Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

St. Louis Restaurants

House of India

  • 8501 Delmar Blvd. Map It
  • Indian

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

Indian art and tapestries adorn the walls in this tastefully (but minimally) decorated University City eatery, which serves dishes like chicken tikka masala, a boneless chicken breast cooked in a tomato cream sauce.

Restaurant Information

Address:

8501 Delmar Blvd., University City, Missouri, 63124, United States

Map It

Phone:

314-567–6850

Website: www.hoistl.com/

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 12/31/1969

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Liz5959

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 21, 2008

Excellent Indian food

Great food, good variety at the lunch buffet. Always busy, but never too long a wait.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 24, 2007

great experience every time

Those service complaints are hogwash and likely caused by a former employee starting his own rival place. House of India is incredibly friendly, the waitstaff and manager always solicitous even when it's jammed (which it is many winter evenings and lots of weekend nights). It's the sort of place they remember how you like everything on your second visit. It's fun and funny and the food is fresh and very good. The only middling marks I give it are

for the hotel-y decor, but that's ok, it's impeccably clean and pleasant. I've slowly worked through the menu and LOVE the kormas, the malai kofta and the lassis. Just delicious and good food. Highly recommended.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 18, 2007

Good Food...Just Not Downtown

We go here about once a month for lunch. Their lunch buffet is consistently good, and a bargain under $10. You should know that this restaurant is NOT in downtown St. Louis, rather in University City not too far from The Galleria or the Delmar Loop.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 10, 2006

Better than Ever

I have been a frequent diner for over 3 years and I agree with all the previous comments about the poor service. I asked the manager if they really were kid friendly (even though high chairs are provided) b/c of the looks I received from the waitstaff. Well, all that changed the other night when I was dining with my three children. The (new)manager even came over and talked to the children and asked their names. If you were prevously turned

off by House of India try them again, I noticed a few new faces among the waitstaff and none of the unpleasant ones. Maybe they read some of their reviews and did something to improve!

Read More

By Alan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 14, 2006

Always had excellent service

I was shocked to see comments of bad service. I have been eating at House of India since they opened. The lunch buffet can get rushed, but I have always had outstanding service. The food is great.

By Brad

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 27, 2006

Bad Service

I agree with the other comments. Great food... very, very poor service. When I asked for a coke, they reponded, "You'll drink water." Perhaps they didn't have cola, but there are better ways to tell me. My wife wasn't ready to go up to the buffet... the waiter asked if she was going to eat. She responded yes. The waiter asked her when she was going to eat... she responded "In just a minute." The waiter gave an odd look and grabbed her plate and fork

and walked off. Damn good food... horrible service. They just don't care.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement