Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Boston Restaurants

Legal Sea Foods

Updated 11/13/2013

Fodor's Review

What began as a tiny restaurant adjacent to a Cambridge fish market has grown to important regional status, with more than 30 East Coast locations. The hallmark is the freshest possible seafood, whether you have it wood-grilled, in New England chowder, or doused in an Asia-inspired sauce. The jumbo lump crab cakes are divine (no fillers) and the clam chowder is so good it has become a menu staple at presidential inaugurations. For a true taste of New England, don't miss

the golden cracker-crowned baked lobster stuffed with shrimp and scallops, one of the most popular entrées on the menu. This location has private dining inside its beautiful, bottle-lined wine cellar.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

26 Park Sq., Boston, Massachusetts, 02116, United States

Map It

Phone:

617-426–4444

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 11/13/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Boston

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 30, 2008

Good seafood, if not the best

Part of a large chain. Maybe not the best seafood spot locally, but still a good option. Food generally good (probably the best place to get the really thick kind of New England clam chowder), rather expensive, OK service.

By m

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 8, 2005

Classic legal experience

went to copley place restaurant. They take reservations here, and we were very glad we made one as there was a line of frustrated waiting diners. Everything was great, the crab cake appetiser was amazing, it had a lot of crab, although not cheap at $13. The lobster was great and the waiter gamely helped me to beak it open.would definitely go back.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 29, 2004

New England's Best Clam Chowder

This restaurant is NOT a chain. Although there are locations throughout the east coast, this restaurant is still family-owned by the Berkowitz's. Read the placemat while you are there to learn about the storied, New England history of this local favorite. The food is excellent, the service is great and each location has a slightly differernt atmosphere. I go to Legal Sea Foods everytime I am in the Boston area!

By Cindy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 25, 2004

Hello! Why the hell would you eat seafood at a chain if you're in New England!

I got a first hand view of this restaurant when I was working on a special project for a couple of months with a company located in the Pru. There was always a long wait. I could never understand why, since I hadn't heard great things about the place. Well of course one day some of my co-workers wanted to dine there for dinner, so I was dragged along. I found it to be very pricey considering what you received. I am a fan of having lobster meat in

my lobster bisque. Not too much to ask is it? The service was slow because the place was so busy. I will never eat there again and I don't understand why anyone else who lives in New England would. If you want some great clam chowder go to SKip Jacks, right down the street. Yum!

Read More

By Rusty

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 29, 2003

Go for lunch; not atmosphere

No pretenses. The food was good, not great. Yes it is obvious a corporate chain. It feels like a "Chillis," hardwood floors and noisy. Still, it has a large range of seafood at reasonable rates... great for lunch!

By Emily

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 16, 2003

Never hesitate when it's "Legal"!

I read with a little worry the previous rants and raves, but when my daughter said they enjoyed their dinner at Legal so much that they returned the next day for lunch, I figured we could safely give it a try. We were very happy with our food, and especially with the service. It's a busy, busy place at dinner time, but our waitress treated her customers like they were the only ones in the building when she was serving them. We wouldn't hesitate

to return to Legal whenever we're in Boston again!

Read More

By chris

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 27, 2003

it looked like kresge's but i swear the sign said legal sea foods

we ate there saturday (at the pier on state st)-the waitress forgot some of our food, other stuff was cold, didn't talk to us, no specials quoted, was too busy flirting to collect the $$ at the bitter end--i should have stiffed her but i didn't have the heart (left 15% tip), front staff less helpful, is anybody running this place? mussels way overcooked--don't get them anyway--they are not represented correctly on the menu--fried oysters greasy and

served with cinnamon? what's up with that? staff never heard of remoulade--overall, overpriced for what you get--which is below average food served by durgin park style staff mentality (i think that they think that this restaurant exists primarily to enhance their social lives) in a dining room lit up like kresge's lunch counter---do yourself a favor and find another place that isn't living off their long ago lost reputation-- and there are a lot of seafood restaurants in this area.

Read More

By Eric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 4, 2003

Consistently Good

I've been to legal many times and have always found the experience consistent. The food is fresh and of good quality, the swordfish is always a perfect 10. Very noisy at the locations I've been to. Service is above average and the prices are on the mark for what you get. It may be turning into a little too much of a tourist spot...........

By Wendy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 12, 2002

Consistant Experience

I've eaten at the Legal in the theater district for dinner as well as the Legal in the Prudential center for lunch. Both meals were good food. This isn't a fancy place which makes it really easy to go to. Also the menu is faily priced and they have everything! Will continue to grab a meal at Legal's whenever I'm in Boston.

By Sarah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 21, 2002

Not as good as it once was...

... Legals lives off of its old reputation. Food is pretty good, but not the best; it's hit or miss. Pricey for what you get. Service I had VERY slow, it took me and a friend 2 hours to eat our dinner, and we constantly had to flag our waiter down. There are better places to go in Boston for seafood - try Skipjacks, Atlantic Fish Company, or Naked Fish. If you can, make a trek out to Turners on Main Street in Melrose- VERY good, fresh seafood.

By Judy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 7, 2001

Predictable is NOT a bad characteristic;

the fish is always fresh and perfecrly done at all the locations (we've been to 8). Drinks are pricey and mixed drinks can vary from location to location. The chowder is second to Anthony's Pier 4 (tad to much pepper). The selection has added sian influences in past 2 years, as well as Zone dishes. It may be a chain but some of the newer ones are elegently bistro rather than clubby Bistro.

By Thyra

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 23, 2001

A different point of view

Maybe the locals don't care for this place, but my husband and I really enjoyed it. The steamers were very fresh my braised scallops were tender and really, REALLY good.Our wait staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. Of course the decor was similar to many restaurants back home, but we were very VERY happy with our experience at Legal.

By Rainer

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 11, 2000

What is it about Legal Seafood...

... that always makes them end up on the "recommended" list? The food is mediocre (at best); the atmosphere is that of a typical chain restaurant. Don't waste your money here.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2000

Way Too Expensive

Small portions, Very pricy, McDonald's type atmosphere

By Jen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 23, 2000

There are many other seafood places in Boston...

...that have better service and offer better value. Table turnover is more important to staff than serving the patrons.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement