Berkshires Hotels

Advertisement

Devonfield Inn

At a Glance

    Pros

  • charming innkeepers
  • good breakfasts
  • nice pool and lawn

    Cons

  • not for families with young kids

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Devonfield Inn Review

This grand, yellow-and-cream Federal house sits atop a birch-shaded hillside, dotted with a few quaint outbuildings and 32 acres of rolling meadows. The nine guest rooms have Colonial-style furnishings—many have Oriental rugs, lace-canopy four-poster beds, and working fireplaces. A separate, contemporary cottage with a pitched cathedral ceiling has its own kitchen and private deck. The sitting room is dominated by a grand piano, and a gracious pool is tucked behind the house. Expect such toothsome fare as orange yogurt pancakes at breakfast, and details such as chocolates and spring water in each room. There is a video library and a butler's pantry with cookies, popcorn, beverages, and even picnic baskets.

    Contact Information

  • Address: 85 Stockbridge Rd., Lee, MA 01238 | Map It
  • Phone: 413/243–3298; 800/664–0880
  • Website:
  • Location: Lenox

    Hotel Details

  • 6 rooms, 3 suites, 1 cottage.
  • Rate includes breakfast.
  • Credit cards accepted.
Updated: 12-23-2013

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Devonfield Inn Review

    We decided to take our family to explore the Berkshires over the holidays. The Devonfield Inn looked beautiful in the pictures and seemed like the perfect place for home base while we toured the beautiful Berkshires. It far exceeded our expectations. Bruce and Ronnie make you feel as if you are home. They are the perfect hosts anticipating your every need and making sure your stay is exceptional. Everything from the comfy rooms (all our kids slept great!!) to the delicious breakfast was just the perfect get away for our entire family. We can't wait to go back and want to make it a family ritual during the holidays.

    by heathadler, 6/17/11
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Devonfield Inn Review

    This is a wonderfully cozy inn nestled in a prime Berkshires location with easy access to Jacob's Pillow, Tanglewood, and other cultural and recreational activities. The innkeepers are warm, friendly, and accommodating. The inn is both comfortable and lovely with lots of little touches that make it extra special: a guest pantry, an inviting common room, stocked bookshelves, and a lovely breakfast room with a selection of healthy, fresh breakfast offerings. All this is complimented by comfortable, air-conditioned bedrooms full of individual character and nice-sized bathrooms with modern amenities. We enjoyed meeting the other guests at breakfast and on the grounds. This is a wonderful choice for those who relish the temperament and charm of a quaint inn.

    by marnisgarden, 7/21/10
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    They made our visit!

    Devonfield was a wonderful surprise. We are not Inn people but Devonfield is the perfect blend of intimacy and being pampered in luxury. The rooms are very tastefully done, breakfasts are delicous and plentiful and the grounds are unbelievable. It is truly a special place!

    by campjam, 11/28/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Perfection

    Just a brief comment on the wonderful 3 nights we spent at Devonfield last week. During our 3 week holiday in New England we experienced a variety of accommodation, ranging from an extremely plush, modern hotel in Boston to a couple of one-night stops in fairly basic motels, and we thoroughly enjoyed every single one. A fantastic holiday!

    However, no great surprise, it was our all too brief stay at Devonfield that really captured our imagination and turned out to be THE highlight of the trip! We have not stopped talking about it from the minute we left. All our friends and family must think we are crazy. Out of 3 weeks holiday, all we keep talking about is “DEVONFIELD”, the Berkshires and the wonderful hospitality we experienced there! Thank you so much to Ronnie and Bruce, to Kim and the other staff.
    We must also say "Hi" to all our fellow guests, from all parts of the USA, Australia, Ireland and yes even one or two from the UK. Hope you all enjoyed your stay as much as we did.

    Anyway we’re back home now, the laundry is almost up to date, and the holiday memories and photos are all we have, and these will have to keep us going for the foreseeable future, but we do hope that one day we might return.

    by SandJ, 11/1/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Perfect

    My wife and I recently spent a week at the Devonfield Inn. I can not say enough good things about it. We were made to feel very comfortable by Bruce and Ronnie the Inkeepers and the atmosphere and decor of the Inn was hypnotizing. It simply demands relaxation. Of course there is a little help from Bruce and Ronnie and their staff..ie:there is guest pantry open 24/7 for coffee, drinks,popcorn and those unbelievable cookies., but that is just the beginning. The breakfasts were great from french toast to the special yogurt panckes and everything in between. The grounds as well as the Inn are kept in immaculate condition. Even when busy you can find yourself being all alone if you so desire. The perfect place for R&R. Just open your mind and heart and nature will take over. It is beautiful and a wonderful place to stay at and we plan to stay there many more times on our escapes from the South. We really love it..KUDOS.

    by SJ2010, 10/3/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    A perfect Family Vacation

    As a first time Berkshire experience, I can't imagine it getting better than Devonfield. The property is charming, the rooms extremely comfortable and the buffet breakfast surprisingly good!! We can't wait to return and have not stop talking about this place with family and friends.

    by jedemo7208, 10/2/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Perfection in the Berkshires

    A lovely, historic inn, well appointed, in a gorgeous setting with impecable service and warm hospitality, Devonfield is unsurpassable! The new owners, Bruce and Ronnie, made us feel at home instantly and were totally attuned to helping us enjoy our stay. The grace of the original inn and the glory of the updates blend well with the antique furnishings. Breakfast, graciously served, was superb, healthy and plentiful. We'll return often!

    by eledlecpa, 10/2/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    I want to live there!

    My husband and I were completely smitten with Devonfield, and we are not the easiest to please. The house is elegant, yet comfy. The hot breakfasts are sumptious with loads of healthy alternatives offered buffet style. And, the grounds are breathtaking with wildlife to match! Every detail is thought of, right down to my new all-time-favorite cookies, tucked away in an adorable "Cookie Cat"! Ronnie and Bruce thought of everything and were immensely knowledgeable and helpful throughout our entire one week stay. We definitely plan on going back next year!

    by queenshrew, 10/2/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    A Haven of Relaxation

    A wonderful experience in the Berkshires

    by mickeybdc, 9/24/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Good But Not Great

    The best part about Devonfield is the property. The size and amenities should make for a truly comfortable and relaxing stay. The breakfast (which, by defition, is half of "B&B"), however, was underwhelming in both food and service. We've stayed at other Berkshire area Inns where the food quality and service was much better. And, we were traveling with friends who complained that their room was not clean (e.g., ants under the bed!). Unfortunately, not worth a return stay.

    by mgm815, 8/1/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Picture Perfect Wedding

    There are not enough words to describe how perfect our experience at the Devonfield was. We decided to hold our small, family wedding at the Devonfield after visiting and meeting with innkeepers early on in our wedding planning stages. Immediately Ronnie and Bruce Singer and their assistants make you feel comfortable and at home in their exquisite inn. The attention to every detail, the decor, the amenities, and the overall surrounding area is remarkable. We arrived on Thursday afternoon and were so thrilled with the innkeepers flexibility in our arrival time given that our family was coming from different directions. Ronnie and Bruce welcomed all of us with a warmth that was overwhelming and from that moment on we felt comfortable and were able to enjoy every amenity the Devonfield has to offer. From delicious breakfasts, treats in the pantry, in-room fireplaces, etc. we couldn't have asked for anything more. Our wedding was held in front of the fireplace in the living room on Friday evening and it was truly picture perfect. We would highly recommend the Devonfield for a variety of getaways and look forward to returning frequently ourselves.

    by chrobak333, 2/26/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Relaxing and Full of Character

    I spent 2 relaxing evenings at the Devonfield. My reservations were made last minute and accepted (quite nicely despite my original 6 am phone call!) by the innkeepers. Able to spend 2 evenings at this quiet inn was very restful. In each room I stayed I had my own fireplace, bathtub, and view of the 20+ acre property. Restaurant recommendations are good (try Chez Nous) and the natural beauty of the hills are worth the nice autumn drive.

    by christinaelyse, 11/27/06

Add your own review

Advertisement

View more trip reports

  • Boston to PEI: Where would YOU stop over?

    My nieces and I are going to be spending a week in Prince Edward Island, and spending the previous week going from Boston area (we'll spend three days or so there, probably Saturday to Monday) and are due Read more

View more travel discussions

· News & Features

View more blog stories