Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Boston Hotels

Harborside Inn

Pros

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Close to Quincy Market and the New England Aquarium
  • Nearby water taxi

Cons

  • The area might be too touristy for some leisure travelers

Updated 11/11/2013

Fodor's Review

With rates that are considerably lower than most Waterfront hotels—as low as $119 in the off season— this hotel with an understated charm is an exceptional value. Unlike its hip sister property The Charlesmark, the Harborside is anchored throughout by a modern maritime theme that includes a generous use of teak and classic maps of the Boston waterfront. Many of the snug rooms have windows overlooking an interior atrium, which extends eight stories up to the roof. Some

rooms and common spaces have exposed brick. Amenities include flat-screen TVs, surround-sound stereo, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Faneuil Hall, Quincy Market, and the North End are all short walks away. For a great view, request a room overlooking the city; for a quieter stay, book a room that faces the interior atrium.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

185 State St., Boston, Massachusetts, 02109, USA

Map It

Phone:

617-723–7500; 888-723–7565;

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 116 rooms
  • No meals

Updated 11/11/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Boston

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 18, 2012

Harborside Inn-- nice historic place, in great location

We stayed at The Harborside Inn, which is in the midst of things in Edgartown. It sits on the edge of a gorgeous residential neighborhood which is fun to wander and look at the beautiful homes and gardens. The Harborside is a very nice place, especially if you can reserve a balcony room with a full-on view of the harbor. The lodging we had was in one of three historic whaling captains' homes, which are very well-maintained and charming. Our room

was good-sized, with a relatively new bathroom. The ceiling fan and A/C kept it cool, plus its beautiful little private balcony provided extra space. We were extremely pleased with it, having read a negative review on TripAdvisor that the hotel was dated and rooms extremely small, which was NOT our experience. We'd also read that the place can be overrun with children because it has some owner units. But we saw many more kids at the Harborview.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 1, 2006

Bad Choice

Although this hotel is in a good location, there are no other positives about it. Rude desk clerks and management. At times, no one at the desk at all except someone who said he didn't speak English. No amenities except wifi and some coffee in lobby. Room was very stuffy. Window looked into a dark interior area which had some litter strewn about. Thermostat apparently didn't work. Shower had weak water pressure. Spend a few more dollars and stay somewhere

else.

Read More

By Katie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 25, 2005

Don't stay here.

We stayed there for three nights. We would not stay there again and would much rather pay the extra amount to stay at the Charles or the Westin. The hotel is bordered by night clubs in both sides, so it is very noisy. The service was rude and unhelpful.

By Donna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 30, 2005

Small, Stuffy, and Snippy deskclerk

This was a big disappointment after the photos on the hotel's website which were pretty deceiving and which promised an inhouse restaurant which is no longer in business. The room was small, furniture rather worn, the TV cabinet faced an uncomfortable sofa and could not be viewed from the bed, but most importantly, the room was unbearably stuffy even though it was about 40 degrees outside and stormy. We did find a fan in our closet, but overheard

another couple who said their room was over 80 degrees, politely request a fan and were told at the desk that there was not one available and no adjustment could be made on their room rate. The bathroom was clean, but the toilet plugged up and the maintenance person carried a dripping plunger through. We were to stay three nights, but moved to another hotel after one. The location is great and the clientele seemed generally nice so if a bargain is tops on your list, this might be considered an ok choice, but I would definitely suggest a room with outside window.

Read More

By Carol

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 11, 2004

Fodors Choice of What?????

A place suited only for drunken partiers waundering in after last call from one of the two blaring bars that sandwich a rather attractive building. Sadly the architecture is no defense for the loud music and this property is completely unsuitable for anyone but the hearing impaired. The price is reasonable for Boston lodging and the property is attractive. The suite we had booked was charmingly furnished and clean, but there was no way we could

spend the night with the noise from the adjacent bars. BTW, access to parking is actually worse than most in Boston (and that's saying a lot). I have NO idea how this property rated a Fodors choice as the noise levels make it uninhabitable!!!!!!

Read More

By William

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 20, 2004

Very Nice Place

Had a great time, staff friendly, perfect location and the lowest price I could find.

By Joanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 7, 2002

BEEN THERE/NOT GOIN' BACK

This small hotel was nice enough for the $200/night we paid, compared to other pricey Boston hotels ... our cozy brick walled room was nicely appointed but overlooked noisy Irish pub holding a street party with music blaring! Our breakfast was included, but I think they charge extra now. Fanieul Hall is indeed one block away, however, one block the other direction is the freeway ... so it's not an ideal central location. We're going back to Boston

next month, and we're not staying here again!

Read More

By Matt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 5, 2001

Why does Fodor's recommend this place?

We stayed 4 nights here in July 2001, on Fodors.com's recommendation. It's a great location, but otherwise just an ok hotel which is overpriced. Fodors is wrong: breakfast is not included. The place is noisy, thanks to the adjacent construction.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement