Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Boston Hotels

Seaport Boston Hotel

Pros

  • On-site Wave Health &
  • Fitness Club
  • Close to a newly developed restaurant scene offering 20 dining options
  • Free Wi-Fi

Cons

  • Far from city center

Updated 11/11/2013

Fodor's Review

Chances are, if you've ever been to Boston on business, you've already stayed at the Seaport, where guest rooms are among the biggest in the city. The 428-room hotel is an ocean of badge-wearing, convention-going suits, most of whom scurry back and forth between the lobby and the adjacent World Trade Center, land of a thousand conference rooms. Wait a minute! Keep reading—just because it's all business doesn't mean it's not nice. Case in point: the full-service health

club, complete with a lap pool, spa, and cardio and weight equipment. Guest rooms are outfitted with lime-green and red furnishings, marble bathrooms, Bose radios, laptop safes, and, of course, complimentary daily Wall Street Journals. Currying favor with all kinds of clientele, the Seaport prides itself on being ecofriendly and having hypoallergenic rooms.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

World Trade Center, 1 Seaport La., Boston, Massachusetts, 02210, USA

Map It

Phone:

617-385–4000; 800-440–3318

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 428 rooms
  • No meals

Updated 11/11/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Boston

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 15, 2011

Seaport Hotel Review

Great Location Near the Convention Center I was pretty pleased with this hotel overall. I stayed here for only one night in August 2010 with my spouse while he was attending an event at the BECC (Boston Exhibit Convention Center). It was a Saturday night, and there were many weddings and social events in the hotel. Our room was on the fifth floor, the floor above some of the event rooms, and it was a little loud at times. The location is great for

the convention center; it's an easy walk over a bridge on an extremely low-traveled street. The lobby area is small but attractive, with beautiful floral arrangements that they seem to change every Sunday (when I arrived on Saturday, the flowers were not the same as when I left on Sunday). There is a gift shop, coffee bar (Seaport Cafe), a more formal restaurant (Aura), and then a more casual bar/restaurant with some outdoor seating (Tamo). I saw the fitness center, which seemed well-outfitted, but not the indooor pool. There is a very small outdoor garden space on the plaza level if you feel you need to relax outside. Parking is included in this hotel, as are all tips - very unusual in the USA. The valet parking attendant and bellman would not accept tips, telling us that service is included. The rooms are a decent size, with a small seating area with two comfy chairs. Bathrooms were a good size also, and stocked with Gilchrist & Soames products. There was a bathrobe, safe, and umbrella in the closet, and there's an empty small refrigerator for your personal use (it was only filled with four bottles of water - which were not complimentary). There is a 7-11 convenience store as well as a Dunkin' Donuts across Seaport Boulevard, so it's easy to buy things to bring back to the room. But beware of bringing wine or beer into the hotel - we were told that it was against Boston city law to bring alcohol into a hotel room. We were stopped in the lobby and asked to check out cooler containing beer (and it was just a 12-pack, enough for personal use for 2 people for 2 days; it wasn't like we were rolling in a keg!) There are a few restaurants within walking distance: the Barking Crab, Daily Catch, Legal Test Kitchen (LTK), Mortons, Wicked Priest, Anthony's Pier 4. The hotel location is really close to the traveling Cirque du Soleil production called OVO, and we were fortunate to score great seats at the last minute. We weren't sure what to expect, having seen permanent shows like KA and O in Las Vegas, but it was excellent. It was very easy to get to Logan Airport from this hotel, a 15-minute trip costing only $2 per person. There's a subway station for the gray line right outside the plaza-level door. (It's a bus, though, not a subway train that drives you to Logan.) I would stay here again if I were in town for a convention or trade show. While it's a short walk across a bridge to the Downtown/Financial District area, it's probably not the location that I would choose for a stay unrelated to a convention-center event. On the other hand, it's really easy to reach the airport from this hotel, and since you can even see the planes lined up on the runway across the river, it could be a viable option for an airport hotel (without the noise) that still allows you to enjoy the city.

Read More

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 1, 2004

Very Good for Business Travel

This hotel is really tailor made for business travel. Nothing fancy (it's similar to a standard marriott), they have thought of everything a business traveler needs and even include the tips in the price of the room (tips were not accepted by any of the employees I tried to tip), though the room does not appear any more expensive because of this. The value was excellent and I really appreciated the business center where I spent hours making copies

(free) and using a computer (also free). The food from the restaurant also was excellent. My only complaint, a big one for me, I had trouble sleeping due to "ambient" noise. I could hear everything--all the doors opening and closing, the elevators (I wasn't near them), the plumbing and the room upstairs.

Read More

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 18, 2003

Great Value

Excellent hotel for business. A little out of the way but a great value for the money.

By Jackie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 10, 2003

Overbooked

We arrived late from the airport to be told that the ONLY room available for us (room was prepaid via Expedia) was one without a bed, but with a pull out sofa. I refused this room for our family of four and they sent us to the Hyatt in the financial district. They did drive us over to the Hyatt and the room at the Hyatt was very nice. However, we were then required to move back to the Seaport for the next night. Again, they sent a driver for us.

The hassle factor on this was a pain. The Seaport was nice, comparable to the Hyatt, but the Hyatt had a nicer room decor and better gym. The Seaport was handy for watching fireworks over the harbor, but is a little out of the way for most of the attractions of Boston. The staff at the Seaport was pretty accomodating given the fact they didn't have a room for us, but I really felt they could have done a little more to make our hassle worthwhile, such as comping us breakfast.

Read More

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 19, 2002

A high tech hotel

While the rooms are very nice, the technology the hotel offers is top of the line. Access to LAN lines in every room along with free access to wireless network within the hotel make this hotel a business travelers dream. Prices compare to the good national chains, but this hotel is a notch above.

By Sharon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 21, 2002

Great place to stay in Boston

Very nice, modern hotel that is located right on the Boston waterfront. It's owned by Fidelity Investments, so they must have built the hotel knowing what a business traveller needs are. Great fitness center and pool. Food at Aura is excellent. Boston sights and attractions are only a cab ride away. Worth the price!!

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 26, 2001

Modern Graciousness on the Water

This very modern (and wired for the business traveler) hotel is deceptive in its charm and comfort. The staff provides excellent service without being obtrusive; as a bonus, there is no tipping allowed! Highly recommended, even for the price.

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 10, 2000

A Surprising Delight - Perfect for Business!

I'm generally very critical, but this new hotel really impressed me; great rooms in a modern style, excellent restaurant (+ others very near), excellent service, and considering the price and location, a great value! The location is deceptive, very easy airport access, but only a 15 min walk to downtown. A nice touch is the ability to monitor airline arrival/departure monitors from your TV in the room...

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement