Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Boston Hotels

Omni Parker House

  • 60 School St. Map It
  • $$$
  • Grande Dame

Pros

  • Historic property
  • Near Downtown Crossing on the Freedom Trail

Cons

  • Small rooms, some quite dark
  • Thin-walled rooms can be noisy

Updated 11/11/2013

Fodor's Review

If any hotel says "Boston," it's this one, where JFK proposed to Jackie, and Charles Dickens gave his first reading of "A Christmas Carol"—in fact, you may well see a Dickens impersonator in the lobby, since history tours always include the Parker House on their routes. Though it's America's oldest continuously operating hotel, it received a $30-million makeover in 2008, so you can steep yourself in Boston history while also enjoying a flat-screen TV. As at many city

lodgings, the guestrooms are a tad small, but here they're nicely turned out with cherry-wood furniture, red-and-gold Roman shades, ivory wall coverings, and cushy mattress covers. The Omni's famous Boston Cream Pie is on hand (even for breakfast), and you can work it off in a 24-hour gym packed with cardio and weight equipment.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

60 School St., Boston, Massachusetts, 02108, USA

Map It

Phone:

617-227–8600; 800-843–6664

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 551 rooms, 21 suites
  • No meals

Updated 11/11/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Boston

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 24, 2012

Our Favorite Hotel in Boston

Location! Location! Location! From the elegant historic Parker house guests can walk to just about all the primary landmarks in Boston. In just a few minutes you can be at the waterfront, Quincy Market, the North End, downtown, Beacon Hill or the Boston Common. A few more minutes get you to Newbury St., Public Gardens or Chinatown. True conveinence. The service is great: The staff either pretend to remember you or they actually do; they are always

ready to help, and service is with a smile. They even leave cookies and milk for our grandchildren when they stay there with us. The entire hotel has retained it's historic past in it's decor: The bar is a classic as is the lobby. A very appealing historic atmosphere has been carefully retained. The dining room is elegant and polished which encourages relaxing and unhurried dining. The food is well prepared and artistically presented. Our entire family spends a few awesome, relaxing days at the Parker House every year around Christmastime.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 18, 2012

Excellent location, great value

Downtown Boston hotels are so expensive, we did a lot of research before deciding on this very reasonably priced hotel. We were so pleased with it, we couldn't believe it was less expensive than most. Located on Boston's Freedom Trail, this hotel is attractive, historic, and comfortable. We used this as a home base to walk around the entire city. Especially close to the North End, Boston Common, and Beacon Hill. The bed was so comfortable I considered

buying one from them. Highly recommended.

Read More

By LouC

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 9, 2012

Better options exist in Boston

Having lived in Boston for over 30 years, and now traveling back there a few times a year, I'm somewhat familiar with hotels in the city. I had not stayed here before and the hotel was located near where my conference was being held so we booked the room. The room was small, walls were thin, and then entire property is in need of a freshening up. Nothing wrong with the place - just that in my view there are better options in the same price range.

By vsc602

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 19, 2009

Omni Parker House Review

Ordered a room with two double beds which was confirmed the day before. Received an extremely small room with one full-sized bed. The hotel was full, but they still refused to refund our money to allow our group to find another hotel. So, we had to squeeze a cot into the room. In addition, this visit started with the valets telling me that the ski rack on my Subaru wouldn’t fit in their garage and that they were too busy with the incoming wedding

to park my car in their back-up garage. So I had to park it myself and walk 10 minutes in the pouring rain. I was completely unimpressed. There are much better options nearby.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 18, 2008

Omni Parker House Review

We just re-visited Boston and picked our favorite historic hotel. Its been a couple of years but we were surprized since the hotel has brought the hotel luster back. We reserved a Executive Room which was exactly what we wanted with a lovely sitting area. The beds are so so comfortable and exactly what we needed after walking all around the neighborhood on a weekend that this April was amazing with 80 degree day. The staff especially the concierge

was so friendly and amazing that they even found hard to get Yankee Red Sox tickets for us. We highly recommend this hotel with its wonderful staff,location and breakfast is hard to beat in our travels Looking to come back again and will only stay at the Omni Parker House. Be sure to check out the Bar as the Crab Cakes are awesome.

Read More

By Peri

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 1, 2008

Friendly Staff

The staff was friendly, and the overall atmosphere was very comfortable. The Boston Creme pie was wonderful.

By dj55

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 22, 2007

Truly Unhelpful Staff

During my stay in what should have been a non-smoking room, the guy in the adjoining room was smoking like a chimney (in what was also supposed to be a non-smoking room), with the fumes making their way under and around the adjoining door. When I complained to the hotel staff, they eventually sent up a gumchewer, whose investigation/interaction with the next door neighbor went something like this: knock...knock..."You smoking in there? No? OK."

After the security guard left, the next door neighbor then continued to smoke (now both tobacco and pot). Despite repeated complaints, no real action was ever taken, and neither apology nor compensation was offered by the hotel.

Read More

By Lindsey

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 3, 2006

History and Boston Cream Pie Both Delicious

We stayed at this hotel in July. So much history has been made at this hotel that is leaves me in awe. They have managed to keep the historic feel of the hotel although we had all of the modern amenities. Service was great. Location was impeccable. We were just minutes from all the sites. We will definitly be back on our next trip to Boston.

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 12, 2006

Historic Gem in Boston

Boston is a great city and the hotel we stayed at the Parker House is a gem. When you walk in the hotel feels and looks like old town Boston. The staff is very friendly and we loved the breakfast buffet and the upgraded room we received for few dollars more than the standard room we were planning to book. Plenty of pillows and the beds are very comfortable. I think the location is the only thing better thant the first class treatment we received by

everyone. Highly recomend the Parker House.

Read More

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 23, 2006

First Class & Great Location

The Omni rooms and service were great and you cant beat the great location downtown. Recomend this hotel anytime visiting Boston for business or pleasure.

By Patti

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 2, 2006

Great Hotel & Great Food

We chose Boston for the history and great location to New England during our vacation trip. Traveling from Florida we found the trip to downtown to the Parker House to be very easy and it only took about 15 minutes. The hotel was wonderful and the staff very helpful to all our needs. This is a great place to stay and see all the sites within a easy walk to anywhere in the city. I was amazed at the history of the hotel and the creations from the

Restaurant. The prices were well worth staying to take advantage of Breakfast and Dinner acouple of days and they were great at recomending the best sites and dinning in the city. THanks to Omni Parker House for a great stay and visit to Boston. We highly recomend this wonderful historic hotel. First Class accomodations and service. The beds and the healthclub were especially well done.

Read More

By Sandra

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 30, 2005

Fake user reviews

I travel widely and always use user reviews to decide which hotel to stay at. For the first time, I can see here that someone with a stake in this hotel has rigged the user reveiw. Read them carefully and you will see that the majority have the same repetitive adjectives. I really suspect some clever marketing boss or stockholder has managed to send in fake reviews from around the country to this site. I always suspected that user reviews could

be corrupted this way!

Read More

By Jimmy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 9, 2005

The Parker House Hotel is the Best!

We recently discovered that the Parker House is celebrating its 150th Anniversary this year. We decided to try it out this March after reading all about its wonderful history creations. It was the right choice as we found the location outstanding and the restaurant very good with a great waiter that did a wonderful job recomending that we try the special that evening which was a fresh seabass that was outstanding! Thankyou Parker House for making

our weekend get away very special. Next time we will stay longer and will bring our friends to join us for the great food. Jim & Suzanne

Read More

By Debbie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 30, 2004

Great Hotel and Outstanding Location

We just enjoyed being at the Parker House and its location to the Lion King show we enjoyed was even better as its also right next to shopping and all the sites. The restaurant is great and is so historical and the staff is very nice. We recomend you stay here and we will also be back as we think its the best value and best location in Boston with lots of history in and outside the hotel. Thanks again Parker House!

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 18, 2004

Boston's # 1 Friendly Hotel & Best Location

Always consistent everytime we visit. Can't beat the value and location.

By Judith

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 15, 2004

Beautiful Place to Enjoy a Great Get Away!

We loved our visit this summer to see the city and holiday festivals over the 4th. What a friendly staff and great hotel to spend a relaxing trip with a location that is outstanding. Thanks Parker House You have a Great Hotel

By R

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 2, 2004

Watch your Pocketbook!

There are 3 sizes to European rooms. The smallest is claustrophobic, largest is standard. We were given the smallest, but switched to the largest just by asking. When our bill arrived there were several wrong charges. The staff begrudgingly corrected it. When valet delivered the car our toll money had disappeared. The integrity of the staff is a disgrace to the Omni chain.

By Emily

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 16, 2003

Omni Parker a wise decision!

We just returned from Boston and Omni Parker House where our whole New England experience began. We almost stayed at the Boston Harbor Hotel, which would've been wonderful, too, but I'm sure they could not have surpassed the wonderful experience at the Parker House. The staff - every single one of them - went out of their way to be friendly, courteous, and helpful. The ONLY thing I could find to "complain" about would be the size of the bathroom,

but we overcame the problem of how awfully small it was! We'd do the Parker House again in a heartbeat and never hesitate to recommend it to anyone! Thanks to everyone!

Read More

By Marie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2003

Memories and Experiences to Cheer about

Cheers to the Parker House staff again! Thanks for making our return visit as good as our last one. Its great to go to a hotel where the staff is so kind,friendly and pleasent. Boston USA is still our favorite place to visit. We travel all over the USA and World and this place is still the only place we visit over and over again. The prices are only surpassed by the food and service. See you again Omni Parker House don't change anything.

By Paula

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2003

Location,Service,Food,Experience Combined

We can't imagine staying anywhere else when you come to Boston. We love Boston and the Parker House is Boston at its best. Enjoyed the staff and being able to see the city without any hassle or getting exhausted by having to go far to see so much we have to come back a couple of times again. Thanks for making our visit in the top 5 of our recent vacations The Travel Bug is alive

By Judy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 26, 2003

Warm,Friendly ,Upscale & Great Location

Traveling world wide we recently stayed for a shortlast minute get away and found the staff very friendly.The hotel is one of the best historic upscale hotels we have stayed in yet. We will be back for a vacation with our friends. Can't go wrong staying at the Omni.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 9, 2003

Sofisticated,Class,Value,Location,(The Parker House has it all !)

We were greeted in the lobby by the staff and didn't even have to checkin at the desk. Its like coming to a home away from home. Happy people with a genuine concern to make our stay the best. They did it all and the value of this luxurious hotel is tops for us. We will be back again and will be bringing our friends. What a location to be able to walk around and take breaks between venues without going out of our way and spending time taking a taxi

or even the public transportation is not even needed except to take a guick ride 5 minutes to Harvard. Thankyou to my friends for recomending the classic hotel.

Read More

By Raymond

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 5, 2002

Location is Outstanding & Hotel is Beautiful

We stayed recently to see Boston and couldn't imagine a better location or wonderful hotel to stay at. We had no problems checking in and saw no lines all weekend (Thur-Sunday) The staff was more friendly than a Ambassador to Ireland with a choice of value for rooms to choose within your budget. The hotel is right in the heart of all the restaurants,shops like Filene's and swanky Newbury Street. You can't beat the location anywhere in Boston. We will

come back again.

Read More

By Hans

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 15, 2002

Omni Parker House Good Base in Downtown Boston

Room had ample space and very clean. Hotel has beautiful interior. Centrally located -- we could walk to most everything we wanted to see. Reasonable internet access and nintendo rates. Very glad we stayed at the Omni Parker House.

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 1, 2002

Great Location

Visited in January and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Very nice hotel employees, and excellent Clam Chowder! Perfect location, short walking distance to everywhere and everything.

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 23, 2001

ThankYou Omni Parker House

We all enjoyed our stay and hope to get back again to enjoy the hotel and especially the food. The wedding was wonderful and we will recomend the hotel to our friends again and again. Great Job! The Williams Family

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 13, 2001

Location Location Location

I recently went on a quick get away and was amazed at the great location of the hotel for shopping and restaurants. Its the best spot in Boston to get around and be able to relax. I found the staff to be very nice and the rooms were lovely.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 5, 2001

Parker House is Friendly & First Class

We visited our sister and the staff was so friendly to us. The hotel is only a hop and a skip from all the discount shopping and great restaurants. Our room was lovely and we will be bringing our family over again during the holiday break. Thanks to all the staff we had a wonderful trip to Boston USA.

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 30, 2001

LOCATION & SERVICE #1 4 STARS IN MY BOOK

We recently visited Boston and New England. We have been to the area several times and now we wish we found the Parker House years ago. Coming from the UK we wanted to make sure we had a great location to see as many sites as possible during our visit. It was more then we expected! The location and the friendly service were the best we have experienced on all our visits to Boston. We will be staying at the Parker House on each visit to Boston to see

our family and relax in a Top hotel. We love the rooms and all our requests were accomodated. 4stars for service,location,friendlyness & comfort.

Read More

By Brina

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 4, 2000

Parker House is part of what makes Boston great!

I don't know what rooms some of the other reviewers had, but I am a frequent guest at the Parker House and I have always had wonderful rooms. The last two times I have stayed there my rooms have been spacious and light, with a living room area and an office area plus the bedroom.When I came out to school in Boston I had to stay in a hotel for a couple of days before I could move into my dorm, and I couldn't have been happier with the Parker House.

This hotel has a great location in Boston's Back Bay, and is only steps away from T stops and the Common as well as several other historical locations.The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and was always willing to help me with any questions I had about the city. I made quick friends with them and we knew each other by name at the end of my stay.I would reccommend this place to anyone looking for a hotel in Boston. Granted, it can be a bit pricey, but there are always discounts for various reasons. My family stays in the Omni when they come to visit me, and they love it too. When my grandparents lost their luggage, the staff took an active role in calling the airline and making sure everything was returned safely.I hope you'll enjoy the Parker House as much as I do, and if you're staying in September maybe I'll see you there!

Read More

By Sara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 2, 2000

I ONLY PAID $99

You guys must of paid too much. The rooms are a tad small but the hotel is so old what do you expect. The staff there was excellent and treated me wonderful. The location is perfect. I accidently left clothes there and they sent them out promptly, they paid the bill! I wasn't fond of the restaurant, the staff there wasn't friendly at all but for the hotel I give it a thumbs up!

By Erin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 19, 2000

Yuck!

I do a lot of travelling for business and the only other hotel stay that was worse than this was a Doubletree that was being remodeled! Omni ought to be ashamed of themselves for charging the prices they do for this hotel. No style, tiny rooms (mine was the size of a walk-in closet), unhelpful staff. The only good thing about this hotel is Legal Seafood is within walking distance.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement