Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Cape Cod Restaurants

Brewster Fish House

Updated 05/13/2013

Fodor's Review

There is nothing ordinary about the menu here: the sweet perfection of just-off-the-boat scallops is enhanced by oyster mushrooms, pancetta, and a chive béarnaise. Look for other favorites like pan-seared Long Island duck. For lunch, the fried oyster po'boy sandwich is a real treat. It can be noisy and it's always crowded in summer, but it's worth the wait. The wine list includes a flavorful selection of by-the-glass offerings. Note: The lack of booster seats and high

chairs signals that this is not the place to bring small children.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

2208 Rte. 6A, Brewster, Massachusetts, 02631, USA

Map It

Phone:

508-896–7867

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Reservations not accepted

Updated 05/13/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Cape Cod

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Rogdesh

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 11, 2012

Brewster Fish House Review

Good food, but not much else. No changes allowed to anything on menu , arrogant staff, rushed meal. Simple request to take home a desert after our $100+ meal , refused. Considered takeout. No Amex Cards accepted. Not a fun place. Used to be much more enjoyable , things have changed a lot.

By Cidno

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 3, 2010

Brewster Fish House Review

I stumbled upon this little gem while working on the Cape off and on, decided to try it because the parking lot was always full. What a treat! This restaurant is EXACTLY what I love - funky surroundings, delicious food (serious foodies in the kitchen), great service, fair prices, and NO CHILDREN. I never, ever miss the chance to eat here!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 21, 2009

Long wait...for what?

This place has a very limited menu but prices that don't come close to matching the value of what you get. The selection of food is reasonable but not very diverse and the quality and portions are limited. The personnel seem like they are doing you a favor to seat you and, on at least 2 occasions, I have had the feeling that they were rushing me out. A word of caution...if you are in a party of more than 4 you can expect excessivly long waits for

a table that will seat you all since they mainly have tables that seat only 4. We have stopped wasting our time and money going there.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 14, 2009

Wonderful seafood, very good service

The food here is really excellent. You can't go wrong with anything. I had a trio of crab appetizer that was so wonderful. The other reviewer was just angry--it is tight for kids, better for adults and older kids. I've been many times and always treated very well.

By JennieM

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 27, 2008

Rude Service

This review should point out that children are NOT welcome at this restaurant. When my family and I walked through the door this past Saturday night, the woman who was hostessing snottily said, "We don't DO high chairs here." My well-behaved year-old daughter was better dressed than most of the patrons in the restaurant, but we clearly were not welcome. I'm very conscious about bringing a child to a restaurant -- I'm mindful of other guests --

but this was early in the evening (5:30 p.m.), and the Fish House is certainly not a five star restaurant. Not to mention that at the restaurant we ended up going to, the gentleman at the table next to ours complimented my daughter on her good behavior (after he told us he was a retired pediatrician). I really think the Brewster Fish House needs to keep up with the times -- people with kids are in abundance, and they're willing to spend money on a meal. I won't be coming here again -- with children or without.

Read More

By Maureen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 31, 2002

Worth the Wait

Reservations are not excepted, so get there early (when the doors open). You can always linger at bar. If you love fresh fish without a lot of sauces and heavy creams, this is a place for you. Quaint but bubbly atmosphere. I spend most of my summers at Cape Cod and this is one of my favorite places - whether it's for a girls night out for dinner or to dine with my husband. He love meat and I love fish, so this is the perfect place!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement