Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Boston Hotels

Hyatt Regency Boston

  • 1 Ave. de Lafayette Map It
  • $$$
  • Practical Base

Pros

  • Good package deals
  • Saunas and whirlpools
  • Good for business travelers

Cons

  • Views of office buildings from guest rooms
  • Few chairs around indoor pool
  • Thin walls

Updated 11/11/2013

Fodor's Review

Picturesque, Downtown Crossing is not, as it is packed with every conceivable kind of discount store and street vendor, but the area hums with activity (of both the low- and high-end variety), and sitting amid all the action is the 22-story Hyatt Regency Boston. Walk out of the crowds and into the cool marble lobby decorated with dark-wood furnishing and geometric-pattern rugs. Take an elevator ride upstairs to a guest room equipped with an iPod dock, pillowtop mattress,

and understated earth-color furnishings. Or sweat the day away in the 24-hour fitness center. Smart travelers call ahead for good deals on theater or shopping packages. Bonus: the hotel is fairly green—among other things, it composts leftover food and uses energy-efficient lighting, including motion-detector light switches.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

1 Ave. de Lafayette, Boston, Massachusetts, 02111, USA

Map It

Phone:

617-912–1234; 800-233–1234

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 498 rooms, 26 suites
  • No meals

Updated 11/11/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Boston

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 8, 2003

so-so and thread bare

Lobby bar is decent. Rooms and rugs in common areas are really worn. Concierge, gift shoppe and restaurant service was a joke. I've had better customer service at McDonald's and Target. Employees are rude and unattentive. Thank goodness we got a discount rate from Hotwire. Would not recommend the place or pay full price. Try the Westin or Marriott for a classier experience. Much better service!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 26, 2002

Terrific Hotel!!!!!!!

Several of us stayed here for a wedding. While the wedding was elsewhere, we must say the rooms were an EXCELLENT deal for the $. Some of us stayed in regular rooms for $129 which for Boston is a STEAL and others in the Club level rooms for not a heck of a lot more. Everything was clean as the perverbial whistle, fresh and well maintained. Lovely decorating in each of our rooms (we all checked each other's out). Could not have been happier bunch of

out of towners!! (just don't try to Drive in Boston!!)

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 17, 2002

I hope you get a good rate

And even then, probably not worth it. Hair and mildew in the bath tub, multiple cigarette burns on the bedside table, food stains on the mini-bar, and a very stinky pillow gave this hotel a creepy flop house feel I tried to settle in. Yes, the lobby looks nice, and the room seems fine at first glance, but the finishes are worn down and beat up and not well-cleaned. The staff is non-commital, and while it is close to some of the best of Boston,

the immediate block or two is deserted and dark.

Read More

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 13, 2002

Manager of this hotel is a joke...

Our stay in Boston at the SwissHotel was fine until I made the unfortuneate mistake of trying to order an in room movie. I inadvertantly pressed the wrong button and was forced to pay for a movie I didn't want. I called the front desk, they can't change the movie, or credit the charge. I then asked to speak with the manager. He told me the same thing, in a much more patronizing way that he could not reverse the charges or change the movie.

He argued the point and I argued back, long story short, I will never return to this hotel nor recommend it to anyone. Customer Service Stinks!

Read More

By Rachel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 17, 2002

What a terrible place!

This place did not live up to any of my expectations. The lights were dim, the provisions spare, and they charged for everything (including toothbrush and toothpaste). Not to mention the surrounding area was quite sketchy. Not at all what I expected for a nice Boston visit. I checked out and went to the Marriott Long Wharf by the water, which proved to be a more pleasant stay. I would not recommend this place at all.

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 26, 2002

Great for one or two trips but don't make it a habit

I can usually get a good rate at the Swissotel. The rooms are standard fare (better than a Holiday Inn but not the Four Seasons). The staff is helpful and courteous. The doorman is consistently a day late (and thus a dollar short in the afternoon). If you arrive by cab in the afternoon be prepared to wrangle your own bags down the stairs to the Motor lobby. I like this Hotel, but I am just getting tired of it.

By Donna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 18, 2001

Scuzzy Area

Very nice hotel in a really seedy area. That's the overwhelming concern. If you're getting a great deal, it might be worth dealing with the taxis etc. Otherwise, stay elsewhere until the hoped for gentrification of this area happens.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 30, 2001

Good value, but walk fast at night

Has good weekend rates and specials for reliable rooms and good service. The neighborhood, though convenient, warrants a taxi at night.

By Sara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 10, 2001

Keep on looking, you will be disappointed.

The room and neighborhood were not what we expected. We checked in and checked out in 10 minutes.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement