Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Boston Hotels

Boston Park Plaza Hotel & Towers

  • 50 Park Plaza at Arlington St. Map It
  • $$$
  • Luxurious Retreat

Pros

  • Handful of restaurants and bars on the premises
  • Helpful concierge
  • Adjacent to an Exhale spa

Cons

  • Rooms are cramped
  • Bathrooms are small
  • Not for hip modernists

Updated 11/11/2013

Fodor's Review

One of Boston's best locations, this antiques-laden hotel is ideal for those looking for old-world charm. To keep up with the incoming rush of ultracool, ultramodern hotels, the Park Plaza rooms include pillowtop mattresses and plasma TVs. There's also a trendy rooftop organic herb garden and an energy-efficient infrastructure, new HVAC throughout. (that cost more than $500,000). But make no mistake—it didn't sell its soul. The old-school, 1927 building is just as historically

grand as ever, as evidenced in its gilded, chandelier-lighted lobby and classically decorated rooms. As at most vintage city hotels, the rooms are rather diminutive; the bathrooms, even more so (except on the 15th-floor concierge level). Don't miss the decadent dessert shop Finale.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

50 Park Plaza at Arlington St., Boston, Massachusetts, 02116, USA

Map It

Phone:

617-426–2000; 800-225–2008

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 941 rooms, 39 suites
  • No meals

Updated 11/11/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Boston

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 28, 2006

Don't be scared!

Excellent value! Awesome property in great location.

By Maureen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 8, 2005

Great Stay-Park Plaza Tower Floor Cant Be Beat

We stay on the Towers level (15th floor) of the Park Plaza during a Magic Convention there in early July. This lovely old hotels Tower, concierge, floor went way beyond what most other enhanced amenities floors we have stayed. The most important issue, the bed, was comfortable. There was a large TV, a 4 cup coffee maker, a fluffy cotton robe, a refig (the one there did not work but was replaced the next morning), and a large window with a terrific

city view where at time the gulls flew below! What made this four day visit so enjoyable was the lounge. It was open all day (until 10pm) and provided excellent evening hors d'oeuvres between 5 and 8. We expected a complimentary breakfast but were treated to a spread of berries, (blue, black, straw and rasp) yogurt, melon balls, several kinds of delicious muffins, croissants, and this continental (!, ?) breakfast included eggs benedict  an not just the traditional with Canadian bacon but one with asparagus! But we complained because there was nothing heart healthy so low and behold, a basket of bagels were served! This excellent service went along with the glamorous early twentieth century lobby. The hotel has several restaurants, and there are more within one or two blocks. There is a concierge on the Tower level and one in the lobby to help, and now they should be able to do so even more since I taught them about www.openlist.com that provides links to user and expert reviews of most restaurants that can be selected by cost, neighborhood, number of stars, cuisine and extra features such as view.

Read More

By Marcia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 9, 2005

Location, Location, Location

This is an older hotel so the rooms are small and the bathrooms are a bit cramped, but we were comfortable. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The location is absolutely the best for seeing lots of Boston. Lots of restaurants close by.

By Shawn

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 12, 2005

Room is Small - Location is Great

I have read all the reviews and was skeptical at first but stayed there for new years and there is a trick in getting a good room. Request a renovated room with a queen size bed and you will get the newer style room. The rooms are small but you are not in the rooms long there are too many sites to see. The hotel has like 6 restaurants which are all pretty good. Mccormick and Schmicks is a must do so is Finale. The hotel is old but the lobby is

beautiful. Also you are across from Boston Commons, Cheers Bar, and the theatre district. Everything is within walking distance so dont waste your money on a rental car because parking is expensive.

Read More

By Eric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 11, 2004

Old and Worn - A one Star at best

Very disappointed with my stay: 1. They tried to put my wife and I in a full size bed. 2. Rugs are worn looking and dirt in the corners and under the furniture. 3. The air conditioner was loaded with dirt and it was loud.. again old. 4. The cleaning lady was banging on our door at 8am and she tried to come in our room (we had not checked out, why do they even try?). 5. No newspaper in the morning (almost all chains give you a newspaper!! This

is supose to be full service hotel?) 6. Mold and dirt in bathroom, patchy mirror. 7. Rooms are OLD and WORN.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 18, 2004

MUCH better than expected!

I booked the hotel through a discount web site. After reading reviews online, I was horrified. I decided to contact hotel directly regarding my concerns. They offered an upgraded room and an even better price. I went ahead and stayed at the hotel and was not disappointed. The type of room I was in was considered an "executive" room. Please note that the hotel is more than 75 years old, and although updated, the structure is still 75 years old.

If you're expecting the Ritz Carlton, I suggest you fork over the extra $$ and stay at the Ritz. The location was EXCELLENT with many fantastic restaurants, theatres and the T very conveniently located. I was impressed with the hotel staff and security. Renato, a gentleman on the hotel staff, ensured we were well taken care of. I would most definitely stay at this hotel again.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 1, 2004

Hit and Miss

This was the third time we've stayed there and the last. The common areas of the hotel are lovely and the restaurants on site are some of the best (Bonfire is a must). The location is terrific-- right next to the commons near the end of Newbury St. But the rooms are like playing check in roullette-- in our 3 stays we had 1 nicer large room, 1 decent tiny room, and the room from this last stay was a d-u-m-p dump. Two showers and no closet? I thought

I was losing it. Add this on top of a shabby and dirty room, and you've got a place you don't go back to.

Read More

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 16, 2003

Lovely Retro, Retro, Retro!

I can't understand the poor rating - we had a fantastic time. The decor is a beautiful retro 1920s theme, the building is steeped in history but with very modern amenities - prime location, less than a block from the Commons and the T. The room was immaculate, maybe just a tad small but by no means cramped. The concierge staff was incredible, so friendly and helpful - they even gave us secret tips on the best way in to and out of Fenway to beat the

crowds. Value was unbeatable, thanks to Priceline. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to others.

Read More

By Lynne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 20, 2003

BEWARE!

One of the worst hotel experiences we have ever had! From the very rude man at check-in, to the unmade room that he sent us to, to the shower that was literally falling apart and filthy, to the plaster falling off the ceiling above our heads, to coming back to our room at 9pm after a long day and finding housekeeping just getting to our room! And that's just the beginning... Never Again

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 6, 2003

Do youself a favor-don't stay here.

Our room was VERY tiny and temperature control was next to impossible. The bathroom was dumpy and extra small. It's in a good location, but I would tell others to avoid this place at all costs.

By Maria

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 23, 2003

This hotel is fantastic

I am completely stunned by the number of bad reviews this hotel has. My partner and I stayed at the hotel for five nights in Dec 2002 for the first night celebrations. Having stayed in many four and five star hotels,we were not at all disappointed with our stay! We found the hotel to be full of history, atmosphere and charm, beautifully decorated for christmas, friendly staff, numerous bar and restaurant options, clean and nicely decorated hotel

room,(although corridors tired and in need of refurbishment). The location of the hotel is also excellent. We had a fantasic stay! Admittedly, other hotels in Boston are more modern and have better facilites. However they also lack the atmosphere, character and charm of the Boston Park plaza. When visiting a wonderful city like Boston we would opt every time to stay in a slice of history, rather than a modern, characterless tower block!!

Read More

By Katie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 16, 2002

$70 night - Great deal!

We stayed at the Boston Park Plaza Hotel from 10/12/2002 - 10/17/2002. The only reason why we were able to afford this place was because we got a great deal thru Priceline at $70/nt. I read some of the reviews on this hotel and expected a tiny, cramped, dingy room. But I guess we lucked out. Our guest room was wonderful. Very spacious, great view (14th floor). The service was good and the concierge was always available to answer all your questions.

My only complaint was the outside noise. Overall, the hotel was a great deal. I would definitely go back.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 1, 2002

not so bad but depend on the price you pay

I stayed at the BPP in september and got a really good rate through hotwire. Satff was friendly, hotelroom was nice and not all outdated. GReat location. I would stay here again but probably not if you have to pay $200 for example.

By Rick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 7, 2002

Fan Fairewell

Stayed here for the EQ fan faire event, that was held in the hotel. Was given a very spacious room, but saw that we had an exception to the rule.

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 5, 2002

Skip this hotel

For the price of a room here, just keep on looking! I will not be staying in this hotel again. The ballrooms were nice, but I was shocked when I opened my own room and saw a closet! The bathroom was tiny and grimy. The bed lumpy and was saggy. The maids woke us at 8am on a Saturday and Sunday to clean the room.

By Kay

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 9, 2002

Beautiful room but the mattress was a killer!!

Lovely old hotel that has been nicely decorated but I believe the mattress are vintage 1927. Large rooms but the bath rooms are smaller than the ones on a cruise ship. The tile in the bathrooms could use some restoration.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 5, 2002

Gag Me!

When you first walk into the lobby, you think WOW, what a pretty chandelier! When you go into your room, you think WHY did we pick this hotel? The bathroom tiles were dirty; I wondered what the housekeeper did all day,and you have to walk around in shoes so you don't have to touch the floor. I also had to bang on the air conditioner, but gave up after a bruise and still no air. On my first expierience in the hotel, I went to the giftshop looking for

a shirt to remember my stay in Boston(not my stay at the hotel). I picked up a shirt, decided it's not for me, and folded it and put it back on the shelf. The gift shop employee was very rude and told me not to touch anything else. (I am a teenager). I went to the concierge desk and told them about it. They promised to help me, but I never went in that gift shop again even though I brought lots money. The only thing good about my stay was the doorman. He was very nice. So, unless you don't mind peeling door paint, dirty and cramped bathrooms, unclean carpet, and a broken A/C,I would NOT stay here!!! Ritz Carlton, I'll see you in July!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 5, 2002

not a crap hotel after all!!!

Huge room. Staff couldn't have been kinder or more helpful. Really splendid twenties style to everything. My ten year old son says to make sure I mention the bouncy beds. Was scared to come here after some of the previous comments, but we had a wonderful time and would go back in a heartbeat

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 7, 2002

Great location & history, awful rooms

When approaching the Boston Park Plaza hotel, you feel like you are arriving at a grand hotel. The public spaces are very nice with excellent restaurants (except for the lobby breakfast restaurant), bars, and banquet facilities. Unfortunately, the experience begins to sour upon encountering the front desk staff. From there things get really bad. The rooms are awful. While they do have a certain amount of charm, they are not maintained at all.

The renovation was wasted money. It's like the little kid who doesn't want to clean his room, so he sweeps the dirt under the rug, throws the dirty clothes under the bed, and piles junk in his closet. Water damage is everywhere. The carpets are soiled. Housekeeping standards are extremely lax. I will not stay here again.

Read More

By Lucy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 30, 2002

FILTHY SEEDY & BATTERED

Checked out this place for potential wedding. Major rips in faded drapes, dozens of electrical wires TAPED to the baseboards, grimy carpets...just shabby beyond belief. TIME for a REHAB!!

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 29, 2002

An Experience to Avoid

Good Location is all that this property has going for it. This was an absolutely miserable experience from the start. The doorman did not open the door for me upon my arrival and just stood there. The reception staff was very unfriendly and they were arguing with a customer upon my arrival. I did not feel welcome. My first room was very small, not the "King Deluxe" I had requested upon reservation. The toilet was under a shelf, with 1" clearance

to the wall on one side and the tub on the other. The bathroom door did not close. I requested a room change and was sent to the construction zone. Painting rags and covers all over the hall. The second room was better but smelled of paint. Bathrooms are very small and outdated. This is not a "well-done" historic propperty and smells of negligence and cheap fixes. I would not wish this experience on my fiercest competitor. Please stay away from this property.

Read More

By Patrick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 2, 2002

I respectfully dissent!

My family and I stayed at the BPP last August. I read many of the negative comments and expected the worst. Speaking only for my family, we had a great stay at the hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again. Our room was clean and well appointed. Service was good and staff was freindly and helpful. Location is perfect. Our room was a little warm throughout our stay which happened to coincide with an extreme heatwave. There were a number

of establishments that we visited in Boston that week that were really struggling with the A/C.

Read More

By Iain

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 2, 2002

Don't believe the hype

Earlier reviewers have been a trifle harsh - particularly as regards service - but it's undoubtedly the case that rooms could do with a lick of paint. Not the stomach-churning experience I had feared in light of previous reviews, but rooms certainly fail to match the quality of the communal areas or the centrality of the hotel's location. I'm sure there are better deals elsewhere.

By Robin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 25, 2002

THE TITANIC OUT OF WATER

I thought I should offer some comments in defence of the Park Plaza hotel. Before a recent (Feb 2002) I read the rants and raves and then travelled across the Atlantic with some concern for what I might find! Certainly, the hotel is not five star standard (and you do not pay for 5 star prices) but it is nonetheless a historic gem. Any visitor should read the information pack, take the tour around the hotel viewing the different rooms and appreciate

the history. The main lobby, ballroom, lifts, library and "Bonfire" restaurant all bear testament to an era when travel was completely different to what it is now. Even the rooms with their original sinks, plumbing and "double" doors give an understanding of life in the 1920's. We thought the accommodation was fine and noise was not a problem. The staff were very helpful and more than willing to assist. Remember, the hotel has played host to every US President since it was built! Our abiding memory is that it was like the Titanic Out Of Water. Enjoy the atmosphere, discover the history and use your imagination!

Read More

By Rae

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 24, 2002

Hideous Hell Hole - Avoid at all costs

Stayed in the hotel just before christmas. Worst mistake I ever made when visting Boston....!! They put us on one of the top floors with a shabby room and a vile bathroom (old tiles, which were cracked and dirty, gunge around the bath/shower etc etc - the faults are endless) The room was noisy because of the lack of double glazing (traffic noise amlified by the other buildings) and the air con was as descibed below. The staff were haughty and uninterested

- they didn't seem to care if we had a nice stay or not - just indifferent to any requests we made(including the concierge!!) To cap it all off, they placed an entire office party on our floor - they got more and more drunk and kept running to each others rooms - after the 3rd call to reception and the threat of calling the police, they finally asked the other "guests" to be quiet - out whole night was ruined. I will NEVER stay here again and would NOT recommend it to anyone.

Read More

By Nicola

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 6, 2001

A terrible experience we will never repeat!

We went to Boston in September, flying over from England for a one week stay starting on Labour Day weekend. We arrived to find that we had essentially been given a single room with a tiny bed, a bathroom with cracked tiles and no plug for the sink etc. Took two days to have our room changed and the attitude of the front desk staff is disgraceful! Some people even spotted cockroaches on their floors. Another writer is right, the location is great,

but should we ever go back, we will certainly not be staying there EVER again!The worst hotel I have ever stayed in!

Read More

By annie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 11, 2001

Beautiful public spaces, Truly dreadful rooms

The lobby and ballroom are stunning, but there isn't a kind word to be said for the guest rooms. My first one had no closet, and not even a hook to hang business clothing on, so I asked for a different one. My second room's bathroom's elecrical outlet was an extention cord dangling from the light fixture. The carpet was filthy. The air didn't work. An alarm clock in the next room went off at midnight and no one at the front desk could seem to get

the problem fixed. An expected and requested package arrived, but the desk staff couldn't find/deliver it. My luggage was abandoned by the bell captain in the lobby. Room service trays languished in the corridor for well over 12 hours. The sheets are rough as sandpaper. You get the idea. I suggest you avoid this dump.

Read More

By Sal

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 8, 2000

call ahead

I stayed there last winter and it was shabby as hell. A very mixed crowd. In fact it was a science fiction convention. This may have colored my view. It was pretty inexpensive. I read recently that somebody has bought the property and is going to re-do it. Thank goodness.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement