Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Cape Cod Hotels

Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast

Pros

  • Pastoral setting
  • Close to nature trails
  • Private and elegant lodging

Cons

  • Not for those traveling with children

Updated 11/13/2013

Fodor's Review

Gordon and Jean Avery run this enchanting, adults-only B&B in an 1864 Greek Revival farmhouse nestled in the tranquil Fort Hill area (it is the only lodging within the National Seashore). The location is perfect—minutes off busy Route 6, but steps away from quiet, secluded trails that wind through cedar forests, fields crisscrossed by old stone fences, and a red-maple swamp. Two very large and cozy suites in the main house, tastefully decorated with period pieces

and antiques, share a living room with fireplace. The crown jewel, however, is the light and airy Nantucket Cottage, with stone floors, a gas fireplace, and a classic white-and-blue Cape Cod bedroom loft. Breakfasts are superb, with offerings like oven-poached pears in sweet cream.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

75 Fort Hill Rd., Eastham, Massachusetts, 02642, USA

Map It

Phone:

508-240–2870

Hotel Details:

  • No credit cards
  • 2 suites, 1 cottage
  • Breakfast

Updated 11/13/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Cape Cod

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 26, 2014

The finest Cape Cod has to offer

We recently returned for a repeat visit to the Fort Hill B&B, and enjoyed ourselves so much that we intend to make it an annual tradition. You really cannot ask for much more in a B&B: tastefully appointed, peaceful surroundings, and above all, your warm and gracious hosts Jean and Gordon. They are an integral part your experience, and the inn itself feels intrinsic to this beautiful natural area - it is as if both innkeepers and inn have always

been here, and always will be.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 17, 2014

Wonderful Weekends at the Cape

My wife and I have spent long weekends over the past two summers with Jean and Gordon at the Fort Hill B&B and each were just terrific. The location is central making access to all parts of the Cape a breeze. From the inn there are great views of sea and marshlands and as it is secluded, our stays provided the quiet we were looking for. We stayed in the Emma room and have been delighted at having a library in addition to bedroom and bath, all of which

were very comfortable and spotless. Jean and Gordon are exceptionally gracious and accomodating and we always looked forward to delicious breakfasts and conversation before heading out for the day. Both of our hosts were able to offer bountiful information about the Cape and were very helpful when we were planning our days. We would provide our highest recommendation for the Fort Hill B&B and look forward to returning in the future.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 2, 2012

Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast Review

First, I take exception to the "con" listed in Fodor's that says that this B&B is not in a town center. That is actually a huge positive! You are nestled in one of the prettiest spots on all of Cape Cod, with great walking trails - peaceful, calm and spectacularly charming. At the same time you are close to the National Seashore Visitor center, a nearby folk music venue and the great restaurants in Wellfleet. On top of all that the rooms are extremely

comfortable with great amenities, the breakfasts and snacks are delicious, the innkeepers friendly and accommodating. As my wife will attest, I can be highly critical of just about anything, but I have nothing but good things to say about ( and nice memories of my stay at) the Fort Hill Bed & Breakfast

Read More

By sstorm

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 25, 2011

Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast Review

I can not say enough good things about the Fort Hill Bed & Breakfast, though most of my positive comment are about Jean and Gordon Avery. My husband and I chose Fort Hill as our honeymoon spot after reading some positive reviews online, and I have to say it was the best vacation experience I've had. The Inn is beautiful, and perfectly situated in a nice marsh area. We enjoyed walking down to the water for sunrises and sunsets. All the rooms in the

Inn were wonderful and cozy. (We stayed in the Emma suite.) Jean's homemade breakfasts each morning were a real treat. We had the pleasure of staying at Fort Hill for 6 nights and I woke up each morning excited to head into the dining room to see what Jean and prepared for us. We had great chats at breakfast with other guests at the Inn. I could keep writing about how much I fell in love with Fort Hill B & B and Jean and Gordon, so I'll just say that I highly recommend this as a premier destination on Cape Cod. Your stay here will be warm and inviting, and you will find the human connection missing in other hotel stays. Besides all this, the location on the Cape is perfect - easy access to all points North and South. My husband and I are going to try to make our trip to Fort Hill B & B and annual treat!

Read More

By Litchky

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 6, 2009

Perfect Cape Cod National Seashore Peaceful Escape

We have encountered the true Cape Experience here at Fort Hill---Absolute perfection! What perfection, kindness and attention to detail. The cottage my grown daughter and I stayed in this year was wonderfully comfortable with every need thought of by Jean and Gordon. The suite in the main house that I stayed in last spring to get reading and writing done provided just the right combination of living room, bedroom and bath with window seat. The

breakfasts are not only elegant but truly delicious. The nature and beach trails are right up the road a step. Serene.

Read More

By TPMMYS

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 31, 2009

Relax to the Max

The perfect off season spot on the Cape. (I'm sure the same for in season!) We have made the Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast our new 'only place' to stay on the Cape. We are off season Cape visitors and have done so for the past 30 something years. A few years ago we stumbled across the best kept secret on the Cape. Right off the main road yet the most quiet, relaxing, beautiful location the Cape has to offer. The quality of the accommodations plus breakfast

also is a great value for what you get in return. Perfect location for a ride to Race Point for a walk, Provincetown for lunch or a trip to Chatham to walk the Streets and visit the shops. More Restaurants and Shops are open than you think in the off season. Also nicer for meeting and chatting with people as the pace is a lot slower. The walk from The National Seashore Eastham Visitor Center to Coast Guard Beach is one of the prettiest walks in New England. (about 1 hr + round trip) A perfect activity after a Fort Hill B & B 5 Star Breakfast!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 26, 2007

Best Location on Cape Cod!!!

We are big fans of the Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast! It has the most wonderful spot inside the National Seashore on top of Fort Hill that looks out to awesome views of the ocean. It is very secluded and private, but close to everything on the outer cape. We especially enjoyed walking on the nature trails and boardwalk through the Maple Swamp and touring the Captain Penniman House Museum all just steps away from the historic inn. The hosts were so gracious

and warm, not the least bit intrusive or overbearing&they gave us the kind of personal attention that we have rarely found on the Cape. They had excellent suggestions for things to do each day (from whalewatching, dune tours and kayaking to theater, antique shopping, and museums) and each evening they helped us to pick the best places to dine. Our accommodations were THE BEST! Not only did we have our very own private honeymoon cottage with its own patio and garden, but the hosts served this fabulous full breakfast made with fresh ingredients from their gardens. We give the Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast a perfect 5!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement