Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Baltimore Restaurants

The Black Olive

  • 814 S. Bond St. Map It
  • $$$
  • Greek

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

One of the best Greek restaurants in the country, the Black Olive specializes in impeccably fresh seafood. Let the waiter give you a guided tour of the catch of the day, which reclines on a bed of ice in the kitchen case. You can have your selection simply grilled, lightly dressed, and filleted for you table-side, accompanied by a glass of wine from the list's thoughtful selection of oft-neglected Greek vintages. For an appetizer be sure to try the kakavia, a spicy

Greek bouillabaisse served with irresistible bread warm from the brick oven.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

814 S. Bond St., , at Shakespeare St., Baltimore, Maryland, 21231, USA

Map It

Phone:

410-276–7141

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Reservations essential

Updated 12/31/1969

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Jack_K

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 25, 2012

The Black Olive Review

The Black Olive is located on a quiet street just a few blocks north of the Inner Harbor's edge in Fells Point. There is garage and surface lot parking available nearby and it's also within walking distance of stops 8 or 11 of the Water Taxi. Street spaces are almost impossible to find however. I must admit my visit to Black Olive was driven by wanting to experience their Kakavia soup. It was only listed for lunch as a half portion, which our

waited could not answer as to how large a seving that was. It was rather obvious that he also didn't exactly know what Kakavia was and finally had to resort to asking the kitchen. The uneven service didn't stop here either. Few of our other questions could be handled and we were also served a salad different from what we had ordered. The 1/2 Kakavia serving did turn out to be large enough to be considered an entree size for either dinner or lunch. It was interesting but was little more than seafood in a broth that lacked the richness or preparation of any bouillabaisse I've ever tried. I wouldn't even draw that comparison if The Black Olive didn't bill it as the predecessor to such. The strangest thing about Black Olive though is that I never really felt I was dining at a Greek restaurant. There was just no "Opa" to me.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 28, 2008

Fabulous!

We ate dinner here on Saturday night (1/26/08) and were very impressed. I had the Melitzanasalata and the beef tenderloin filet...both wonderful. My boyfriend had the Grilled Octopus Salad and the Dover sole (incredible!) Our server was friendly and knowledgeable. The fish tour was interesting and unique. We are glad to have found this restaurant and will definitely be back!

By Ken

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 13, 2004

Wish I could eat here every day

True to European cuisine, The Black Olive is an incredible dining experience. This is not for the fast food folks. Come and plan on spending a fantastic evening. The food is the best in Baltimore, the service friendly (not pushy), the atmosphere so comfortable that you'll never want to leave. These folks don't try to get you in and out so they can re-seat the table. They want you to stay, relax, and feel at home, just like you would at any great

restaurant in Europe.

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 27, 2004

Downhill slide: Father to son

Two years ago (2002) my wife and I dined at The Black Olive based on Fodor's recommendation. The experience was very good, food and service excellent. The Mussels in Ouzo were exceptional. This weekend (2004) we returned to Black Olive. The service was horrible. It took 90 minutes to get our food. White wine was warm, food was average. We ordered Ouzo Mussels again -- they're in a much smaller bowl now, about half the size, and were a very

average quality. We arrived at 7:30 and we were finally fed dinner at 9:00 pm. We made some inquiries and found that the son of the original owner is now running the place. There appears to be a large staff turnover because no one knew the menu. In my opinion, the Black Olive should be removed from Fodor's Choice. It is apparent that the new ownership has not translated well.

Read More

By Nicci

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 18, 2004

Exceptional Food Preparation

I loved the knowledgable staff, who helped me pick out my fresh fish from the display icer. The Bronzini was out of this world. You can have everything prepared as simply or as detailed as you car. We preferred the simplest preparation, and it was all outstanding. We were a large group of young 30-somethings, and the owner and servers were delightful in taking great care of us and keeping our glasses full and our hearts happy. It isn't an inexpensive

evening, but for the friends and outstanding food, we would go back any time.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 22, 2003

I've Still Got A Bad Taste in my Mouth!

A group of friends and I dined at The Black Olive to celebrate an event. The food was mediocre. For those prices, I expect excellent food. To make matters worse, the service was ABSOLUTELY AWFUL! Additionally, just when I thought the experience couldn't get any worse, when I received my VISA bill, I noticed that the waiter added more tip than I did on my receipt. Fortunately, I kept my receipt from the dinner. I've called the restaurant two

times to reconcile the issue and get my money back, but they have done NOTHING. I'll be making another phone call (my 3rd) today along with a call to the Better Business Bureau. Take my advice-- don't eat at The Black Olive. There are MUCH better places to find seafood in Baltimore. If you do, save your receipt!

Read More

By Brendan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 29, 2001

I've tasted all of Baltimore and this is the best!!

Amazing food wonderful service, a true 10!!!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement