Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Kansas City Hotels

Intercontinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

A luxury hotel overlooking Country Club Plaza, this property has a marble and mahogany lobby and marble baths and crystal fixtures in the guest rooms. The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, the Kansas City Art Institute, and the Crown Center are just 10 minutes away.

$$

Hotel Information

Address:

401 Ward Pkwy., Kansas City, Missouri, 64112, USA

Map It

Phone:

816-756–1500; 800-241–3333; 816-756–1635

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 344 rooms, 22 suites

Updated 12/31/1969

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 21, 2012

There is just "something" about the bones of an older hotel. The floors are solid. The walls are thick and quiet. The doors are heavy and shut with finality. You can feel her story. This hotel rises up over the Kansas City Plaza, silently watching the comings and goings, and welcomes you back after your day. I stayed here for three days to attend a meeting with about 200 other people. Our room was on the 6th floor and overlooked the driveway. Room

626 was large, comfortable and right off the elevator. We loved our large King-Sized Bed. The room was quiet and with the curtains closed, was very dark. Sleeping on those soft pillows with the big comforter was a dream! The food at the meeting was very good, very fresh, and beautifully displayed. The wait staff was quiet and efficient. The ballroom dining area was large and beautiful. Frankly, in a large hotel, you use the elevator several times a day. The elevator at The Intercontinental was really large, heavy and felt safe! The Express Elevator even has a glass wall to see outside as you ascend to the top! But the hands down best thing about The Intercontinental is the Staff. They are Midwest Friendly with a dash of professionalism that was downright refreshing.

Read More

By Diana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 31, 2005

top notch in Kansas City

The Fairmont is the best place to stay in Kansas City. The hotel itself is elegant and well kept, and its proximity to The Plaza makes it a convenient place to stay, as well.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 27, 2004

The best in KC!!

This hotel is by far the best in the Kansas City area. I have stayed here many times and it is the place to be. The lobby is very cozy and the restaurant has wonderful views of the plaza.

By Gary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 17, 2003

Great hotel

Excellent choice in Kansas City. On the Country Club Plaza.

By Crystal

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 30, 2003

We always love it!

My husband and I stay at the Fairmont KC Country Club Plaza several times a year, and we have never had a bad experience. The staff is courteous and attentive, the rooms and view are beautiful, and the pina coladas are to die for! It's a little expensive, but worth it.

By Rich

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 2, 2002

Suite not so sweet

Reserved a suite for a special occassion and it couldn't have been more unpleasant. Front desk staff was curt and concierge was slow and unhelpfull. Worst part was the room. The suite was nice but they put us on a low floor where it seemed we were in the middle of the parking lot. Tons of traffic noise and the idling shuttle bus shook the room. Not worth the $350 we paid.

By Srini

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 18, 2001

Wake up

A sleepy place. These guys are not in the league they claim to be. The restaurant experience was a disaster. I requested the manager to make my dish vegetarian. However, it came loaded with sea food, something I realized after a spoonful in my mouth. I informed our server who shrugged my complaint and grudgingly replaced it with a vegetarian version. I travel all the time and if this happened at the Ritz or Four Seasons, I am sure it would have been

handled differently. The Fairmont needs to pay attention to detail to achieve the coveted status of a world class hotel. I hope they are awake and listening.

Read More

By Ray

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 8, 2001

First Class Customer Service

For those who want to experience what customer service should be visit the Fairmont (formerly the Ritz-Carlton). The service is prompt, the customer is always right and this customer has not had this level of customer service in a hotel in 20 years. The rooms are warm, inviting, comfortable and tastefully furnished. The parking is free which tends to be unique in major hotels. The morning starts with a free quality cup of coffee and breakfast

is reasonably priced without being "nicked" $4 for each item on the plate. The location is convient to good quality shopping on the Plaza.

Read More

By Carol

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 11, 2001

Fairmont Takes Over

The former Ritz Carlton is now owned by Fairmont Group. No major changes apparent in the first few months except to the parking garage. The Ritz was in need of some major room refurbishing...had become run down in some rooms. Rooms overlooking the Plaza are much more desirable than others (overlooking the parking and driveway areas). Very nice public areas, good service, outstanding location...best in KC.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement