Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Boston Restaurants

Blue Ginger

Updated 11/13/2013

Fodor's Review

Chef Ming Tsai's nimble maneuvers in the kitchen have caught the nation's eye via a public TV cooking program, Simply Ming, and his five cookbooks. Plan ahead to savor jazzed-up plates of Western-meets-Asian cuisine, including his signature buttery sake-miso marinated sablefish. On evenings and Saturday the no reservations set can drop into the lounge for the chef's Ming's Bings (think slider meets potsticker) and Asian tapas. Weekday lunches include super-fresh

salads, hearty sandwiches, and kid-friendly dishes. Some say the prices do not match the food, which can range from spot-on to less than carefully prepared.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

583 Washington St., Wellesley, Massachusetts, 02482, USA

Map It

Phone:

781-283–5790

Website: www.ming.com

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch weekends

Updated 11/13/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 24, 2008

Upscale Asian fusion in the ritzy suburbs

This place tends to attract extremes of opinion. Have enjoyed eating here -- place has good service, good food, pleasing ambiance. Expensive. Not a lot of places of this type locally, more common on the West Coast. Not sure if it's worth a special trip from Boston (it's in the ritzy suburb of Wellesley), but simply not as bad as some think.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 15, 2007

Blue Ginger - Over Rated!

I went to Blue Ginger on 3/14 for the first time for my wife's birthday. I will also say it will be my last time. I had ordered spring rolls with 3 chili sauce for an appetizer. The spring rolls themselves weren't that flavorful, the 3 chili sauce was bland at best. One would expect this soy sauce with chili's to complement the flavor of the spring rolls. The soy sauce in my opinion was a let down. One because there was only mild heat and the

sauce didn't enhance the spring rolls at all. Next we ordered garlic-pepper lobster and the demi-glaze lamb dish. I requested the lamb to be cooked "medium". The dish came out as medium rare. The waiter explained that the way we cook is in a French style. So medium is like medium rare in American restaurants. I was disappointed that my dish wasn't cooked properly. Next my wife ordered a dish recommended by the waiter. She ordered the garlic-pepper lobster. The waiter said this was Ming's signature dish! For one the waiter didn't explain that this dish would set your tongue/mouth on fire due to the amount of black pepper in this dish. The menu also does not indicate this. Most Asian restaurants indicate the level of heat offered in each dish. My wife wasn't able to enjoy her lobster because her palate was muted from the amount of pepper. She couldn't enjoy her drink or even my meal. Since the level of heat was never communicated by the waiter or the menu, we were both very disappointed. Even more so that the manager said this was the signature dish. In my opinion this dish is not a well balanced dish at all. A succulent dish like lobster shouldn't be drowned in black pepper. My wife couldn't enjoy the lobster because her palette was ruined by the amount of pepper. This dish didn't have a proper balance of ying and yang.

Read More

By tarasov

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 18, 2007

For your eyes, NOT for your tastebuds!

The food is supposed to be a blend of oriental and western, however, it achieved neither. I ordered its smoked duck in clay pot. The presentation was good, it looked really nice! But the taste was anything but. The duck was bland, the stock was very greasy, tasted like it were from a bad Chinese takeout. The price tag is about $60/person, at which you would expect decent service and food. Well, the service was spotty as there are too few waiter/waitress

and too many tables. Definitely NOT recommended

Read More

By Teresa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 26, 2005

Amazing food served horribly

I had a similar experience as other diners reviewing this restaurant. The restaurant was packed. The food was fantastic, but the service was really a lot worse than I expected. I felt like they really did not care whether I enjoyed my dining experience or not.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 22, 2003

Food was great but service was not

If you don't order a $300 bottle of wine at the bar, don't be surprised if your service is less than mediocre. With only one server at the cocktail area, we were left to wait for 20 minutes before we could even flag him down for a drink. He had been summonned to get a decanter for another group of very wealthy patrons. At our table, my friend was brought the wrong dish without much of an apology or offering of a drink or dessert on the house. The

food was magnificent, but the serive marred our whole experience.

Read More

By LarryG

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 23, 2003

The best restaurant not in Boston

Sure its expensive and worth it. Every inch of this place exudes grace and taste. Outstanding food presented perfectly. The Sidecar and Thai Mojito are some of the finest cocktails I have ever had.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement