Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Nantucket Restaurants

Black-Eyed Susan's

Updated 05/13/2013

Fodor's Review

From a passing glance, you'd never peg this seemingly humble storefront as one of Nantucket's chic eateries—but as the invariable lines attest, it is. The luncheonette setup is offset by improbably fancy glass chandeliers, and hard-core foodies lay claim to the stools to observe chef Jeff Worster's often pyromaniacal "open kitchen." (A note to the heat-averse: it can get toasty inside—you might want to request a patio table.) The dinner menu, which changes every few

weeks, ventures boldly around the world. Breakfast (served until 1 pm) includes such eye-openers as pancakes fortified with Jarlsberg cheese.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

10 India St., Nantucket Town, Massachusetts, 02554, USA

Map It

Phone:

508-325–0308

Restaurant Details:

  • Closed Dec.–Mar. No dinner Sun. No lunch

Updated 05/13/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Nantucket

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Amie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 8, 2006

Unforgettable

Black Eyed Susans is awesome! We went there our first morning right off the ferry and it was everything we heard it would be! Quaint and cozy with only about 10 tables and the counter but the food is the best breakfast I have ever had!! The service was fast considering how busy it was, everyone was friendly and my coffee cup was never empty! A must try next time you are on the Island!!

By Bret

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 3, 2005

Your tastebuds will hate you for leaving!

3 trips to the island and 3 superb dining experiences at Black Eyed Susan's. The small but comfortable space allows you to enjoy the sights and sounds of gourmet tastes and preparation. Everything is perfect.

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 7, 2005

A must...but know the drill ahead of time

Our family of 5 enjoyed a wonderful meal on the patio (despite a drizzle). The staff was outstanding and was very accomodating to special dietary restrictions. The food was fabulous! Had dinner reservation at 6, but seatings through 9:30 were booked from the people in line at 6 within 15 minutes.

By Dylan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 29, 2004

Best meal in memory!

I was solo one night during my stay and had read about the counter- I tried my luck and found that they could seat me immediately. I didn't know how lucky I was. Watching the chefs at work was like watching the Resturant Olympics- and within 5 minutes I wanted to try everything I saw cooking. The service was very attentive, every dish was well presented and DELICIOUS! I am not a member of the clean-your-plate club but I didn't leave one morsel.

I made it back with a date for breakfast at lunchtime and was impressed again. The eggs and sausage were worth the trip back, and I wouldn't think twice about going a third time. Make the time to try this place!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 25, 2004

Know before you go......

Eating at here is and adventure before you even sit down! Tips from locals told us to either call ahead and make dinner reservations for 6:00 pm (they only take them for this seating) or arrive PROMPTLY at 5:25 to put your name on the list for a later seating. This advice was absolutley true becuase the line started by 5:25. We were able to get a later reservation, and by the size of the line waiting to get in, I figured we would not be disappointed.

Once inside for dinner, on a humid night, the restaurant heats up quickly. We were quite warm with no air-conditioning. However, the food and service kept our mind off the heat.Our food was delicious and fresh and the sourdough bread amazing! You can't go wrong here.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 13, 2002

Solid punch will knock you out!

I stumbled on Black Eyed Susan's and the food there was excellent. Casual friendly atmosphere, very small, open kitchen. Make sure to make a reservation; if you don't, you might have to wait outside in line for a while, since the place is very small. but, it is well worth it. A bit on the expensive side, and does not take credit cards, so bring cash. but if you love great food that is prepared with imagination and skill, you are in for a real treat.

By Liz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 20, 2001

Worth the wait!

Every dish we tried at dinner was delicious. Our favorite was the linguine with clam sauce. It may sound mundane, but this preparation is the best we've had--full of fresh clams (or quahogs), local tomatoes, and basil--outstanding! The menu changes every few weeks, but the linguine is a mainstay. Reservations are only taken for the 6pm seating--otherwise, get to the restaurant by 6, wait in line, and make your reservation in person with Susan

herself. A real gem...

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement