Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Las Vegas Sights

Fremont Street Experience

  • Fremont St. from Main to 4th Sts. Map It
  • Downtown
  • Pedestrian Mall

Updated 07/21/2014

Fodor's Review

If you're looking for something a little different, head to this ear-splitting, eye-popping show that takes place on the underside of a 1,450-foot arched canopy 90 feet overhead. The 12.5 million synchronized LED modules, 180 strobes, and eight robotic mirrors per block treat your eyes, while the 208 speakers combine for 550,000 watts of fun for your ears. The shows play five to seven times a night depending on the time of year and the six-minute presentations change regularly.

At street-level, "entertainment" includes everything from break-dancers to people in furry mascot costumes.

Read More

Sight Information

Address:

Fremont St. from Main to 4th Sts., Las Vegas, Nevada, 89101, United States

Map It

Sight Details:

  • Free
  • Daily

Updated 07/21/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Kay2

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 17, 2011

Fremont Street Experience Review

My memory of the Experience was better than going a second time. First, the time on the website was wrong, so we were an hour early. The neon on some of the old casinos and displays is interesting, but otherwise the street is rather bland with questionable people hanging around. People are ziplining overhead during the light show. The show lasted less than 10 minutes with the commercial. Not worth the cost of parking and waiting. Only go if

you are checking out the entire neighborhood and older casinos.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 19, 2008

OK, but there's more impressive on The Strip

For light shows and such in the Downtown area, this is pretty much it. Not bad, but doesn't compare to the most impressive of The Strip's outdoor showpieces. Pretty short in duration as well.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 11, 2006

Sha'Mook Mook

We loved The Fremont Experience. Looking forward to it again April 7-9th of this year 2006

By Art

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 5, 2005

Old Vegas and New Tech

I almost wish I could have experienced the 'original' Vegas strip without the light show but: 'Oh well'. There is certainly a different vibe here than at the Strip. Parked at the Golden Nugget garage, ate at Stefano's at the GN then out to Fremont Street so we missed the surrounding areas. Golden Nugget is clean and classy and barely hints at it's age. Taken for what it is, the Fremont Street Experience is worth a couple hours for the atmosphere

and the people. Jaded travelers who have experienced Disney World shows or Cirque De Soleil performances may be disappointed in the bands and the light show, though it is impressive.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 9, 2003

Cool lights in a scary neighborhood

I learned that you can get drunk on window cleaner by going to see the fremont street experience! First time in my life I saw someone drinking windex. I was with my husband and daughter and was not terribly comfortable walking from the car to the light show. Walked past an alley on the way there and a very scary looking guy came out of the alley warning us that there were "definitely cops in the alley" as if we might be on our way to meet his dealer

for our drug buy for the evening...weird, because we look pretty much like suburban tourists, not drug buyers! We had planned to get something to eat while there, but everything was so gross. We walked to the end of Fremont into the Plaza Hotel, and WOW what a dump. We were going to eat at the McDonalds in that hotel, but the place smelled bad and when the grungy looking cook came out of the mens room with the tongs in his back pocket of his pants we turned around and left. HOWEVER, the light show was worth the trip. Really amazing show set to music. There were several live bands playing before the show and they were very good. I think if we go back to Vegas, I would go back to do this again, but I would take a cab right to fremont street so that I did not have to park and walk in the surrounding area. The actual area of the light show had tons of people and felt very safe, but the surrounding area was scary.

Read More

By Cynthia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 18, 2003

A taste of old Las Vegas

This is old Las Vegas, with atmosphere galore. But with enough seediness thrown in to make it interesting. And once you've seen the gaudy neon casino lights after dark, you'll wonder who thought they needed the overhead light show too. The light shows on the hour are pretty bizarre - and so are the crowds wandering the streets. Definitely an adventure.

By nancy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 4, 2002

Dare to go Downtown!

Downtown is relaxed, informal, and often more fun than the Strip-especially for low rollers. The Fremont Street Experience is cute, but the old original casinos and neon are the coolest visual entertainment. All the casinos are just feet from each other and you can wander around freely in an atmosphere remeniscent of New Orleans' French Quarter. Women travelling alone will feel comfortable here.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Experience

Ease

Value

Don't Miss

Advertisement