The historic one-room schoolhouse, in use from the late 1800s through 1963, underwent a massive renovation—led by former students—after its closure, earning it a place on the National Register of Historic Places. Operated by the Washington County Historical Society, tours showcase a typical schoolday for children in the Stillwater area, many of whom were Swedish immigrants. Also on the site is the Erickson Log Home, constructed in 1868 by immigrant Johannes Erickson
and his 13-year-old son. After the historical society purchased the home in 1974 it was moved to its current location.