex is home to the local outpost of Hakkasan, an upscale restaurant and nightclub that has amassed a following in London and New York. The Vegas venue opened in the spring of 2013.

The "City of Entertainment:" MGM delivers on their self-proclamation with the impressive MGM Grand Garden Arena—which hosts big-name concerts and championship boxing matches, and "CSI: The Experience," an attraction based on the popular television show.

Family fun: Younger kids enjoy the Rainforest Cafe with its talking robot-animals; older kids love providing feedback on television pilots at CBS Television City.

Funny man : Brad Garrett, he of "Everybody Loves Raymond" fame, performs regularly at his eponymous comedy club, which opened in early 2012.

Amenities

MGM has one of the largest pools in the world. Dubbed the Grand Pool Complex, the area features five separate pools, three separate whirlpools, and a lazy river for meandering in giant inner tubes. There's even a waterfall, and a European-style (read: topless) sunbathing area called the "Wet Republic Ultra Pool."

Airport check-in from 9 am to 11 pm

The MGM Grand Spa & Health Club has a bevy of treatment rooms and a state-of-the-art fitness center.

Rooms in the hotel's "Stay Well" program include air purification systems, as well as vitamin-C showers and dawn simulator alarm clocks.

In-room "entertainment hubs" allow guests to connect to the Internet, project presentations on the flat-screen television, charge multiple Smartphones at a time and play MP3 players.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

3799 Las Vegas Blvd. S, Las Vegas, Nevada, 89109, USA

Map It

Phone:

702-891–1111; 877-880–0880

Website: www.mgmgrand.com

Hotel Details:

  • 4,293 rooms, 751 suites

Updated 05/28/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 9, 2012

Great place to stay for an event held at the MGM Grand Las Vegas

MGM Grand LAS VEGAS We stayed 3 nights at The MGM Grand Las Vegas to attend an event held at the MGM Grand. The MGM Grand Las Vegas, is a huge hotel casino located on the south end of the Vegas strip, close to the airport but, not so close to other features of the strip, especially those on the northern end. However, the Las Vegas Monorail originates, at the MGM Grand, making it easier to use the Monorail which covers stops starting at the MGM

Grand station at the south and ends at the Sahara Station at the north. The room size was adequate, the room was acceptably clean and comfortable but, nothing overly spectacular. There was a light bulb in the bathroom in need of replacement when we checked in and it was still like that when we checked out. A great feature was that the event we were in Vegas to see, was at the MGM Grand so, there was no commuting necessary. The MGM Grand’s pool, was very nice. MGM Grand has several great restaurants but Wolfgang Puck's Bar & Grill at MGM Grand, quickly became one of my favorites…the food was both simple and excellent and promptly served…great sandwiches and awesome pizza. The live Lion display area is quite unique and interesting and draws quite a crowd. A nice feature of the MGM Grand was a bank of free kiosks available that were exclusively for confirming your flight and printing boarding passes at no charge…a great free feature for visitors of the MGM but, not available for free at some other hotel casinos I’ve stayed at, such as Bally’s, Paris Las Vegas or The Flamingo. Our stay at The MGM Grand was adequate, the room was acceptably clean and comfortable, and the event we were there to see was conveniently located at the same complex. I would not hesitate to repeat a stay at The MGM Grand Las Vegas in the future, but, probably only if in Vegas for an event at The MGM Grand. However, if not staying at The MGM Grand for an event being held there, I’d be more likely to stay in the center strip area to have easier access to strip locations and features while walking and getting around.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 19, 2010

MGM Grand Hotel & Casino Review

I stayed here when I was younger and it was my family's second trip to Vegas. Favorite attraction was the theme park. I love the FX show staring David Casidy. The Rainforest I still love their breakfast whenever my family goes back. The only thing I didn't like is we had a red-eye flight back and we had to wait around the hotel to meet our transportation. We couldn't leave early due to our schedule

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 5, 2009

MGM Grand Hotel & Casino Review

Our check-in, around 11pm, took forever.This was the only real negative at the MGM but there was a large boxing match that weekend so it may or may not be that way for you. We stayed in the West Wing. The space had a fun, very modern ambiance. No bathtub, just a shower. It takes a long time to walk anywhere, but that's the nature of Vegas. Funds were tight this trip- McDonald's and the Chinese place in the food court offered cheap eats. If you've

never had fresh, hot Krispy Kreme donuts, they have them across the street inside Excalibur- just be aware that like everywhere on the strip "Across the street" is farther than it sounds. I had a spa credit which I almost didn't use.Even if you don't have one, you should go! The spa is a beautiful soothing atmosphere.

Read More

By el1980

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 25, 2007

Horrible

I received the worst service of my life. The front desk people were obnoxiously rude, and tried to make us leave two nights before we were supposed to; when the trip was already paid for! I will never stay here again.

By jetset1

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 23, 2007

First class treatment

I had checked in early at around 10 am. I had a very nice clerk who offered me a free upgrade to a celebrity spa suite. I had booked online and had a $90 rate, so this was a definite bonus. So nice to have the jacuzzi after lots of walking around the strip hotels. I was also given a dining credit and two free drinks in the West Wing bar. I loved the pool assortemnt and the mai tais are EXCELLENT! I enjoyed Emeril's and the upscale 'wichcraft

for light meals. I had a fabulous panini there. I was alone on this trip, and felt very safe as a solo female. Nice selection of slots and vp machines. I used the monorail and walked up the strip one morning for excercise. Go early to beat the heat. Enjoy!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 20, 2006

Overpriced but Underserved

We stayed 3 nights here in a "Spa Suite" for $450/night. View overlooking airport. The room was large, but stark. No amenities. Not even an extra towel or bottle of water. Certainly no robe, coffee pot, etc. Both sinks backed up on first morning. A few light bulbs were out. Just a large "economy-type" room. On last day, large wet spot on carpet from shower on other side of the wall. Casino is quite smokey, at all hours day and night, unlike

most other casinos. Crowds there were totally overwhelming. We spent our time in the other casinos and restaurants in central strip. This trip was not planned well in advance so it was one of the only hotels with rooms avail at end of October. Really good for college trips with friends, 4 to a room, lots of hoopla in the casino, etc. For those who would like a quality experience for the money, and can afford to spend this much per night, plus nice dinners and wine, I totally recommend hotels at central strip. We will be staying at the Wynn next time. Nothing Grand about the MGM Grand but the prices.

Read More

By Shane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 26, 2006

The Green Giant

A very pleasant stay. Rooms are clean and very tastefully appointed, and fairly large too. A Grand Tower King room has plenty of room for a nice stay. The hotel is huge, but most of the strip hotels are big now and MGM seems to have recognized better than others that because of its size certain things need to be done to accomodate said size. Elevators are segregated by floors for instance (1-12, 13-24, etc.) and the pool area is a huge almost

7 acres in size. The pool area is fabulous by the way. Huge, tropical themed paradise with thousands of lounge chairs and a lazy river that's probably a quarter mile long which is a nice touch. Staff was friendly and helpful. Dining is abundant. Located on the south end of the monorail which is highly recommended as the best way to travel the strip. The casino is HUGE but really rather bland. Nothing wrong with it (other than the obvious fact that it will take your paycheck pretty fast) it's just rather non-descript when compared to other casinos. Mandalay, Mirage, etc. have much better casino atmospheres. Good resort hotel though and certainly one I would return to.

Read More

By Allison

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 26, 2006

MGM - Best Value for Luxury on a Budget

I go to vegas at least once every year and have been going for the past 5 years. I have stayed at the MGM 3 times, TI and Imperial Palace. The MGM is by far the best hotel for luxury, a good party, an AWESOME pool, fantastic cuisine, and spa services on a relative budget. OK, Vegas isn't nearly is cheap as it was 5 years ago, but a person can do a lot on a smaller budget. The rooms are spacious enough to cram 4 women in one room and have enough

room to get ready for the clubs. They are nice enough - ask for a room by the elevators. It can be a long walk back to your room after a big night of partying. The pool is great, but yes, like all Vegas pools, you have to get out there at a decent time. Just designate an early riser to get outside and reserved chairs...or book a cabana. You will not find a nicer pool with more space to relax and enjoy your time in the sun. The restaurants are great...there is a lot of variety to choose from - both considering price and cuisine. Craftsteak is wonderful! The spa is fantastic, the best pedicure I've ever had. Very relaxing after walking the strip. The receptionist that I've worked with all 5 times I've been there is great - recommends great services. The hotel has always been accomodating. We just booked our 6th trip to Vegas and will be staying at the MGM again. The specialist I worked with got our group joining rooms and requested early check in time for us. I can't wait for Labor day weekend 06. Overall, for the price and what's included and you don't want to spend over $250 a night for a room, the MGM is definitely GRAND.

Read More

By cj

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 24, 2005

MGM - BEST of the 2nd tier hotels?

Just got back from my 1st stay at MGM Grand - and I have to say, that once you take the "first tier" hotels off the table (Wynn, Bellagio, Venetian, etc) - MGM might just be the best of the rest (Mandalay, Caesars, Paris, Mirage, etc)... and will probably ALWAYS be lower priced - making it an outstanding value.

By Kerri

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 17, 2005

A Grand Time at the MGM

My husband and I just got back from a wedding in Las Vegas and our first visit to MGM Grand. Between the wedding events and tons of sightseeing we really didn't get to spend a lot of time at MGM, but we were both very pleased with our stay. I would highly suggest checking in at the airport if you fly in. It was a breeze! We upgraded to have a room in the West Wing - located by the Rainforest Cafe and the Grand Buffet. The decor was ultra modern and

very retro...I loved our room! The only complaint I have about the room is anytime someone would slam their door our door would rattle very loudily. We never did have an opportunity to dine at any of the restaurants but I heard nothing but good things from other guests. We looked at the room service menu which seemed a little overpriced. We however did try out some of the bars. We tried the Centrifuge first but it was really loud and I thought the dancers were a little silly...not really our style. We walked over to Zuri and sat at one of the tables that overlooked the casino. We really enjoyed the atmosphere there. On the way back to our room we both laughed at the line for Studio 54...it was outrageous! We made it to the pool on our last full day there to try to relax a little. I was not that impressed. We were ordering at one of the bars outside and the bartender was too busy flirting with the woman in front us. We finally had to butt in with our orders. After making it to the pool it was really hard to see which lounge chairs were taken because of all the towels lying around. When we were ready for another drink it was impossible to get one of the waitresses walking around to get our order. Needless to say, we both agreed we should have gone to the spa. For what little time we spent at our own hotel we both thoroughly enjoyed it and would highly recommend the MGM Grand.

Read More

By Juan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 10, 2005

Great Vegas Experience

We had a chance to go to the MGM again recently (spent our honeymoon in the original in '79 before it burned down and became Bally's) and were pleasantly surprised. We have been to many Vegas hotels but, here when we were very disappointed with our assigned room they actually made a special effort to upgrade us to a much better glamour suite with great strip view. Needless to say, our ensuing experience was wonderful. Great casino ambiance and reasonable

table minimums($5 -yes, we are not big time gamblers), great room service food, and overall good atttention made it a great experience. The only negative was that we should have made Emeril's reservations at least a week in advance as they are always sold out! Just a sign of how good they are I guess...

Read More

By Wayne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 9, 2005

Great Time

We stayed at the MGM in May of 2005 for three nights and the service was great, all the staff were Friendly and helpful. I would recomend this hotel to anyone who wants to realy expierance Vegas. I know I am going back......

By Emily

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 18, 2005

A Room with a Lovely View...

My husband and I have stayed here three times and each time has been even more enjoyable. We've always been in the Grand Tower (we were on the 25th floor this last time) and the rooms are very similiar here, lots of monochromatic colors, but large and comfortable. This last time we had our best view so far of the Vegas skyline. Also, we arrived around five on a Saturday and the horrible lines, for once, were nonexistent. We checked in quickly

and easily. The beds are fine- not as great at as our bed at home, but really, where is? The only time we heard any hall noise was when in the bathroom. Room service takes a while- at least housekeeping does. We called for pillows and band-aids (don't ask) and both took at least thirty minutes. We've gambled mainly in the MGM casinos and usually (!) that's a good experience. Most of the dealers are friendly and cheerful, particurlarly if you're friendly and cheerful. In reality, you don't have to leave the MGM, as you have great gambling (why else are you in Vegas?), incredible dining (particularly Craftsteak and Emeril's), beautiful pools, and fantastic nightlife (if you're comfortable with nudity, see La Femme). We got a great rate, because of our Player's Club and will probably stay at the MGM again, every time, actually.

Read More

By Gordon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 15, 2005

A consistent winner

I've stayed here several times and this is a great place.

By an

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 15, 2005

Pay ahead means zero priority

I paid ahead through airline vacations and MGM treated me like I was just taking up space. I waited 3 hours in the hallway with my bags to get a room. They kept telling me there was someone cleaning the room when there wasn't. I had to go find the cleaning people myself and ask someone to clean the room so I could get in. Front desk didn't care. I was offered 1 free breakfast buffet for 3 hours of waiting in the hallways. They'll never get my money

again.

Read More

By Ryan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 6, 2004

Very Poor

This is the worst hotel ive stayed in in Vegas. The room was dirty loud and bed was uncomfortable.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 30, 2004

Best Value on the Strip

This hotel in my opinion offers the best value for your $$ on the strip, expecially if you want high quality food and customer service. The food (room service and the grand buffet for example) is simply superb. I had a thanksgiving dinner at the Grand Buffet that simply blew my mind. I had no clue it would be that delicious. The service is top notch. Standing in a line? Expect some one to walk over and ask you if they can help you. Ask an employee

a question? You will get a thorough answer with a smile. The lions on display in the casino are simply amazing...when they aren't batting a ball around like a big kitty, they sleep on glass flooring and you can walk right under them and look up at them. Also, they recently introduced 2 absolutely adorable lion cubs. I can't put in writng how adorable they are. They will melt your heart. The downsides are: The casino sticks with $10 limits even during the weekdays. For small time gamblers this may mean you have to go elsewhere to gamble which is a bummer. They close down tables and send the dealers home before they lower the limits. They should allow low limits during weekday evenings just to humor their low roller guests. They don't put their best price on the various web sites, or even on their main site. You have to click around and look for promotions. Other casinos make a point of always offering the lowest rate on the web. Finally, the rotuna area in the front that has continuous live music is currently under construction and totally boarded off. That was a very nice feature of the hotel -- it will be nice when the stage comes back.

Read More

By Adam

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 11, 2004

You'll Have A Grand Old Time

Just got back from a wonderful stay at the MGM Grand. Yes, this is a very large hotel, but not much different than any of the other mega-resorts in Vegas, so it is definitely manageable. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Whenever we were walking down the halls, maids, engineers, or whoever we encountered would always say hello. Check-in was a disorganized mess though. We waited a half hour in line, even though we were only behind two

parties. Once at the desk though the clerk was very friendly and gave us a free upgrade to a Spa Suite at no charge when we requested it. He even offered to change us to one with a Strip view the next day if we wanted, but the airport and mountain view was just fine. The room was spacious and comfortable with lots of drawer space. Excellent maid service. The only negative was that the internet connection was not working properly and someone had to come in and fix it. There was some minor construction happening on our check-out morning that started at 7am that woke us up. We had not been warned about it in advance. We tried a few of the dining options. Breakfast buffet was excellent and a great value. Studio Cafe was fine. Stage Deli was lousy. This was not the same Stage Deli as in NYC so don't bother with it. We only had room service for continental breakfast but it was fine. Casino was big with lots of things to choose from. We like slots and there were many different machines. Slots were tight though as we found throughout Vegas, but we still had fun. Definitely join The Players Club when you arrive. We did and wound up getting all our dining charges waived, a free buffet, and $15 cash back. We were so busy that we ran out of time for the pool or the spa, but maybe next time as we definitely would stay here again and would highly recommend it.

Read More

By Liz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 25, 2004

If you want a HUGE casino hotel, stay here

That was my only complaint. There was so much walking, that we had to rent our 5 year old a stroller. Forget something in your room? Yikes, you don't want to have to go back from the pool, easily a 10 minute ordeal. The people in the casino and restaruants VERY NICE. clean, cheery casino, STARBUCKS!! Overall we had a good time.

By CeeCee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 28, 2004

We love it

We love the MGM; have stayed there probably 10 times in the past several years. Variety, great pool, good eats (although we heard they got rid of the taco bar on the Studio Walk, which is terrible!!), decent rooms if you stay in the Grand Tower.

By SZ

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 29, 2004

Grand time!

Expected little from a hotel this large -- was most pleasantly surprised by the outstanding service from every one -- from the valets to check-in to housekeeping. Had a nicely appointed and spotlessly clean room on a higher floor in the Grand Tower with decent views of the airport and strip. The spa services were professional and excellent. Dining late after a concert at Fiamma, the food was good but not outstanding. The only other downside is

that quite a bit of the hotel seems to be under renovation, so one takes many long walks through uninteresting passages to get from say, the Grand Tower to the Spa.

Read More

By Rob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 1, 2003

Not worth the money

Well, I must admit up front I'm not a gambler. So, the hotel room, room service and non-gambling activities were very important to me. The rooms were clean and decent, the room service was a ripe-off $$$$$ just too much cost for very little substance, overall, I recommend you stay of Vegas or learn to enjoy gambling and expensive hotels!

By Nick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 13, 2003

Too Big - Too Bad

Stayed at the MGM because of its great pool area for the kids and this did not disappoint. The rooms are also very well appointed but our non-smoking room stunk of smoke and they could not change it. However the worst was the service which was absolutely terrible - unpleasant and unhelpful. Like all strip hotels, it is very large and be prepared for a very long walk to the strip from the room or even to the pool area. With the monorail not working

the position is also not great.

Read More

By Allie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 29, 2003

Big Hotel means Big Service

Stayed at the MGM Grand for 3 nights. For a huge hotel the service was very personal. Each staff member we dealt with was more than accomodating. The resturant selection was vast and for a formal meal I highly recommend Craftsteak. The bungalow king suite was large and very clean. The spa is huge. The spa staff is top notch and the facility provides all the amenities you would need, including work out wear.

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 21, 2003

Grand Style for not a Grand Price

Just got back after 5 days at the Grand with the kids (4,9) and what a great place. Stayed in the Emerald tower, which is attached to the Grand tower, and the rooms were perfect. No need to pay for a bigger room and access to Emerald was easier from the street. Ask the people at the front desk for the Lions package for 2 for 1 buffet coupons and others. Pool was great, especially the river. Buffet is among the best (I liked Aladdins better).

By pete

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 7, 2003

Better than expected

We didn't know what to expect since we usually don't stay at such a megahotel. But it was great from check in - big lines but also lots of staff. Unlike some of the other LV hotels, we didn't need to hawl our luggage through the casino. We just skirted it from the lobby to the elevator banks. Our room was wonderful, a mini suite with large bathroom and great showers. Housekeeping was top notch. The pool area was great. We got there about 9:00 am every

day to avoid the crowds and hot afternoon sun. The river pool was a lot of fun. Good restaurants, but expensive like a lot of LV. The dinner buffet was amazing with a tremendous selection.

Read More

By manuel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 21, 2003

excellent

the only word that I can say

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 9, 2003

Good hotel...

This place is HUGE, but I think all on the strip are. Decent location on the strip. Pools were nice, but not enough chairs. The ones that were available were broken, big disappointment there. Other than that a good place to stay. Lots of restaurant choices and the MGM lions are cool to see. Nothing spectacular here, but a good hotel for the price.

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 15, 2003

Great Deal

Rooms are clean and well decorated. Casino is huge. Lots of eating choices. Staff is helpful. I'd stay here again.

By joan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 14, 2003

Everything you need!!!

I have stayed here three times, have been amazed by the level of service for a hotel with 5,000 rooms!! Great selection of restaurants. Pool area is wonderful, several pools divided by palm-lined walkways. Lazy river is wonderful! Definitely upgrade to a Grand Tower room--I have gotten free upgrades in the past, but there is usually not a big price difference. Many complain of this hotel's size, given the amount of walking I do while in Vegas,

this is inconsequential. One nice thing, when you exit the hotel you are ON the strip, not set back two blocks!!

Read More

By Terri

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 30, 2003

bad location

I stayed at the MGM Grand in October 2002. The rooms were nothing fancy, and the view was awful. Our room overlooked the hotel roof and those green lights were very annoying. We could not even see the strip, although we requested a room with a strip view. The hotel is sooo big it takes forever to get from your room to the street. It is very easy to get lost in the huge casino. I also felt the casino was much "smokier" than other casinos. The

MGM is not in a good location to see most of the sights in vegas. Next time I would stay in a center strip hotel.

Read More

By Scooter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 9, 2003

However Do They Run Such A Huge Hotel So Well?

Really loved my stay at the MGM. The rate came out to $47. per night for a 3 night stay. Room was a Deluxe King (approx. 450 sq ft) with marble bathroom. Looked like something out of 30's Hollywood. Only problem was the hike to get to it, but all Vegas hotels seem to be this way. Service was amazingly efficient for a 5,000 room hotel. Room check-in at the airport was a plus. Had my room key before I got to the hotel. Really liked the Grand

Buffet for breakfast. $9.99 price wasn't bad for what you got (face it, with a room rate so cheap I really didn't care how much breakfast was). The decor of the Grand Buffet is classy and the service was first rate. Best waiters I had during my stay. It was too chilly to utilize the pools but they looked fantastic, but again, it's a hike. Used the monorail to Bally's a lot as it was fast and convenient. Only disappointed that some evenings it shut down by 10 pm. Could definately see a return visit at these rates and could easily use it as an all-inclusive resort. The slots were tight, though, but I found this true in all of the strip hotels I visited

Read More

By C

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 8, 2002

Hotel staff is super friendly and doting, fantastic 4 star room service, good value for the price

We stayed in one of the jaccuzi suites. While not cheap it is a good deal compared to other casinos expecially when you consider the MGM's location and the quality of the hotel. The room service is incredible... 4 star dining served on linen by a waiter in a tuxedo. My girlfriend was really impressed by the pampering. The MGM is a classy casino. They really take care of their guests and bend over backwards to help make it right if there are any problems.

Maybe I was lucky but every staff member I met was absolutely top notch in terms of customer service. I was very very impressed.

Read More

By Katie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 2, 2002

MGM Great for kids!

This place had the most amazing pool complex. It was a bit crowded though. The service that great! Everyone was so nice. This place does have expensive restaurants. The rooms were VERY NICE. My family stayed in the grand tower.

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 29, 2002

Grand - But Not Enough

Stayed here in Sept. 2000 - The hotel was nice but the rooms seemed very small and almost dungeon-like, compared to other similarly priced hotels. Rooms seemed/were cold and seemed drab to me during the stay.

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 11, 2001

The biggest hotel in the world feels like it.

We were here for Thanksgiving and faced a 2 hour wait for the buffet (which we passed on); but it seems like you have to wait in line for everything here--check-in, show tickets, etc. It was even a 20 minute wait to get our car from valet parking! Yet, inexplicably, there is hardly any seating in the lobby. If this was designed to get people to go into the casino instead, it was a serious miscalculation. On the other hand, the rooms were nice,

the staff was pleasant and attentive, and the elevators were quick...but the hotel was just too big for our liking. Recommendations: 1) Get the coupon book, which you don't get unless you ask, and gives you bargains on almost everything in the hotel. 2) See EFX Alive. It is a bargain compared to other shows and yet highly enjoyable for ALL ages. Plus, you can use your coupon book for EFX tickets!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 23, 2001

Our MGM Grand Wedding

My husband and I were married at the MGM Grand on June 17, 2001. We have not one complaint about the chapel and the service we recieved. We loved the decor of the chapel and the lobby. Our officant performed the most beautiful ceremony I have ever heard. We couldn't have come up with better vows. My entire family was impressed with the service we recieved at the Forever Grand Wedding Chapel. The pictures came out great and video was cheesy but

so are we. :) After the ceremony (we chose the last one of the day) our coordinator let us stay in the lobby for over an hour to take pictures with our family. We never felt rushed. We stayed two nights in a Celebrity Spa Suite and everything was perfect. When ever I called for room service (which was great), I was told "Thank you Mrs. MyNewLastName." Which showed us that the chapel went the extra step to make our stay there special. When we went up to our room on our wedding night, we had a gift basket filled with two Forever Grand champange flutes, a bottle of MGM Grand champange, bath salts and bath oil from the spa. Our room was impeccable and the bathroom was huge! After our wedding, the MGM Grand became our new favorite place to stay.

Read More

By andy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 19, 2001

MGM IS GRAND WITH US

what a great time we had. the suite we had was great, we spent 5 nights and didnt spend that much money (not much into gambling) the pool was great for young or old and yes, the lazy river was just great. my only complaint was the wait for the valet, about 10-15 minutes each time

By Heidi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 16, 2001

I GIVE IT A "5"!!

I have stayed at the MGM 4 times in the last 2 years, and haven't been disappointed yet. In fact, my fiance and I love it so much that we're getting married at their chapel next spring! Although the property is massive and a lot of walking is involved, there is a lot of walking involved to go anywhere on the strip. That being said, most of the rooms have been remodeled and the decor is tasteful. No wild prints on the beds or floors to make you

dizzy. The pool area is our favorite. We love the lazy river and try to spring for a cabana if there's one available. They have a HUGE selection of restaurants of all price ranges. The Brown Derby is our favorite, but we're anxious to try the new one - Olio! Studio 54 goes off every night of the week. Last weekend there was a line out the front casino doors on Friday, Saturday AND Sunday nights. If you book your room early enough, you get a good rate. The higher their capacity, the higher your rate. All in all, this is by far our favorite hotel/casino on the strip for value,quality,variety and service.

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 2, 2001

Staff very nice

I have read negative comments, especially about the size of the hotel, but I did not find it a problem. I guess if you're a fat person or an old person, you might find it difficult to go back to your room if necessary. I didn't

By Sarah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 1, 2001

Rooms Great in Grand Tower

The Emerald tower is a bit....icky. Needs remodeling, I think. But I've stayed here many times in the Grand Tower with great comfort. The place is big, but you get used to it. One time, I complained because I was in the very LAST room in the hallway - not that I'm *that* lazy to walk - but I was staying alone and it didn't feel secure... The staff moved me to a junior suite the next day - complimentary. Great selection of restaurants. And how

can a girl go wrong with Tom Jones in the Hollywood Theatre 3 times a year? :)

Read More

By Rachel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 22, 2001

Complete Chaos

I would not stay at the MGM again. Our room was very nice and good value; however, everything else left much to be desired. The lobby/casino is totally chaotic--we spent a lot of time just wandering around, and forget trying to find a staff person to help you-they are non-existent. The pool was crowded and full of drunks. The theme park was closed. Food was way-overpriced for quality. I was at a meeting here and the conference center was nice

(and quiet) but I wouldn't come again. Also they charge $20 a day for using the exercise room.

Read More

By Sara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 31, 2001

Nice Place

Our room was very clean. The decor was subtle and well-done. The staff was nice and helpful. The only difficulty that we had was a 20 minute wait to check into our rooms. We would stay there again though. Its central location on the strip made walking easier.

By Tiffany

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 11, 2001

Location, Location, Location

The hotel is neat in itself. The rooms are small but clean, the food is okay except the salads. There is not enough employees there, takes them forever to attend to you. The location is wonderful though. I wpuld stay here again for the location.

By Matt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 31, 2000

Walt Disney 'esque

So large and sprawling but yet over-crowded!! Staff/guest ratio is terrible and you need to ask three employees min. to get anything done. They have kept the place up well though. If you like hustle and bustle though this would be your place (or New York, New York resort which is equally disorganized and crowded)

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 12, 2000

Great rooms, poor service

The rooms and casino as well as the facilities are wonderful. The service from the staff is sorely lacking. Do NOT take the transfer that they offer when you check in at the airport. It's more expensive than a cab and poor service. The staff (with the exception of Debbie the cocktail waitress), is not very friendly or helpful at all. I would recommend this place though. I've stayed here a couple of times and it really is much nicer than many

other places on the Strip. The value is very good as well.

Read More

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 18, 2000

very nice

stayed in a suite. the service was excellent, as was the food. alot to do for the whole family.

By Erin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2000

Best Part? The special price...$69/night!

This has to be my least favorite hotel in LV. Checking in is a madhouse...I didn't know if I was in a hotel or waiting my turn for a popular ride at an amusement park! They have you wandering around the velvet ropes until the next available agent can serve you. And when you're on a business trip and you just got off a 5 hour flight from the East Coast, the last thing you want is to play ring-around-the-rosie to check in! They gotta come up with

a better system than this...

Read More

By Maggie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 26, 2000

Business Nightmare

Might be a great place for sheer entertainment -- but don't dare for business trips. No second phone line for computers or emergency client calls plus a myriad of other nightmares. The only thing that saved the day was the courteous and helpful staff.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement