Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Boston Restaurants

Daily Catch

Updated 11/13/2013

Fodor's Review

You've just got to love this shoebox-size place—for the noise, the intimacy, the complete absence of pretense, and, above all, the food, which proved so popular, it spawned two other locations (one in Brookline and another in Boston's Seaport area). Compact and brightly lighted, this storefront restaurant has been a local staple for 40 years and for good reason. With garlic and olive oil forming the foundation for almost every dish, this cheerful, bustling spot specializes

in big skillets of calamari dishes, black squid-ink pastas, and linguine with clam sauce, that all would seem less perfect if served on fine white china versus the actual cooking pan that's placed in front of you with an efficient flourish as soon as it leaves the stove.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

323 Hanover St., Boston, Massachusetts, 02113, USA

Map It

Phone:

617-523–8567

Restaurant Details:

  • No credit cards
  • Reservations not accepted

Updated 11/13/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Boston

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Lexma90

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 22, 2009

Daily Catch Review

Though I had read about the Daily Catch, we were drawn to this tiny restaurant by the delicious smells wafting out. We had a fantastic lunch, particularly those of us who had the squid pasta. It was so good that we returned for lunch here the following day, and we are pretty discriminating diners.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 25, 2008

Excellent so-ital seafood spot

With Giacomo's, one of the two best Southern Italian seafood spots in the North End. Also one of the tiniest restaurants in Boston, so expect a wait. Please note that the Daily Catch outpost in the Waterfront area by the Courthouse is miles below the North End location and a must to avoid.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 3, 2007

A bit more expensive than I expected

For dinner the least expensive was fish and chips for 16.50. Other than the price it was great. Went there about 5:30 and had a nice quiet meal. Walking by the Barking Crab you could here the noise level was very high. I had met someone I had not seen in nearly 2 years and we wanted a chance to talk, so this was perfect. And the view was great. The waiter was very helpful with our dietary problems. Took a walk up to Fanieul Hall for desert

after.

Read More

By flsd

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 23, 2006

A unique experience

Great food. There's nothing like getting wine in a plastic cup to go with well-prepared, delicious seafood. It's hectic, loud, crowded - but well worth it.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 4, 2005

Pasta...Fish...and Heat...

This place is a completely unique experience! If you can't stand the heat stay out of the kitchen...Heat comes from the wait staff and chef as well as the stove.

By Monica

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 3, 2003

Great seafood, wine but no coffee

The seafood is wonderful, piping hot and freshly prepared but only the food or wine will warm your innards as the restaurant cannot offer tea or coffee, a disappointment. There is no atmosphere except elbow to elbow eating but the food is worth the experience. I'd go back and then hit a cafe across the street for a pot of hot tea on a cold winter night!

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 8, 2000

Best Catch in the North End

We have been eating there for fifteen years..............nuf said!!!

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 22, 2000

Worth the Wait

GREAT seafood pastas, especially the lobster fra'diablo and the calamari with garlic and olive oil. They do tend to be a little heavy-handed with the oil, but will gladly go light if you request...Worth the wait; go with a group - not a romantic spot!

By Yvette

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 17, 2000

Best Seafood I'VE ever eaten!

The two hour wait was well worth it! We bought a bottle of wine across the street (they were even kind enough to open it and give us cups!), sat outside and watched the world go by. Fantastic calamari and seafood diavolo.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement