Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Boston Restaurants

Matt Murphy's Pub

Updated 11/13/2013

Fodor's Review

Boston has dozens of Irish pubs, but very few are notable for food—this pub being a welcome exception. Even with a hefty renovation in 2010, this place has maintained its heart, making real poetry out of thick slabs of bread and butter served on wooden boards, giant servings of soup, fish-and-chips presented in a twist of newspaper, and shepherd's pie. Don't miss the house-made ketchup with your French fries or the traditional Irish breakfast consisting of Irish sausage

and bacon, potatoes, black and white pudding, beans, and eggs.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

14 Harvard St., Brookline, Massachusetts, 02445, USA

Map It

Phone:

617-232–0188

Restaurant Details:

  • No credit cards

Updated 11/13/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By hwise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 2, 2012

Matt Murphy's Pub Review

I have been to this place numerous times. Two weeks ago I recommended the place to my company to have a company dinner here. Bottom line is, I've brought a lot of business to this place and I was a loyal customer. But after last time I was there I will never go back. We had one other person coming and the waitress seated us a four top. After a few minutes they sat two other people right next to us (ignoring that the seat was for the third person)

and the manager/owner rudely told me to "move my purse" so they could sit the people right next to me at the same table. The "free" oysters on Monday nights are just their excuse to exploit their customers. They will most likely say "oops we're all out" AFTER you've ordered your food (which is not worth your money honestly-WAY OVERPRICED). We got there well time for the oysters and had been informed that they still had oysters when we got there, but then she informed us they were all out 20 minutes later. At this point I had had enough and told her I was not happy with the service and wanted to leave. The owner herself proceeded to threaten us and say she was going to call the police if we left because we had already ordered food. She threatened and harassed me worse then I have ever been treated by anyone. Do not come here and warn everyone you know not to come here.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 2, 2008

One of the best pub food spots locally

One of a few pub food spots in the Boston area where the food's actually good (River Gods and Miracle of Science in Cambridge and O'Sullivan's in Somerville are two others). Creative, good quality eats, can get crowded. Worth seeking out if you want this kind of cuisine.

By Ralphie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 15, 2007

Very Good Irish Brunch

Brunch selections range from Irish Breakfast (complete with Irish Bacon, black and white puddings!) to whiskey oat porridge, omelets with salmon, and numerous other choices. European-style seating--if crowded your party of two might share a table with another party of two. Live Irish music is a real treat also! Service isn't lightning quick but if you're not in a hurry and aren't hell-bent on getting your coffee refilled many times, it's not a

problem. Some people have issues with the personality of the lady who owns this place, but I've always found her friendly and accomodating. Prices very reasonable for brunch--all selections $10 or less.

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 4, 2004

Overrated !

Took a business acquaintance here because of all the rave reviews but was very dissapointed. Fish and Chips were adequate (fries were soggy) Additionally, I thought it was a little pricey even by Boston standards. Service was very slow and our waitress seemed a bit put out by my dining partner's request for a new beer since he had something floating in his. Really don't see why people like this place so much.

By Julia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 11, 2003

Gourmet Irish comfort food

The homemade bread is excellent- The food is so wonderful and a great value- it is shocking/ you must try the pork chop

By Lola

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 15, 2001

A Gem

This Brookline pub seats only 20-25 people. The decor is rustic, the service is polite, unpolished, and unhurried. The food is simple, hearty, and satisfying. The menu is limited, the presentation unpretentious. (The fish and chips comes wrapped in newspaper.) The homemade bread and butter is better than dessert at more popular venues. Good selection of beers on tap. Overall, a bit pricier than you might expect, but worth it. Bring a book,

bring a friend, and enjoy.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement