Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

St. Louis Sights

City Museum

  • 701 N. 15th St. Map It
  • Downtown

Fodor's Review

This institution is unlike any museum you've been to before. You can crawl through fish-head trees, participate in a real circus, and escape from an enchanted castle via a slide and tunnel system.

Sight Information

Address:

701 N. 15th St., St. Louis, Missouri, 63103, United States

Map It

Phone:

314-231–2489

Sight Details:

  • $12
  • Sun. 11–5, Mon.–Thur. 9–5, Fri. 9 am–1 am, Sat. 10 am–1 am

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 18, 2008

Unusual, good for kids

Interesting idea for a museum -- this place houses architectural relics from now-demolished St. Louis buildings, putting them in a kid-friendly setting. This place is best for youngsters (lots of stuff for them to crawl through and climb onto), but the artifacts will help keep adults interested. Also has a small aquarium and a vintage theater organ.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 29, 2007

One of most incredible man-made experiences I've had.

I just returned from two visits in one day to the City Museum. I went there in the morning with my two boys ages 2 and 3. We were each so enthralled and excited by the experience, my husband insisted we go back with him in the evening. It's was an incredible, exciting, inspiring, and unexpected experience. I had asked a local for the "children's museum" and they sent me to the City Museum. I couldn't figure out why there were people lining up

outside to visit a children's museums. I'd been to 20 around the country and none had crowds like this! Now I know why and am giddy from the experience. It's freeing to know something like this exists.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 9, 2007

A must-see attraction like no other!!

This place is truly amazing--I have never seen anything like it. Slide down multi-story slides, venture through exquisite tunnels and caves, climb the outdoor above-ground exhibit they call "MonstroCity," see a circus show, watch a glass-blowing demo, make some of your own art in "Art City" to take home with you, and the list just goes on! You can easily spend a whole day here...and it's not just for kids either! I'm part of the 30+ club and I had

a blast!!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 8, 2007

My Fears Rested and My Soul Emboldened

When I first visited City Museum I was terrified of the high climbing areas, I was informed they are called "sky tunnels." Once I started though, I got over my fears as I realized just how safe and secure the apparatus was. I then charged forward to find that the structure was helping my terrible vertigo disappear! I have never had so much fun defying gravity in such a safe environment! Don't miss this place!

By Tina

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 21, 2006

An edgy jewel in an urban wasteland

We were a little wary upon pulling into the run-down neighborhood... but what a find. So incredibly different, like an city park designer on LSD was told to have fun and did. My 5-year-old son said he liked it almost as much as Disney World (seriously). I'd caution parents to be prepared to climb and crawl (often through tight and metallic-smelling spaces) along with their child... the nooks and crannies are part of the charm of this place, but I

worry about child exploitation. The crowd that started drifting in late (lots of unaccompanied, unkempt teens) also made us clutch our bags a bit closer. But we'd make the trip to St. Louis again just for this (and the Schlafly beer) in a heart-beat.

Read More

By Jack

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 11, 2005

One of a kind!

I don't know what to make of this other than it's cool for adults as much as it is for kids. I've never seen anything like this elsewhere in country. Check out the restaurant and bar while you are there.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 24, 2005

Fun even for adults

The school bus hanging off the top of the building is how we found this place. We loved crawling through all the tunnels and caves. The aquarium was really great too, it had touch pools and lots of different aquatic life to see. We enjoyed ourselves for hours and we didnt even have any kids with us.

By Jane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 27, 2005

This Do-seum is too much mind blowing fun!!

We had a group of family ranging in age from 6 mos. to 60 yrs. old. Everyone was reluctant to leave after four hours. We still talk about it! My 60 year old father climbed out onto the plane wing and went down the monster slide. We made hats and sculptures, even had time to watch a little James Bond. There is no other place like this on the planet.

By Gary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 16, 2004

City Museum is Kids Paradise

I wish I was a kid again to crawl all over this place. This is a lot more fun than any other children's museum I've ever seen. Put together by a local sculptor, this place is wild. Great caverns, giant whale, a circus everyday, train ride, outdoor climbing area -- airplane up high outside, artist workshops for kids, you name it -- the City Museum is fantatstic.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Experience

Ease

Value

Don't Miss

Advertisement