Cape Cod

Advertisement

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Review

    Contact Information

  • Location:

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  •  
    Value  
    Décor  
    Service  

    An oasis

    This was my 10th visit to Provincetown. I've stayed at B&B's, motels, a studio and an apartment... but this year my stay at the Fairbanks Inn was outstanding. I can't say enough nice things about this place or the owners. Kathleen and Alicia are warm, down-to-earth people who clearly care about their beautifully restored & maintained inn and the guests that stay in it. Our room (the Penthouse) was perfect... cozy, private, wonderfully decorated, immaculate and it felt as if we were the first people to ever stay in the room. Everything was terrific from continental breakfast & fresh coffee on the beautifully decorated sun porch and/or outdoor patio surrounded by towering trees & colorful gardens to the comfortably furnished sun deck to the warmth and hospitality of the innkeepers to the prompt and attentive cleaning crew. The Fairbanks Inn is conveniently located just steps away from all the shops and nightlife Commercial Street and a bicycle ride to Herring Cove beach... yet tucked away on quiet Bradford Street for a peaceful and romantic stay.

    by jdessel, 6/21/07
  • Décor  
    Value  
     
    Service  

    Innkeeper called my wife "Illiterate"

    One of the proprietors was incredibly rude to my wife, and then said "I'm sick of these illiterate guests!" under her breath to the other proprietor after my wife couldn't find the coffee container in the guest kitchen. I stay in about 50-75 Inns a year as a business traveler, and this was one of the rudest things I've ever experienced. (The funny thing is, although my wife speaks with an Italian accent, she speaks 5 languages and is finishing her PhD in the Romance Languages department at Harvard.) Also, the headboard of our bed was against the same wall of the guest kitchen and the lobby's big sliding door, so we were awakened repeatedly starting at 7:30 AM every morning. Although the breakfasts were good and the garden was very nice, we would never stay here again.

    by gfarina55, 9/26/07
  • Value  
    Décor  
    Service  
     

    Warm,Receptive, Correctly Priced

    This was our first visit to Provincetown, and after having done our homework online to find a place to stay, we decided to book The Fairbanks Inn. The homework effort certainly paid off; we were very pleased and satisfied with our choice. Before booking a lodging anywhere these days, many of us read online reviews. The number of yellow smiles and stars do matter and they are a draw to read the reviews of previously satisfied customers and the few discontents who passionately air an episode of momentary grief  no matter which establishment they are critiquing. After perusing a half dozen travel review websites and measuring the percentage of Fairbanks Inn satisfied customers against those of other lodgings on and around Bradford Street, The Fairbanks won. Based on the inns website with online reservation-making ability, the visual tour of the rooms and property, comparing room cost to similar inns, we booked online and received e-mail confirmation that day. While driving home after a pleasant stay in a clean, warmly receptive, and well-managed inn, I remarked to my traveling partner that after circling our globe for the past 40 years, I recalled an irate innkeeper outside Christchurch, New Zealand, because we showed up past supper time, and a few other frowning hotel people incidents around the world in various lodgings from one $ to $$$$. Life happens. What made us realize why The Fairbanks Inn caught our attention based on so many 4 and 5 star/smiley face reviews, is the sincere caring attitude shared by the innkeepers. It matters to them that responsible guests are treated responsibly. There are two reasons for so many good reviews about The Fairbanks Inn: They are Alicia Mickenberg and Kathleen Fitzgerald, the owners. Our homework paid off, and the inn passed the 5 star test. Our next trip to Provincetown will be easy, because we have their phone number and website. Many thanks for a very pleasant stay. We will be back!

    by Corunum, 10/4/07
  • Service  
     
    Décor  
    Value  

    Wonderful, Warm Provincetown Inn

    I've just returned from a week in Provincetown with my partner. We stayed seven nights at the Fairbanks Inn and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Kathy and Alicia are gracious, warm hosts. They've cared well for the historic property and grounds. They welcomed us heartily and oriented us well to the inn and to Provincetown restaurants and happenings. We stayed in the Fairbanks Suite, which was spacious and felt like a very pleasant home away from home during our week's stay. Extended continental breakfast includes warm, freshly baked muffins every morning, along with a great array of options: hard-boiled eggs, bagels and English muffins, oatmeal and cereal, and yogurt. Coffee, tea, and Alicia's home-made cookies are available in the bright sunroom all day. We enjoyed meeting fellow travellers, had a wonderful time at the Fairbanks, and hope to return soon.

    by gsiesing, 10/14/07
  •  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Exquiste Escape, Exceptional Service

    We have just returned from our fourth stay at the Fairbanks Inn. We were there for three nights in a lovely room that was loaded with atmosphere (fireplace, jacuzzie, big four poster) and all the comforts that we would ever need. When we travel to Provincetown, we are looking to get away from the pace and stress of our daily work lives. All we have to do is walk in the garden door and it's gone. The ambiance is relaxing and warm. Kathy and Alicia have maintained the original feel of this beautiful antique house and grounds, yet have subtly added all the comforts of home. We have always found the Inn to be quiet and relaxing, yet it is very convenient to Commercial St, excellent restaurants, galleries, etc. Parking is probably the best of any of the Inns close to town. Kathy and Alicia take much care to provide a lovely continental breakfast and special touches like cookies in the afternoon (homemade!) and other kindnesses. The Fairbanks Inn has become our "home" in P-Town. We highly recommend it.

    by eladorn, 1/6/08
  •  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Owner's attitude is really bad

    I never got too far with making a reservation. The owner, Alicia is rude on the phone . She told me not to stay with them after I complained about a "computer problem" they were having. Searching through other websites that give reviews, it appears that it gets 4-5 stars, then a blip with a 1 star... after encountering one of the owners. Too bad, it sound like a nice place other than the hospitality. Good luck, hope you get them on a good day!

    by smith12546, 1/9/08
  •  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    fantastic stay

    We just returned from a wonderful winter weekend in Provincetown. We loved every minute of our stay at the Fairbanks Inn. We were greeted warmly by the innkeepers, Kathy and Alicia, and they did everything they could to make our stay comfortable and interesting. They made dinner reservations for us, served us tea and cookies in the afternoon, and filled us in on the fascinating history of the inn. The accommodations were outstanding. Our room was spacious, warm, immaculate, and charming. The furnishings give you the feel of having stepped back in history without losing the comforts of modern living. We loved our fireplace with gas logs that come on with the flip of a switch. Having internet connection in our room was an unexpected bonus and there is also a computer set up in the common room for guests to use. Oh, and we mustn’t forget to mention that the bath towels are incredibly plush. The Fairbanks Inn is conveniently located so that it is an easy walk over to Commercial Street for browsing and shopping. We will definitely be returning and highly recommend the Fairbanks Inn to anyone planning a trip to Provincetown. Donna & Sandy from New Jersey

    by NJgals, 2/10/08
  •  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Friendly, Fun, and Felt like Family...

    Don't miss staying at the Fairbanks Inn if you want to stay in a central P'town location and enjoy great service, like-minded guests and great coffee, breakfasts and surroundings.

    by k_meister, 4/19/08
  •  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Why stay anywhere else?

    I have stayed at the Fairbanks over a dozen times so that says it all! The sun porch where breakfast is served starts the day perfectly. I also strongly suggest a winter stay so you can sink into the sofa in front of a large open hearth fireplace while having a leisurely breakfast. The location is ideal and with parking and WiFi too! The rooms are immaculate and there is something for everyone - from the spacious penthouse to a cozy room in the main building. I have met lots of wonderful folks there. I highly recommend it. Alesia and Kathy are wonderful hosts!

    by joyfulsys, 4/20/08
  •  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    The Inn is lovely

    The Fairbanks Inn is a special place except this weekend was cold and rainy on the Cape. The Inn is lovely and cozy, but I've got Spring Fever and wanted to be outside. Hopefully, we will be able to visit during the summer when the temperatures are warmer and we can spend more time outside. Alicia and Kathy are gracious hostesses.

    by kiernaab, 5/4/08
  •  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    A Perfect Vacation!

    We have stayed at The Fairbanks Inn several times and it has always been a delight. The Inn is beautiful and the innkeepers are super. We are from New Jersey. We've been coming to P-Town for over 20 years and have stayed in many of the inns and also rented apartments and houses. Our experiences at the Fairbanks have been extremely positive in comparison to price and all your get for your dollar! They have a variety of rooms, including a mini apartment with a kitchen, but we stayed in the upstairs section of the Carriage House that had two double beds, a tv/sitting area and it has a very nice private deck. It was very clean and very comfortable. The decorations were very nice and the bathroom was great. (Love a great shower after the beach and sun!) They provide 24-hour access to a very comfortable sunroom with coffee and tea, fresh baked cookies every afternoon, information materials about what to do in town (and wonderful suggestions from the innkeepers), newspapers to read out on the patio surrounded by a soothing garden. Breakfast was very filling and quite varied! Gave us a great start to the day! They even have wireless (which we confess we used on vacation!) and provide a computer in the common room, if you forgot yours! Their location is very close to the main part of town, but still in a quiet corner for peacefulness when you want it. The Innkeepers, Alicia and Kathy are very eager to help make your P-Town vacation wonderful and memorable! We plan on returning next year!

    by meneghinc, 5/5/08
  •  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Fairbanks Inn Review

    Year after year we choose to return to fairbanks inn for our trips to ptown! We love the warm welcome we receive every time we check in. We appreciate the friendly service and the cleanliness of the inn; common areas and private rooms. You can't beat the location! And you can't beat the sweet breakfast that is set up each morning... homemade goodies including Alicia's famous granola. Guests are friendly to each other, while respecting privacy. If heading to ptown... reserve a room at the fairbanks inn. you won't be disappointed. We are already making plans for our summer 2011 trip!

    by ptownreview, 1/5/11

Add your own review

Advertisement

Travel Deals
Forums