Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Boston Restaurants

Durgin-Park Market Dining Room

Updated 11/13/2013

Fodor's Review

You should be hungry enough to cope with enormous portions, yet not so hungry you can't tolerate a long wait (or sharing a table with others). Durgin-Park was serving its same hearty New England fare (Indian pudding, baked beans, corned beef and cabbage, and a prime rib that hangs over the edge of the plate) back when Faneuil Hall was a working market instead of a tourist attraction. The service is as brusque as it was when fishmongers and boat captains dined here, but

that's just part of its charm.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

340 Faneuil Hall Market Pl., North Market Bldg., Boston, Massachusetts, 02109, USA

Map It

Phone:

617-227–2038

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 11/13/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Boston

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 25, 2008

The best of its kind

There aren't very many places left that serve traditional Yankee comfort food cuisine (think pot roast, prime rib, potted beef with onions, baked scrod, molasses baked beans, Indian pudding with ice cream, coffee jello) at a relatively reasonable price locally anymore, and this is by far the best of the lot. Much of the seating is at long communal tables and the service can be grumpy in an amusing way. But this is the best of its kind by far -- a

must.

Read More

By Krista

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 8, 2005

There Are Two Durgin Parks

My husband and I decided to spend a beautiful day playing tourist (we live in the Boston suburbs) and after our Duck Tour, we decided to try Durgin Park for dinner on a Thursday night. I didn't expect much, from what I'd read and heard the place is a Boston tradition but a staple tourist stop but hey, why not? We walked right in without waiting and were a little concerned when we reached the top of the stairs. (It was very warm, windows open so

not sure if they usually have a/c)and crazy. Hmmm... But before we had to make a decision whether to stay or not, the hostess told us to go up one more flight of stairs. As it happens, lucky us. The two floors were like night and day. Upstairs it was air conditioned, there were white table cloths (vs. the checkered plastic? ones downstairs), much smaller, wood paneling, and quiet! The food probably was the same but instead of sweating amongst the masses, we dined in cool comfort. Food: expensive but OK. Good prime rib and salmon, the sides were average. Service: Fine. The wait staff seemed a little busy but service was acceptable.

Read More

By Teri

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 14, 2004

Disappointed with Durgin Park

Poor service, mediocre food and run down atmosphere. We should have gone with our first instinct and left immediately. I am not generally a complainer and I can appreciate a tradition. But Durgin Park was a disappointment. The food was average at best, but the atomsphere (this place needs restoration badly) was rundown. The service was very poor, our waitress pretty much tossed things at us. There were five people in our party 3 meals were served

and the other 2 meals came out approx 10 mins later, and they were served lukewarm. We will not return there ever. I guess this place is a typical tourist trap, I cannot imagine locals would frequent this restaurant.

Read More

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 1, 2004

Tradition Fun

DP was recommended as very traditional and with good atmosphere. It was very good and best if you get directed upstairs. There are long tables which are shared.

By jan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 8, 2002

Straighforward New England food

Classic American fare, well-priced: pot roast, broiled fish, corn bread, beans... A Boston tradition in our family for over 50 years. Dine at communal tables, "straightforward" service. Don't wear a Yankees cap. Go early if you don't want a wait.

By Betsy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 30, 2000

Great New England Fare

Known for it's big portions, I love bringing out of town guests here for a taste of New England. Enough on the menu to satisfy both a seafood lover and a land lover. Fun atomosphere where you sit at long tables with other guests.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement