Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Boston Hotels

Hilton Boston Financial District

Pros

  • Well maintained
  • Clean and quiet
  • Ideal for business travelers and those with pets

Cons

  • $15 daily Wi-Fi fee
  • A somewhat corporate vibe

Updated 11/11/2013

Fodor's Review

If you're looking for comfortable downtown lodging, you'll find it at this upscale business hotel with 24-hour fitness and business centers. The 1928 building was the first art deco structure and first skyscraper in the city; it received a $10-million renovation in 2008. Inside, the lobby's mahogany paneling and soft gold lighting give the whole outfit an old-school Mad Men vibe. The guest rooms are relatively spacious, with high ceilings and crown moldings; some overlook

the waterfront. (For extra legroom, ask for a room at the end of the hallway.) Comforting touches include terry robes and down pillows and comforters. Readers praise the efficient, professional staff. Pets are now allowed in the hotel with a $75 non-refundable deposit.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

89 Broad St., Boston, Massachusetts, 02110, USA

Map It

Phone:

617-556–0006

Website: www.hilton.com

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 362 rooms, 66 suites
  • No meals

Updated 11/11/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Boston

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By TBates

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 10, 2013

Boston Hilton, Poor Customer Care

I flew to Boston for the St. Patrick’s Day Parade and a Celtic game with my girlfriend, anticipating a fabulous weekend! Upon arriving at the hotel, we were hungry so we ordered food from room service. Unfortunately, after an hour of waiting, we had to call to find out why it was taking so long. Then, finally the food arrived, cold. Early in the am, I was awoken with severe vomiting and diarrhea, which lasted 15-16 hours. It was food poisoning.

I was so ill, my entire weekend was ruined. I honestly thought I was going to die. The issue that upsets me was how I was treated after, by the Hilton management and staff. The Hilton has refused to reimburse me for my expenses and has refused to take responsibility for my food poisoning. Certainly, customer care is not a concern of the Hilton. This entire experience has been horrible, from the food poisoning to the way I have been treated. I just wanted to share this bad experience because I am still having a hard time believing it myself.

Read More

By rphaydu

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 29, 2009

Nice stay except for the GNATS

Room was large and well appointed, but, we had a number of gnats staying with us! Staff tried it's best but never eliminated them! Buffet breakfast was very good although expensive.....ours was free as a Gold Member. Staff was helpful and friendly. Location is not ideal although very quiet.

By Patti

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 20, 2004

Noisey and Poor Service

We couldnt sleep as the clubs and bars kept having people empty into the street and make noise late at night. Staff said this happens every weekend . Do stay here if you want to sleep in your room. The bellman and doorman were on break so we had to take care of our own luggage in a hotel that is supposed to be full service it was lacking. Stay away

By Eric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 4, 2003

Great Stay.

I stayed here as part of a work related event for two nights and loved it. The room was spotless, well designed and nicely decorated. Forgot my toothbrush, in 10 minutes had a free one with toothpaste. Service was a 10!! If I was from out of town, I'd stay here every time.

By Adam

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 9, 2002

One of Boston's Best

Just came back from a one night stay at The Wyndham Boston. We had booked two rooms at a special online rate and used my Wyndham By Request number. We wound up with one room being upgraded to a King Suite, and connecting to our friend's room which was just a regular King. The suite was enormous with a living room (including dining area and wetbar) and bedroom that was just as large as our friend's room, which was quite large itself, and views of

both the harbor and the beautiful Custom House Tower. The bed was SOOOO comfortable! There were fluffy bathrobes and the softest, largest bath towels I've ever found in a hotel. The shower was heavenly. I could go on and on, but suffice it to say I wish we had been staying more than one night as it was one of the best hotel rooms I've ever had. As for the rest of the hotel, it has a wonderful interior design and was very clean, but overall there was very little atmosphere; pretty businesslike, which makes sense for the area of the city they are in. Contact with staff was minimal, but check-in was pleasant and the bartender at Caliterra was extremely friendly and efficient. If there were any negatives, it would be the lack of self-parking (although we did miraculously find a street spot right across from the hotel), the noise from nearby bars traveling to rooms on lower floors, (We were on 10, and could hear it when the window was open.), and the lack of any convenience type stores in the immediate vicinity. Weekends and weekday evenings many other cafes and eateries are closed also as this is a business district. I would most definitely return here again and count The Wyndham as one of my favorites in Boston.

Read More

By Amanda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 31, 2002

Had a bad experience at the Wynham

We spent this past Memorial Day at the Wyndham. I feel bad about giving them a bad review, but I just have to. We reserved our room *months* ago - nonsmoking suite - $244 plus tax & parking - guess what? Our room was on the smoking floor and they refused to give me another room! They said Boston was crowed & they were booked & I could go somewhere else if I wanted to. I begrudgingly took the room since my 11 y/o and I had just driven 3.5 hrs to

get to Boston and we were meeting people. My room reeked to high heaven like the previous smokers and when I opened the practically non-existent windows, my only view was the humongus, loud a/c units feet below my room (4th floor), so having the windows open was intolerable. I wrote the manager a letter, we'll see if s/he makes it right. My advice, Stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel.

Read More

By William

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 2, 2002

WYNDHAM BOSTON SERVICE SERVICE!

My wife and I have done quite a bit of travelling and we have experienced service that ranged from very poor to absolutely wonderful. The Wyndham on Broad is definitely in the absolutely wonderful category. The room was nice enough and meticulously clean. I had requested one of the upper floor rooms with a view of the water. The view is not the greatest, but that was fine. The service was top notch right from the beginning. The people at the front

desk are cordial, professional, and willing to do anything to make your stay enjoyable and worry free. Kudos to David and the rest of the staff. We booked the hotel through Travelocity and were thrilled with our $119 rate. A true bargain in Boston!

Read More

By Lindsay

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 22, 2002

Best hotel room I've had in Boston

Just spent a weekend with my family (3 kids) at the Wyndham. We had a two room suite which was spacious, attractive and very comfortable and I think very reasonably priced ($229 per night including buffet breakfast). Compared to the pokey little hotel rooms I've had before in Boston, this was fantastic. Service was great, location was great (a short walk Quincy Market).

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 27, 2002

Great Value for a 4 Star Hotel

My friends and I spent a weekend here as tourists in Boston. Short walk to Faueil Hall/Quincy Market and the State House as well. A little farther to the next T stop at Government Center or State Street. The staff here was superb, even honoring our requests for extra robes. The bellhops were professional and the doormen informational. The rooms are spacious, but the honor bar prices were astronomical (as can be expected). Clean bathrooms with huge

towels amde it even more comfortable. Close to all the Irish pubs and I recommend going for the Irish Breakfast just down the road at Mr. Dooleys. Get a great rate at Expedia and you'll have a great value in a nice part of town.

Read More

By Judy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 11, 2001

Pleasant hotel, large room

The Wyndham is a very nice hotel. My end room was large and comfortable, although a bit dark. The hotel is an easy walk to the Aquarium and Faneuil Hall/Quincy Market (and from there to the North End), and a bit farther to the shopping at Downtown Crossing. With an excellent rate by booking through Expedia ($129 weekend, $149 week night), the hotel was a good value for a nice property. My only complaint -the nearest "T" subway station was a number

of blocks away.

Read More

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2001

Very pleasant stay

Got a rate here of $130 per night on a weekend thru Priceline- - staff was very accomodating, room was very nice, no T stop right at the corner, but within walking distance -- concierge got us a dinner reservation at 8pm on a sat. night in the north end and sent us someplace nice - - overall, a great experience there. Have stayed at other Wyndhams I wasn't as impressed with!

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 23, 2001

Excellent Location for Business

Great location if your doing business around Fanuil hall and south. Hotel has always been clean and rooms are all different. Good restraunts right outside and overall it is a top place to stay. Staff can be a little snotty though.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement