Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Martha's Vineyard Restaurants

Alchemy Bistro and Bar

Updated 12/23/2013

Fodor's Review

According to the menu, the definition of alchemy is "a magic power having as its asserted aim the discovery of a panacea and the preparation of the elixir of longevity"—lofty goals for a French-style bistro. This high-class version has elegant gray wainscoting, classic paper-covered white tablecloths, old wooden floors, and an opening cut into the ceiling to reveal the second-floor tables. The only things missing are the patina of age and experience—and French

working folks' prices—but you can expect quality and imagination. The alcohol list, long and complete, includes cognacs, grappas, and beers. On balmy evenings, the half-dozen outdoor tables on the candlelit brick patio are highly coveted.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

71 Main St., Edgartown, Massachusetts, 02539, United States

Map It

Phone:

508-627–9999

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch
  • Reservations essential

Updated 12/23/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Martha's Vineyard

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By JOBrien

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 26, 2012

Alchemy Bistro and Bar Review

While we are repeat customers at this beach community restaurant and have enjoyed pleasent (but not exceptional) meals (particularly given the general price range).The restaurant proports to be a French dining experience - yet the management lacks all the civility of such a culture and establishment. While leaving the restaurant this evening I attempted to make two additional reservations set within the next month. While doing so I was chastised (by

the manager/owner) for being 5 minutes late and then further reprimanded for not confirming this evenings reservation. My very valid point was that in a summer community, when people are frequently entertaining, or beachside it seems ludicrous to ask a person (who is a repeat patron - and who is actually physically at the establishment making a point to book in advance to play such time wasting games). The manager was unwilling to listen to my point and actually said to me that I could keep talking,but that she wasn't listening. Though the food was nice her rude and obnoxious behavior left a bitter after taste.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2010

Alchemy Bistro and Bar Review

A well traveled restaurant patron, I visited their restaurant and ordered 3 entrees except for my well mannered 9 year old son who had allergies. We asked if we could feed him his glueten free meal and they rudely asked us to leave. They treated us like peasants and believe me we are anything but. I explained that it was high season and 8:30 PM and they said it was not their problem and to leave. I have traveled all of the world with my family and

never had I seen such rude and arrogant staff. I also spoke with several locals and they said there are better options for dinner and they never go there since it is basically a tourist trap. I normally do not write negative reviews but this was unexcuseable.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 16, 2006

Job well done

The food was top notch, the service was great and that cute little manager was soooo delightful. I cant wait to get back to the Vineyard, Alchemy will be my first stop.

By Lew

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 6, 2006

always a pleasure...

I was simply delighted by the service and wonderful atmosphere of this gem of a restaurant. Alchemy is filled with a fun loving staff that are clearly happy to be there. The food is excellent and I didn't feel like I broke a window when I left. Top notch! Especially the handsome young bartender that made us the best mojito ever!

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 14, 2006

An Excellent Start to the Summer!

We have been there twice...and hope to go back again on our Memorial Day weekend trip to Martha's Vineyard. I hoping that we can sit outside again at Alchemy and soak up the sunlight with the amazing food and a mojito! One of my favorite restaurants on the East Coast! YUM!

By Betsy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 28, 2005

Always excellent

Every time I'm on the island, I go to Alchemy. Their food is as good as fine restaurants in big cities. The atmosphere is casual yet sophisticated; the wait staff give you as much or as little attention as you want. It's no wonder you see movie stars there all summer long.

By leslie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 30, 2004

Worth the Expense

If you are in town for a great cocktail, neat atmosphere that is not too trendy or pretentious but is upscale and friendly with delectible food. . this is the place for you! It is expensive, I cannot lie. When we saw the prices, we thought. . .it better be worth it! And, it was. Their menu has recently changed after the addition of a new chef and it was absolutely amazing. We started with a salad - can't remember the name of it but it had tiny

fennel strings that were flash fried and added flavors to the salad that awakened our tastebuds. He had the pork and said it was fantastic. I don't eat pork and opted for the Atlantic Char in a brown butter sauce with toasted hazelnuts. . it was one of the best meals I have ever had! We live in Connecticut and eat out a lot. I am originally from Texas and both of us travel. The food was excellent. The waitress was very nice and they seated us after 9pm, which, for the Vineyard (in off season) is hard to find. Go to this restaurant!

Read More

By stefan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 18, 2003

Disappointing

Suprisingly poor food considering the crowds and the recommendations by by the inns. The food was lacking in both quality and overall presentation; the prrices were high....you can do MUCH better

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement