Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Boston Hotels

Omni Parker House

  • 60 School St. Map It
  • Downtown
Check Rates

Pros

  • Historic property
  • Near Downtown Crossing on the Freedom Trail

Cons

  • Small rooms, some quite dark
  • Thin-walled rooms can be noisy

Updated 11/11/2013

Fodor's Review

If any hotel says "Boston," it's this one, where JFK proposed to Jackie, and Charles Dickens gave his first reading of "A Christmas Carol"—in fact, you may well see a Dickens impersonator in the lobby, since history tours always include the Parker House on their routes. Though it's America's oldest continuously operating hotel, it received a $30-million makeover in 2008, so you can steep yourself in Boston history while also enjoying a flat-screen TV. As at many city lodgings, the guestrooms are a tad small, but here they're nicely turned out with cherry-wood furniture, red-and-gold Roman shades, ivory wall coverings, and cushy mattress covers. The Omni's famous Boston Cream Pie is on hand (even for breakfast), and you can work it off in a 24-hour gym packed with cardio and weight equipment.

Hotel Information

Address:

60 School St., Boston, Massachusetts, 02108, United States

Map It

Phone:

617-227–8600; 800-843–6664

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 551 rooms, 21 suites
  • Rate includes No meals

Updated 11/11/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Restaurants
  • Sights
  • Hotels

See all hotels in Boston

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Value

  • Room

  • Service

  • Décor

Sep 24, 2012

Our Favorite Hotel in Boston

Location! Location! Location! From the elegant historic Parker house guests can walk to just about all the primary landmarks in Boston. In just a few minutes you can be at the waterfront, Quincy Market, the North End, downtown, Beacon Hill or the Boston Common. A few more minutes get you to Newbury St., Public Gardens or Chinatown. True conveinence. The service is great: The staff either pretend to remember you or they actually do; they are always

ready to help, and service is with a smile. They even leave cookies and milk for our grandchildren when they stay there with us. The entire hotel has retained it's historic past in it's decor: The bar is a classic as is the lobby. A very appealing historic atmosphere has been carefully retained. The dining room is elegant and polished which encourages relaxing and unhurried dining. The food is well prepared and artistically presented. Our entire family spends a few awesome, relaxing days at the Parker House every year around Christmastime.

Read More
  • Room

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Sep 18, 2012

Excellent location, great value

Downtown Boston hotels are so expensive, we did a lot of research before deciding on this very reasonably priced hotel. We were so pleased with it, we couldn't believe it was less expensive than most. Located on Boston's Freedom Trail, this hotel is attractive, historic, and comfortable. We used this as a home base to walk around the entire city. Especially close to the North End, Boston Common, and Beacon Hill. The bed was so comfortable I considered

buying one from them. Highly recommended.

Read More

By LouC

  • Room

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Sep 9, 2012

Better options exist in Boston

Having lived in Boston for over 30 years, and now traveling back there a few times a year, I'm somewhat familiar with hotels in the city. I had not stayed here before and the hotel was located near where my conference was being held so we booked the room. The room was small, walls were thin, and then entire property is in need of a freshening up. Nothing wrong with the place - just that in my view there are better options in the same price range.

By vsc602

  • Room

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Oct 19, 2009

Omni Parker House Review

Ordered a room with two double beds which was confirmed the day before. Received an extremely small room with one full-sized bed. The hotel was full, but they still refused to refund our money to allow our group to find another hotel. So, we had to squeeze a cot into the room. In addition, this visit started with the valets telling me that the ski rack on my Subaru wouldn’t fit in their garage and that they were too busy with the incoming wedding

to park my car in their back-up garage. So I had to park it myself and walk 10 minutes in the pouring rain. I was completely unimpressed. There are much better options nearby.

Read More
  • Room

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Oct 18, 2008

Omni Parker House Review

We just re-visited Boston and picked our favorite historic hotel. Its been a couple of years but we were surprized since the hotel has brought the hotel luster back. We reserved a Executive Room which was exactly what we wanted with a lovely sitting area. The beds are so so comfortable and exactly what we needed after walking all around the neighborhood on a weekend that this April was amazing with 80 degree day. The staff especially the concierge

was so friendly and amazing that they even found hard to get Yankee Red Sox tickets for us. We highly recommend this hotel with its wonderful staff,location and breakfast is hard to beat in our travels Looking to come back again and will only stay at the Omni Parker House. Be sure to check out the Bar as the Crab Cakes are awesome.

Read More

By Peri

  • Room

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jul 1, 2008

Friendly Staff

The staff was friendly, and the overall atmosphere was very comfortable. The Boston Creme pie was wonderful.

By dj55

  • Room

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Apr 22, 2007

Truly Unhelpful Staff

During my stay in what should have been a non-smoking room, the guy in the adjoining room was smoking like a chimney (in what was also supposed to be a non-smoking room), with the fumes making their way under and around the adjoining door. When I complained to the hotel staff, they eventually sent up a gumchewer, whose investigation/interaction with the next door neighbor went something like this: knock...knock..."You smoking in there? No? OK."

After the security guard left, the next door neighbor then continued to smoke (now both tobacco and pot). Despite repeated complaints, no real action was ever taken, and neither apology nor compensation was offered by the hotel.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement

X

No Thanks

Love To Travel?

Get FREE e-mail communications from Fodor's Travel, covering must-see travel destinations, expert trip planning advice, and travel inspiration to fuel your passion.

How we use your email

Thank You

Now sit back, relax, and check your inbox to start planning your next travel adventure.

Please tell us more about the type of travel you're interested in. Check all that apply.