Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Martha's Vineyard Restaurants

Beetlebung Coffee House

Updated 04/24/2013

Fodor's Review

This cozy coffeehouse is within easy walking distance of the ferry terminal and downtown shops and restaurants. A hip crowd convenes here for the great sandwiches (try the Taos panini, with flame-roasted New Mexico green chilies, turkey, and cheddar), designer-coffee drinks, and delicious desserts. There's an attractive side patio that's perfect on a warm afternoon. A Fodors.com reader calls it "a good local hangout to relax for an hour or two with a book or a laptop."

Restaurant Information

Address:

32 Beach St., Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts, 02568, United States

Map It

Phone:

508-696–7122

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 04/24/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Martha's Vineyard

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 1, 2008

Excellent food, best value!

Coffee, breakfast sandwich, lunch panini's are all exceptional. There isn't another spot on the island that can compare with the quality of the food and the delightful welcoming ambience not to mention the reasonable prices.

By rwestw

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 28, 2008

Coffee Oasis

If you like good coffee this is the place. When we travel we're always looking for the good independent coffee shop for my morning fix, and Beetlebung fits the bill. It's a great place of for a double cap and an hour with the paper. Great music too. The big surprise was the food. It's not fast food, so don't think you'll be in and out in five minutes, but it's worth a little time. Who knew you could get green chile on the Vinyard! Great find.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 26, 2008

Authentic Vineyard Experience

The Beetlebung Coffee house, along with the Dry Goods Store on Main Street are an authentic island experience. The atmosphere is great, service is prompt and friendly, the food is unique and delicious, and the prices are just right. The coffee is, without a doubt, the best on the island. Their island clothing designs are one-of-a-kind, truly the next Black Dog or better. Definitely a must-visit when you are on-island. No vacation is complete without

at least one Rorschach Lobster tee and a Bungaccino.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 18, 2008

Bungtastic!

I used to go here all the time when I lived in Vineyard Haven to max on their free wireless! Definitely a good local hangout to relax for an hour or two with a book or a laptop. The food is good and cheap (by vineyard standards!). Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Grab a tee shirt too if you're feeling consumerish. Overall worth a stop if you need a cuppa joe and a battery charge.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 15, 2008

Skip It

The few times I have been to Beetlebung Coffee House, the service has been so poor, so slow, just all around inadequate. One time when I was there, there was a man, who I later found out to be the owner, yelling at a girl who was working there. He was right in here face. Another time I saw the same man, an owner, mind you, doing the same thing to a young gentleman who worked there. That said, the coffee was absolutely putrid, and the egg sandwiches,

which are advertised as poached, are nothing more than steamed, sometimes cold, patties that slightly resemble eggs. Not something you would care to wait 15 to 20 minutes for. Their smoothies are just Odwalla juice and ice and a piece of banana. I'll just have a regular Odwalla for hald the price, thanks. So overall, I would give Beetlebung a 0 out of 5 if I could. I will just stick to 1's for the meantime. Again, I am just appalled at how cold and angry the owner was. I understand that owners sometimes need to reprimand workers, but to do it in front of customers, and then to expect them to just go back to work like nothing is wrong in front of those same customers is just wrong. It's embarrassing and uncalled for. So for that reason alone, I wouldn't go back. But even for lack of that reason, the food and drink was just terrible. Save yourself the trouble, walk up the street to Mocha Motts.

Read More

By sidget

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 2, 2008

Best Coffee Ever

The coffee at the Beetlebung Coffee House is so wonderful, I could go on and on. When I am on the Vineyard, I go to Beetlebung every morning to start my day with a smile. They are not speedy, though - so leave your "rush" at home. Whenever I am there, I wish that I could be a novelist and just sit outside, sipping my latte and writing. It's also a bit pricey - but who cares? It's worth it. Also - very very cute hats and tees adorned w/ a peace

symbol.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement