Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Boston Restaurants

Turner Fisheries

Updated 11/13/2013

Fodor's Review

On the first floor of the Westin hotel in Copley Square, Turner Fisheries runs a close second to Legal Sea Foods in its traditional appeal. Turner broils, grills, bakes, fries, and steams everything in the ocean, but it also prepares classic and modern sauces, vegetables, and pastas with panache. Any meal should begin with the creamy chowder—the restaurant has won Boston's yearly Chowderfest too many times to contend any more. Round it out with grilled pesto swordfish

or one of the city's best-looking mayo-dressed lobster rolls.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Westin Copley Place Boston, 10 Huntington Ave., Boston, Massachusetts, 02116, USA

Map It

Phone:

617-424–7425

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Sun.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 11/13/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Boston

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 3, 2008

Slick, but not the best

This seafood spot is well located, but not by any means the best. Slick decor, OK service and food, expensive and not an especially good value. You're better off at Neptune Oyster, B&G Oysters, or Dolphin Seafood in Cambridge for a sit-down seafood place.

By Lynette

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 6, 2006

Great atmosphere, but standards are dropping

I have eaten at this restaurant several times on my visits to Boston. The fist time I went I was blown away! However, that has changed during my last visits. Turners still has a great atmosphere, but the food and service leave much to be desired! I ordered a $10 glass of Albarino and had to send it back, it was obvious that the bottle had been open for some time, so the wine was very acidic. I received another glass and there were no apologies,

until I questioned them about it! The service was slow and unattentive, it took me over 10 minutes for the bread to be served! It took another 25 minutes to order my entree, it was early and the restaurant was half empty! The food at best was mediocre, I was not impressed. This restaurant needs some improvement to get back to the standards it used to have several years ago. I am due to go to Boston in November, but won't be going back to Turners!

Read More

By Liz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 23, 2006

Creative food and Attentive Service

Decided to eat here while staying at the hotel. I had tried a few other "staple" seafood restaurants around town, and I must say, this place won hands down! Dinner was delicious, service was top notch. All around wonderful experience I highly recommend to anyone!

By Rae

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 28, 2005

poor service at Turner's

The service was so poor that our waiter did not notice that I had put my plate out to be taken back after just one bite. I had ordered the vegetarian plate. The spice in the sauce was so hot or bold that I could not taste the vegetables' flavor. We were also not offered ground pepper for our salad. The on site manager did apologize and offered a free desert. Although we are staying at the Westin Copley Place we would not return to Turner's.

By Carl

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 6, 2004

Service beyond the call.....

Although I was most pleased with the food, atmosphere and value, I was even more impressed with the service. When my date experience an awful headache, an employee volunteered to go to the gift shop to get to aspirins. I will not forget this gesture.

By annette

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 26, 2002

go for the chowder!

we always hit the lounge and enjoy a bloody mary with our chowder and rolls. great meal, laid back lounge atmosphere, and great price.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement