Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Boston Hotels

Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf

Pros

  • High-quality Meritage and Sea Grille restaurants
  • Easy walk to Faneuil Hall
  • Water shuttle to Logan Airport

Cons

  • Pricey
  • The spa gets booked up early
  • Less convenient to the Back Bay and South End

Updated 11/11/2013

Fodor's Review

Boston has plenty of iconic landmarks—the "salt and pepper" bridge, Fenway Park, the Public Garden ducklings—but none are as synonymous with über-hospitality as the Boston Harbor Hotel, with its 80-foot-tall outdoor archway and rotunda and classic city and harbor views. The splurge-worthiness continues inside, thanks to smaller marble arches, framed antique maps, and an ample placement of fresh flowers. Marble bathrooms, custom-made desks, Frette linens, flat-panel TVs, and laptop-size safes give the guestrooms a leg up on other city lodgings. And amenities abound—there are even complimentary daily shoe shines. The hotel's older, well-heeled clientele has been coming here for ages. The excellent on-site restaurant, Meritage, offers a unique menu that pairs small plates with appropriate vintages, all under light fixtures that mimic a starry sky. Eat up and worry about working it off later—the health club will lend you athletic gear if you forget yours.

Hotel Information

Address:

70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, Massachusetts, 02110, USA

Map It

Phone:

617-439–7000; 800-752–7077

Website: www.bhh.com

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 204 rooms, 26 suites
  • No meals

Updated 11/11/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Boston

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 23, 2003

service providers always lend a hand---palm up

The hotel looks quite lovely in the common areas and the room was also attractive and clean. BUT we would expect a hotel in this price range to have walls that are thick enough to prevent being privy to normal conversational-level interactions from next door. Doors do not close tightly enough to the floor, allowing noise and light to come in from the hallway. Service was fairly good, somewhat "snooty" personnel- but ALWAYS and obviously ready for

a tip. We travel a great deal, world-wide and didn't find the hotel worth the price.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 24, 2003

Stay at BHH and you'll never like another hotel again!

This hotel was absolutely incredible. We spent a week in a a harbor view deluxe room. The room was perfectly sized and appointed. The couch was even comfortable. The bed was truly perfect. It is really hard to pick a favorite or best part of the hotel/room. The service, the amenities, the view, the location. It is all perfect. I've never been so completely satisfied with a hotel staff before. After a large shopping spree they happily packaged

all of my purchases and sent them to my home in Texas. The twice daily housekeeping service was very easy to get used to. The windows even open so you can enjoy the sounds of the harbor from your room. The staff was very accomodating and remembered our names by the first night. I also highly reccomend the Meritage Restaurant. It was an experience like none other. The hotel and the Meritage are pricey but in my opinion they are worth every penny. They really earn the money they are charging. This hotel will spoil any traveler and make a lesser hotel hard to accept! Enjoy!

Read More

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 22, 2002

Great Location and view

The two rooms I've had were nicely appointed and had great views. The hotel is a little stuffy and not just because the windows don't open. The bathrooms are on the small side. The resturant was very nice. The staff were very accommodating and pleasant. Overall a nice place to stay if you can afford it, and don't mind fixed windows.

By Lynda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 29, 2002

Don't stay anywhere else....

This was an incredible hotel experience - and I've become a bit of a hotel snob - it definitely topped my experiences at the Ritz. I was looking for romantic and I found it!! The BHH was exquisit - from its lobby to the elevator to the room to the view and the complementary car service - it is all very nicely done. Whatever you do, do not miss out on their Sunday Brunch in their main dining room The Rowes Warf Restaurant...simply spectacluar -

like everything else at BHH it is worth every cent. Important note: make sure to reserve a harbor view room above the 8th floor.

Read More

By Jill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 24, 2002

Watch Out

Although the hotel is beautiful and the service is outstanding - PLEASE do not stay in the standard rooms. They are so small you can barely turn around!

By Keith

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 18, 2002

Its a nice hotel in a great location

Location is a 10 Service is a 8 Rooms range from 10-5 Its always booked so plan ahead Taxi service is spotty

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 22, 2002

Depends on why you are there

I visit Boston on business often. This is not a good hotel for that. You are on the other side of "the Big Dig" and walking any where besides along the waterfront is a pain. The room was nice and the fitness center and pool were also nice. Paid alot of money though and still didn't get a waterfront view. If you want to be on the water and have the money - go for it. If you are on business - there are better choices closer to where you need to

be.

Read More

By Peggy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 28, 2001

Christmas Bliss

We had a wonderful time at the hotel. The service went above our expectations thanks to Calvin, Sheila, and Robert. The entire staff treats you as if your royalty. Many thanks for making our Holiday.

By Jacob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 7, 2001

It MADE my vacation....

I would say that 25% of the reason I loved my trip to boston was this hotel. The service was freindly and the staff seemed to genuinly care. I would reccomend it to anybody.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 4, 2001

Love it!

We're from the western suburbs of Boston, and have stayed at the Harbor Hotel a few times. Two summers ago when the tall ships came in, we had a suite--it was one of the most fabulous experiences--gorgeous room, fabulous view, and attentive service--even for our cat. The whole family loves this hotel!

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 28, 2001

First Class All The Way

Exceptional in every way. Staff is attentive, rooms are beautiful and comfortable (although the standard room is quite small--ask for an upgrade). Food is wonderful. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement