Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Cape Cod Restaurants

Lobster Pot

  • 321 Commercial St. Map It
  • Seafood

Updated 12/23/2013

Fodor's Review

Provincetown's Lobster Pot is fit to do battle with all the lobster shanties anywhere (and everywhere) else on the Cape—it's often jammed with tourists, but the crowds reflect the generally high quality. The hardworking kitchen turns out classic New England cooking: lobsters, generous and filling seafood platters, and some of the best chowder around. Eat like a local and try the barbeque pepper shrimp.

Restaurant Information

Address:

321 Commercial St., Provincetown, Massachusetts, 02657, United States

Map It

Phone:

508-487–0842

Restaurant Details:

  • Closed Jan.
  • Reservations not accepted

Updated 12/23/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Cape Cod

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 24, 2009

Lobster Pot Review

The bar has great drinks and the lobster was really good. It has the typical Cape Seafood selections and a nice ocean view out the back windows to add to the Cape Cod restaurant experience. It gets very busy but the wait was not long and the service was excellent.

By seafox

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 13, 2009

Lobster Pot Review

The food is basic seafood dishes that you will find on the Cape. There are some Portugese additions. Always fresh and always done as you would expect. A good place for that lobster you might be craving without all the fuss of a finer place. Tourists love it - it's always busy and the value is good!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 16, 2008

Long time favorite for basic seafood

Right on the Commercial Street main drag, this is a longstanding spot for basic, uncomplicated seafood dishes. Decent quality service. Has a nice water view out the back window. Generally good for what it is if not that inexpensive, and often crowded.

By matss

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 3, 2006

Good Value

Dinner was a treat. The menu is extensive and the food was cooked just right--fish was tasty and moist, the wine was good, and the service was decent--could have been a bit more attentive. Always have had good food over the years at the Lobster Pot!

By Carol

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 25, 2006

Great bisque and chowder

The Lobster Pot is on the main drag in Provincetown; it does not look very spacious on the outside, but when you walk inside, you will find a spacious dining room. The service wasa fast, and the food was excellent. Another thing I look at are the restrooms; these were very clean. Enough said.

By Margot

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 6, 2002

...a well-oiled machine

The first thing that hits you as you enter is how well-organized this establishment is, with a sophisticated computer system that effectively coordinates the flow of traffic on the restaurant's 2 floors. Yes, service is a bit rushed once the restaurant is packed, but our server was pleasant and accommodating. As for the food, my husband said the clam chowder was the best he's ever had, and my vegetarian chili was also quite exceptional. His lobster

was steamed to perfection, while the crab/scallop/shrimpo cakes I ordered were tasty, but could have done with less stuffing and more seafood. All in all, a pleasant experience.

Read More

By Adam

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 9, 2002

For Lobster Lovers Only!

I have eaten at The Lobster Pot maybe close to a dozen times over the past few years, and not really by choice. My best friend thinks they have the best lobster anywhere. Unfortunately, I don't eat lobster, so I'm left with the rest of the menu, which, while enormous, always fails to offer me something I like. I have had maybe one good meal here in all of these visits, and that was a chicken item! The fish is flavorless, the fried food is equally

bland and rubbery, and the salad dressing comes back to haunt you hours later. And let's not even talk about the service and atmosphere. Since it's always packed, it's very loud, and the staff always appear stressed out and rude. The busboys hover around your table trying to take your plate away before you're even finished, and then they try to fully clean and reset the table while you're trying to take care of the bill and finish your coffee. And in the summer you have to wait over an hour to get treated like this! Again though, people love the lobster (never heard a bad thing about those), so if that's what you like, then I guess it's worth putting up with all the other negatives.

Read More

By Gene

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 7, 2001

Location, Location, Location

Situated on a corner of the busiest (walking) intersection of Provincetown, the Lobster Pot draws customers from all directions. Tourists are drawn to the big red neon sign, a Provincetown icon. Locals return for the great food and atmosphere. If you are new to Provincetown and are unsure where to dine, you can't go wrong here.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement